We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pool on the planet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #4 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stunning swimming pool fuelled by lions, generously deep, atmospherically tropical, with upward view toward the turrets. Cosseting service from arrival as you parade garlanded to your room. Superb indian restaurant. One of the planets classic monuments.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Highgate_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,104)
There are newer reviews for The Taj Mahal Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,857 - 4,863 of 7,106 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great historic hotel in a fantastic location! This hotel does a great job living up to its outstanding reputation. The property (we stayed in the original building), the staff and the food were all outstanding! The price for the room and food were very reasonable for what was provided!

Room Tip: If you can it is totally worth the extra expense (it was not that much) to stay in the historic part...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel will convince you that you really are royalty. It is extremely well located across from the Gateway to India monument, near the boat dock for Elephanta Island, and within a reasonable distance of the Museum. But it is the service and elegance (found throughout the hotel) that make it so special. A treat that you will want to keep repeating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

One of the best hotels to be at the finest structure in the city if it's not this the its nothing the Mecca of all hotels in Mumbai. It has an amazing veiw from the top floor of the restaurant the apollo bunder the gateway of india. Nothing like being here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidnani00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was to attend a meeting being hosted at the Taj,so I took the opportunity to stay there.This decision was because I had stayed there some years ago in the much acclaimed Presidential suite,which was by default as they had run out of nonsmoking rooms - I had a blast then.
This is a hotel with a long history of 100 years,in fact the TV has a dedicated channel giving you the history of the hotel and the famous guests who were here.
In thee cent past it is sad story of 26/11 hostage situation that was so well handled by the staff of the hotel in helping several guests that made me stay here.
The m was efficient,the staff extremely friendly and helpful .
The rooms are good,so is the bed,the bathrooms are spacious.
The food is excellent.
The walk around the hotel is also very picturesque ,the hotel has a guided tour of its property daily.
The important guest at the same time of my stay was Prince Charles from UK,I got a glimpse of him in the lobby one day.
A memorable stay ,I must say.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govindbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Iconic Taj Hotel in Mumbai is without question one of the worlds great hotels a must visit - stay on the Club Floor so you can enjoy a beverage wjilst relaxing and overlooking the famous Gateway to India.

Room Tip: Fifth floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you like being treated as a VIP then a stay at the Taj Mahal Palace is a for you. From the moment that we arrived until our check-out we were felt like royalty. The whole experience from the well appointed rooms, room service and the concierge were excellent. It a trip from the airport but worth the experience. The food at every restaurant was five stars. The staff went out of their way to make you feel special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,632 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,867 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $195 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing