We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with amazing attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited this hotel twice in August with my grandmother. From the time we entered the hotel, we were treated like royalty. After being garlanded with beautiful jasmine flowers and a cup of tea in the opulent reception area we were escourted to the 14th floor which our room was on. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and good view of the Gateway to India. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but that was no problem for us. After checking in we went out around the Colaba area. On returning, we found a gift for us with a card about the special relationship between a grandmother and grand daughter. We opened the present and it was a beautiful box of tea. What a thoughtful and kind gesture. On the first night that we stayed there we had an early flight the next morning. Pranali and Gunjan at reception who were so sweet to us during our stay, had a packed breakfast for us in a box at 5 am. On returning back to the Taj a week later we got to experience the amazing breakfast that everybody raves about. There was so much to choose from and it was all quite delicious. All in all, you can never go wrong choosing The Taj Mahal Palace as your base in Mumbai. Impeccable service, 5 star treatment, a beautiful room and delicious food is exactly what you will get!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.


Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,526
    965
    246
    64
    86
See reviews for
1,283
2,508
578
1,430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singer Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Unbelievable views of Mumbai harbour. Suite was enormous. Breakfast fresh and great assortment. Walking distance to the nice shopping areas. Suite was not cheap but worth every penny! Nice swimming pool.

Room Tip: Go for the suites, pricey but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Overall excellent experience. The service was fantastic and the staff were always willing to assist. I was impressed with the waiters at breakfast who would make suggestions on the best way to eat certain traditional indian dishes.
The hotel offers a daily tour of the building. I HIGHLY recommend it.!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying at this hotel although we had visited on a previous trip to Mumbai. It is impossible to convey in this review just how impresses we were with our experience. Everything from the welcome through to checkout was absolutely first class. We were treated like royalty. The food in the 3 restaurants we sampled was outstanding, and all the staff were faultlessly attentive. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Having stayed in the Palace and had a superb time, we returned and stayed in the Tower. I wasn't expecting the same as the Palace, but it wasn't different enough to justify the price. On leaving, I discovered that I had left a white cotton top hanging in the wardrobe. Within hours we rang the Taj and told them, but were told that nothing had been found. It was a $5 top that I'd bought in Cambodia, but I loved it. All my praise for the Taj and the service of its staff is now overshadowed by this petty theft. I felt very let down by the Taj.

Room Tip: If you want something special, splash out on the old Palace. If you want a good location choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your mail and your kind words on the iconic Palace wing of the hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

The security of our guests belongings is a paramount importance to us.

May I request your to please write to us at tmhgm.bom@tajhotels.com with the name in which your room was booked, your room number and your date of booking so that we may look into the matter.

Look forward to hearing from you.


Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

wonderful setting. ask for a room in the old wing of the hotel and you'll travel back in time... pool is nice on a hot day and gym helps burn the extra calories. located close to the Gate of India and to many silver shops you would want to buy everything from...

Room Tip: old wing is super pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Deux-Alpes, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

For me it was just the best stay I ever had, the only minus was the cleanliness of the room that could be better for this kind of hotel. The rest was excellent!
The breakfast close to the swimming pool, the room big and conformable and the price was ridiculous for the excellent service provided by the staff!

Room Tip: Stay in the old building, it is charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. I have also noted your feedback on the room cleanliness and the prices and appreciate your honest feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,710 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,545 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing