We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Woolmer Green, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Everything about this hotel is special. We were greeted with garlands and smiles. Staying in the newer block our room had a fantastic view of the Gateway to India and the sea. The room although not large was spacious enough for a short stay and extremely comfortable, including the kingsize bed. Dinner in the Indian restaurant Masala Kraft was a treat. The location was fantastic but unfortunately we arrived at a time when they were having some sort of Holi ceremony at the Gateway so could not get right up close, however the staff told us we would be given free tickets if we wished to view the entertainment. We didn't take advantage of this, but were not bothered by the noise either. The internet at the hotel is not free but I was very courteously given a free half hour which was enough. Overall, a memorable experience and thank you, Taj.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,
Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,597
    976
    249
    64
    89
See reviews for
1,301
2,537
588
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place with amazing breakfast.
The old wing building is amazing and swimming pool are perfect. In the center like a perl.
If you have the money for that and you meet there all milliners arabs with their wife's black cover

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tzahilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

spent the last three nights of our Indian odyssey at this fantastic hotel, being pampered with afternoon teas and cocktails,ambience of this hotel is unbelievable the staff are very very courteous and helpful this was our third stay and everything was as perfect as our first thank you the palace

Room Tip: choose one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Location of this hotel is excellent. Got a room from where Gateway of India is in the front. The same view could not be enjoyed as balcony glass door is closed permanently and there is iron fence after the same. Rooms are small. Rooms give old look. Elevator does not have access control- anybody can reach anywhere. Staff is very good and breakfast excellent.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write to us further to your service experience at the Taj on your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay and I am happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. We also thank you for your suggestion.

We greatly value your patronage and appreciate your support of the Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With best wishes and kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace
Apollo Bunder
Mumbai 400 001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Superb location and area. Spa was brilliant as was the poolside and building! The evening meeting of crows at poolside was funny! And a lot of pigeons around. If you have a bird phobia poolside might not be for you. All staff poolside and in hotel are great. Free water at poolside is a fabulous idea. Pity the internet isn't free as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bmbplastering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write to us further to your experience at the Taj on your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us and I am happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delights me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.


To address your query, as our internet (WiFi) service is outsourced, we regret our inability to include it in the room rate currently and I thank you for your patience and understanding in this regard.

We greatly value your patronage and appreciate your support of the Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the not too distant future.

With Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace
Apollo Bunder
Mumbai 400 001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We decided on the Taj rather than the Oberoi as we wanted old school glamour, and this hotel had it in spades. We had an executive room with sea view which was amazing, out butler looked after us the entire time, we had little presents and treats left out for us, and free tickets to a concert!!
The staff could not do enough for you, any time of the day or night. We were welcomed in a friendly and lovely way, whisked through check in at our own dedicated desk, and offered check out in our room. The hotel is stunning, drinks are expensive but then it is normal London prices, quite a shock if you aren't used to them. But step outside and eat and drink and you cant go wrong.
We went to the Oberoi for brunch and it was a nice hotel, and great food and staff but even after the staff offered us to move there to a suite we declined!
Go for the executive room as you get a butler, amazing service but free afternoon tea, drinks, and cocktails in the day which saves you a fortune, and then there are cognac and chocolate after dinner freebies too.
Loved my stay here, true luxury and magical. Thank you for making our end in India so memorable.

Room Tip: Go for an executive and make use of the freebies, it pays for itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace
Apollo Bunder
Mumbai 400 001
Email Id: tmhgm.bom@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My partner and I are the life-time gold SPG members, so we could stay at any SPG luxury collection hotel in Mumbai, but I insisted on staying at Taj Mahal Palace and we loved it. It was perhaps the best experience we had in India.
The property is amazing, the rooms are stunning, the service is impeccable, the restaurants are on par with some of the Michelin starred restaurants in NYC. I even went further and scheduled an appointment with an astrologer and as a non-believer, I left our session impressed.
The hotel is centrally located next to Gateway to India, so you can visit pretty much all the places by walk (or short taxi ride). It consists of the Palace and the Tower sections. Before the arrival, we requested a Palace room and were graciously granted one. As a perk, everybody who stays at the Palace has an access to a Palace lounge (which looked very much like our student lounge at Oxford University) where we could get complimentary coffee, tea, snacks, newspapers and order some food and beverages from a menu.
We have tried two restaurants (Zodiac Grill and Souk) and two bar/lounges (the 1st liquor licensed bar in Mumbai - Harbour Bar and Sea Lounge).
We also took a very comprehensive and interesting tour of the hotel (after all, it is a landmark on its own) which takes place, if i am not mistaken, every day.
I have to especially thank Viren D'Sa, experience manager, who spent a good 20 mins telling us about all the "Must See" places in Mumbai and drawing us a route on the map. Not only was he knowledgeable, courteous, enthusiastic, but also he went far beyond his call of duty to make us really enjoy our stay and Mumbai.
If we ever go back to India, we will stay in no other place but at Taj Mahal Palace.

Room Tip: Stay at the Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.



Kind regards,



Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace
Apollo Bunder
Mumbai 400 001
Email Id: tmhgm.bom@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,795 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,575 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing