We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Definitely among the leading hotels of the world! And a real refuge from the rest of Mumbai. This is money well spent for an oasis in the heat. Lovely pool, great restaurants, many many nice touches including a set of "solo lady traveller amenities" (silk scarf, jewelry). Take the 5 pm tour of hotel with charming Viren....Ask for a room overlooking Gateway of India. Service is outstanding and there is a real pride and dignity in all staff. Concierges are solicitous and detail-oriented. The business centre is great and always includes an offer of any kind of beverage. Beds and linens are excellent. I wish I could move in!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. View of Gateway is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinimustvalge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.



Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,354
    944
    244
    61
    84
See reviews for
1,230
2,435
566
1,390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been lucky enough to travel extensively in India but we always enter and leave via Mumbai and always stay at the Taj Mahal Palace Wing (except in Dec 2008 for well known reasons). It really is a home from home with the exquisite decoration, beautiful rooms, great service and fantastic staff that really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome. One of the best hotels in the world and the very sympathetic renovations in 2009 managed to retain the cart majority of the charm of the original hotel.

Room Tip: The alcove window rooms facing onto the Gate of India are great for watching the sun sets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel, had seen pictures before my visit but they didn't do it justice. If in Mumbai this is a must. It had plenty of places to eat & drink without leaving the hotel. Had a wonderful experience.Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeps13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This magnificent historic property is delightful, beautifully maintained and exquisite. It offers state of the art in amenities without sacrificing any of the charm.

Service is first rate, food is excellent and location is prime.

Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently was on a business trip in Mumbai, former Bombay. I stayed a couple of days in this hotel. The hotel is located in a nice area of the city, was a bit far away from the office (regarding traffic)
The hotel offers fine restaurant. We had an excellent dinner in the Indian Restaurant. The room had a view on the gate of India. Some dogs could be heard basking outside (earlier night)

Would stay again in this hotel

Room Tip: View to Gate of India
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fae_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Taj is majestic the minute you pull up outside the front of the hotel and see the Gateway to India. The welcome at reception is all class and the foyer is large but almost intimate in its feel.

I stayed on three occasions in a short period and had a room facing the Gateway and two other rooms that did not. All of the rooms were immaculate and the bathrooms although smaller than modern hotels beautifully appointed and clean.

Internet had to be paid for but the connection was fast an reliable.

Breakfast was busy and it is best not to leave it until the later time slots. The choice of food should satisfy most palates. Service was excellent, although on one day the sheer volume of guests meant that service was slower than usual.

The memorial to those who lost their lives when the hotel was attacked is a wonderful tribute, placed near the reception but unobtrusive. All of the staff appeared to be proud to work at this wonderful hotel and it is reflected in their excellent levels of service.

It is steeped in history but has a wonderful blend of the old and the new. To stay at this hotel is a privilege and an experience worth having.

As an avid reader it was so refreshing to have a hotel have a bookshop in its small shopping arcade.

This is one of the best hotel I have stayed at in terms of decor, service and the whole experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stdoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

passed quickly through Mumbai but had dinner here. The food is good, catering for many cuisines (great for kids missing home comforts). The service, impeccable. The decor, magnificent. We will definitely spend more time here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretFoodCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a stay at the Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#13 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 550 rooms including 42 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing