We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location helpful staff full of energy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location helpful staff full of energy”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is wonderful , a stay you will never forget , I have been staying at this hotel from 1996 but I this time I was at the hotel after a long time lets say after the attack on the hotel , the staff is just as cheerful and the hotel is just a lovely place to stay the breakfast is well balanced in terms of quality and menu. I strongly recommend travellers visiting Mumbai India must stay at this wonderful hotel and enjoy the morning or evening walks on the beach have a coffee at the lounge or just eat in on of its excellent dining options .

Room Tip: I always prefer a high rise non-smoking room a sea facing room would be a nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gautam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,513
    961
    245
    64
    85
See reviews for
1,276
2,504
577
1,425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai was our last stay before departing on a Seabourn Cruise to the Middle East & Rome. When we realised we had the option of boarding in Mumbai, there was only one hotel we considered and this hotel more than met our expectations. Everything we had arranged through the hotel from the aiport pickup to the guide arranged for us to our dinner reservations and departure was undertaken faultlessly, again by people who cared about their hotel and its reputation. Our large suite looked straight over the Gateway to India and was in absolutely perfect order and condition more than commensurate with our expectations. The history of this hotel again reinforces its place in India's world status. Meals at Masala Kraft and Sea Lounge were in keeping with the reputation of this hotel and are highly recommended. The hotel is perfectly located and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Gateway is hard to beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Awesome experience when staying at The Taj Mahal Palace. Very unique, Excellent atmosphere, and the staff's are really friendly. Their Reception area is well decorated with real flowers, I like it very much.

Welcome: They treat every guests very well from the entry, with flowers and Thilak(Indian style welcome), i feel very happy about their welcome.

Rooms: Based on my request they upgraded to sea view rooms, rooms are very pleasant and cool, watching Gateway of India from the room is really good, rooms has all those facilities, and an excellent kind of bath area.

Surprise: It was my spouse birthday, when knowing this, The Taj staffs decorated the rooms with balloons, flowers, etc., When entering the rooms we really feel good and surprised, their guest relations team is awesome, and offered a wonderful cake too. Kudos to Taj guest relations team. You people rocking.......:-)

Every day they arrange Hotel Tour, explained about their heritage, Each restaurants in hotel is very unique with paintings around, playing musical instruments in old style is awesome. cool.

The best place for couple stay: Very good place for couple stay, In front of the Gateway of India, This is my best experience till now, waiting for another stay at The Taj Mahal Palace - The real palace stay.

Room Tip: Choose Sea view rooms when stay at Tower wing, above 4th floor is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saravankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

It was a 2 day halt in Mumbai from an international trip, before we headed back to Pune. We got palace side room and later upgraded to sea view and let me tell you that was amazing. The luxury oozes out from every bit of the thing you see. I loved the TV concept that they have got embedded in the mirror. All the restaurants are world class. Last but not the least, please do the heritage tour that happens everyday at 5. And it will take you back in time. Hats off to the Experience Manager who speaks 32 languages from world and has an amazing style of story telling. The grand paintings and royal interior will remain with you until you arrive there again. Super impressed. Wah Taj !

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The Taj is an amazing hotel. I was in a Palace room which was just beautiful. The common areas in the hotel are also stunning. The room was very well equipped with every item you might need thought through. Good bed, great bathroom. Breakfast in the Sea Lounge was excellent. The staff had been fantastic.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Very attentive service. Nicely decorated rooms. Fantastic restaurant -- try Kamala Kraft. Have breakfast or tea at the Sea Lion.

The location is terrific. Ultimately it's the attentiveness of the staff that really makes this hotel special.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Istrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

There is no other hotel associate with Mumbai as the Taj Mahal Palace. The location is perfect for visitor to the city. The wide open frontage facing the Gateway of India is an impressive sight. The services starting with the warm welcome from the impressive doormen to its beautiful decorated lobby and a team of staff that make the palace come to life. Unfortunately we can give further review on the hotel since we visited as a tourist without staying in. We came to Mumbai with a cruise ship and simply went there for a visit as part of our sightseeing stops.

However from the overall facilities, location, liveliness, and services, the Taj Mahal Palace will be our number 1 choice for our next visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,677 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,539 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing