We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and needs another facelift....not the Taj I remember .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Ranked #5 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business 24-25 June and came away disappointed.First time Ive stayed since 2007 and wont be rushing back.As you would expect,security was exceptionally high on approaching the hotel which was reassuring.
The room was rather dull and dingy,whilst the bathroom was in need of a major refurb.There was no seperate shower and basically felt like a typical rubbish UK 4 start hotel.
The service in the bars/restaurant was very good although expensive for what it was.
They really need to up there game and take a lesson from Taj Lands End.Will try Oberoi or similar next time,its such a shame as I use to really like it here.

Room Tip: Try the old part of the hotel,cant be any worse .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHOPSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room and bathroom and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,727 - 4,733 of 7,225 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We started our holiday in Mumbai for 5 days and this was our first visit to India. We later moved on to the Leela hotel in Goa.
Upon our arrival which was early a.m. before daybreak we were given a room with a sea view in the Tower section of the hotel. The room had a bad odour smell and the following day we complained and were transferred to a deluxe room on a higher floor. These rooms are similar to a typical Premier Inn in UK and are definitely not 5 star. These rooms require refurbishing to bring the Tower section of the hotel back to good standard.
The old part of the hotel is spectacular and reminded me of our stay at Raffles in Singapore.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The Zodiac restaurant is excellent and should not be missed.
The Health Spa provided an excellent service during our stay.
Nothing much to do in Mumbai and when we went out to do some photography we were bombarded with people begging for money.
A word of warning to anyone visiting this area is to avoid salads and fruit plates, even in 5 star rated hotels. During our stay the city was under a spell of gastro diseases and 350 people were suffering from typhoid.

Room Tip: Make sure you view your room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kag-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room in the Tower Wing and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,



Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Was concerned the rooms would be outdated and although the tower room was not large, it was bright, extremely comfortable and had a great view. Would not now stay anywhere else in Mumbai, great position and excellent service.

Room Tip: Tower rooms have small balcony with views over Gateway to India. good for smokers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed there for 2 Nights with my friends and returned with big smile. I found the true meaning of Hospitality in TAJ. They pamper you like anything !!!! We have booked City View Room and while we checked in they immediately upgrade us to Sea View Room.Breakfast was good. All the facilities was well backed up by excellent service. The staff was attentive all the time and ready to serve almost all your needs !! Interestingly Our all requests were met! Like sea view room - Late Checkout etc. Initially I did not found Shaving Kit and Toothbrush-paste in bathroom, but on call they provided the same.
I must recommend and will come back again in Taj Mahal Palace .

Room Tip: Nothing better than a Heritage wing !!! If you can afford take a room in a Heritage wing facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Read quite a few good reviews before I decided to stop by Sea Lounge on Taj Palace Mumbai for high tea. It is buffet style cost 1500 INR per head. The price includes tea pot for each person The waiter automatically poured water for us without asking. At the end, there was an extra 200 INR charge for water. Indeed there is no really need for water since there is self serve ice tea as well. The variety of food are quite many which includes street food in a fancy way. There are only about 5 tables near window which can overlook Gateway India. If you don't get those tables, there is nothing special about this place. I expected nicer dinning sets, tea pot but unfortunately it is a quite normal / plain one.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Travelover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

We appreciate your feedback, as it is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests, such as yourself.

I have noted your feedback on the High Tea at Sea Lounge and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,



Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a beautiful sea facing room in palace ( old section) of this hotel, and the experience was truly extraordinary, largely thanks to the attentive room staff and other staff. You are made to feel , like a movie star in this hotel, the staff think of your needs before you do.
We booked a room I the tower section of the hotel, this was originally a separate hotel, not part of the Taj Mahal palace, it was taken over and joined to the hotel some years ago. The section referred to as the towers was built in 1940s. It is very substandard compared with the rest of the hotel, but also very cheap.
When the house made saw we used eye glasses, clothes for wiping the lenses were left for us, when they noted we had computer cables, velcroe cable ties were installed for us. The list was endless, the thoughtfulness never stopped. Our room was serviced about 5 times a day, our clothing and other personal effects immaculately tidied up each time, plus bed straightened, toiletries refreshed, boots cleaned etc.
On the down side, food was not up to scratch. It was expensive as to be expected, but substandard. We have eaten at many 5 star hotels in India, sadly this was the worst. The Naans were terrible, the lentil and potato curry ordered from room service menu repulsive. The hamburger bread on the bottom was wet and soggy and inedible, as cook put mushrooms and onions just fried on the bread, should have been put as a side. Trouble is you are miles from the closest other 5 star hotel, and if you are too sensitive to eat local food, you are stuck with the food here. The breakfast for sea facing restaurant was good, and the head waiter looked after us very well. That was the exception, all other food was very below standard. We love Indian food,it is one of the reasons we frequent India, and sadly the only reason we will not return to this amazing hotel. Bed quality fantastic. Pure opulence at its best, the art work, furniture and architecture of this grand hotel is sure to impress.

Room Tip: Do not book tower room, if you can not afford to stay in palace room, you will not afford the food o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. I have also noted your feedback on the quality of food and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As a hotelier, I am familiar with the day to day running of a hotel. The Taj Palace, Mumbai lived up to all expectations of five star service. I travel extensively for business and pleasure and was made to feel so special by all staff that I came in contact with. Special mention must go to the housekeeping staff that took care of all our needs. They were discreet yet attentive and so considerate! To The Deputy housekeeper, Ms Shruti Daruka and the entire team, thank you for teaching me what service excellence is all about. Needless to say, my stay was unforgettable and I look forward to returning. My husband and I stayed for 6 nights until 10 June 2014.
Couglan and Niranjini Pather

Room Tip: Suite 334, excellent corner location , great facilities and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiranjPather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Pather,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 489 in Mumbai
2,426 reviews
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 489 in Mumbai
4,379 reviews
Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai
#38 of 489 in Mumbai
332 reviews
Bandra West
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#13 of 489 in Mumbai
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Address: Apollo Bunder, Mumbai 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $327 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for high tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing