We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Taj Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

we had afternoon tea and the reviews here and what I will write will not do it adequate justice. you get to choose form a vast array of tea and coffee. then you are served with a three tiered cake stand full of western traditional afternoon tea items. on top of this was an amazing buffet included in the price with everything you could possibly want all with the incredible surrounds of the sea lounge. try to get a window seat and ask the waiters about the palace. what an amazing way to finish 12 weeks in india. it is 1500 ruppees all inclusive of everything you could possibly want!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumballed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,061
    916
    236
    62
    82
See reviews for
1,136
2,325
542
1,346
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

after a long arduous 2.5 hour wait to clear immigration at the airport due to the inefficiency of the "tourist visa on arrival" process, and a short-ish one hour drive, we arrived at the Taj Mahal Palace and were quickly checked in. we were given a "club level" room which was on the fifth floor and had a beautiful view of the Gateway of India. the club level gives you some additional benefits like complimentary afternoon tea, cocktail hour and after dinner cognac and chocolate in the Palace Room. this was a very nice treat as there were some good snacks provided with the cocktails. the service at the hotel was excellent and the breakfast selection was quite incredible. we enjoyed the historical tour of the hotel and also had a very nice dinner at the indian restaurant, neel kamal (which we couldn't finish because it was so huge). thanks very much to indrajeet and the other helpful and professional staff working in the Palace Room. we really enjoyed our stay and next time will return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the Gateway. we were 560 i think which was a Luxury Grande Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here during a very brief stay in Mumbai (only two nights). It's not the cheapest of hotels that's for sure but it's fun to splash out occasionally and the Taj doesn't disappoint. It's a surprising distance from the Airport if - like us - you haven't done your research properly! but we got the Hotel to arrange a pick up and all went swimmingly well. The room we had (in the Tower) was lovely and the view - particularly at night - was good.
We ate in the Indian and the Japenese restaurant during our stay. The Japanese was the best by far but that may have been something to do with the signature cocktail we had in the bar below it. This is prepared with great flourish at your table along with the history of how it came about. We couldn't understand our waiter all that well but then, we were in India so that's our problem not our waiter's, and with our internationally understood 'confused look' and his perseverance we eventually muddled through.
The history tour is interesting. It's a shame that the bit which gained the most interest was to do with the attack and I guess the staff are getting a little jaded about discussing it. Notwithstanding that aspect of its history, the Taj is an interesting place anyway and the tour is worth taking and free.
We only had one full day at the hotel and so chose to do a walking tour with Raconteur walking tours of Mumbai which I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Most of the other reviews on this hotel sum it up. We had a brilliant experience - the rooms are clean and lovely, the bed was very comfy and the location is brilliant for anyone wanting to visit the tourist sites - shopping wise you're probably better off in the Santa Cruz area. The breakfast was fantastic - all in all worth the money!

Room Tip: Sea view including the India gate was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent three nights in a Luxury Grand Sea View Room overlooking the Gateway To India. The interior of this hotel is absolutely brilliant and vastly exceeded our expectations at least in the Palace portion as we never saw the Tower interior. One of the most beautiful interiors we have ever seen. Our room was fairly small but very comfortable and beautifully decorated with a great bathroom. The pool area is wonderful and a great escape from hectic Mumbai. The location is wonderful for exploring and the breakfast and food and bar service we had were all you could ask for. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palace Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beautiful rooms, fantastic service from picking us up at the airport to delivering the most awesome room service and what an oasis to return to after a day trip out exploring Mumbai. Lunch on the veranda was great. The history behind this hotel and the awesome interior was fascinating. Best bit: although I didn't shop for anything this time.....must be the lobby Louis Vuitton store!

Room Tip: Our room had a fantastic view of the bay and gateway to India. Beautiful sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, how can one add to the information about one the best known hotels in the world, over a century hold, witness to history in the making as few buildings anywhere have been. The hotel, which opened its doors in 1903, is still for many a once in a lifetime experience.

Located in Bombay’s art deco district of Colaba right next to the Gateway of India, the building is one of the most recognized buildings in India, and definitely its best known hotel. It is within walking or short cab rides from most historic parts of the city’s south, though it has now become a little far from the emerging business areas to the north of the city. It is by the sea, though you are unlikely to hear it as the bay is fairly quiet. Incidentally, the back of the hotel faces the sea, and what was originally the front is not the entry point any more. Also, there is the heritage wing and a much newer tower block.

Obviously staying here is unlike almost anywhere else, and it is primarily about the experience. I recently stayed in the heritage block, which understandably dates back quite a while. Renovated after the Mumbai attacks, now it again sparkles and resonates. If you are imaginative and have a yen for history, as you traverse the long, lonely corridors, you can imagine a lot of global celebrities traversing these corridors, going to their rooms, calling the bellboys, opening the door for room service. Yes, I limited imagination to public areas, which are spectacular, and I lingered over the corridors, the grand staircase, the intricate metal railings, the stunning bottle green dome (that’s the golden one from outside), the beautifully recessed arches, the occasional art work on the walls, the spectacular mirrors, other intricate furniture such as sofas, the elevator, the ballroom…. Most of the public areas, including the lobby, many of the restaurants, the pool and, some the top end retail is all in the heritage wing. The tower wing has better views from the higher floors though!

The heritage wing rooms are okay, but not spectacular by today’s standards. However they have character, and I had the city view room, which was quite special. You can get the sea view from many public spaces in the hotel. The amenities are modern, the bed okay, the desk decent, the storage spaces ample, a little balconish space at the end with a round table. Check in was easy. I couldn’t get 3G access for my iPad, and wi fi surprisingly was not free! There was no food in the room either. The bathrooms fortunately come with modern plumbing, but the toiletries were limited and disappointing for a hotel of this standard.

The ground floor also has Wasabi, Golden Dragon, Shamiana, Masala Kraft and other restaurants. Take a peak at these legendary restaurants before deciding where to dine. Breakfast at Sea Lounge if you want a view of the Gateway and the increasingly crowded marina. The buffet spread is ample, though not extensive. I have been a sucker for their bakery, La Patisserie, since childhood, and once again indulged, though their offerings are much more limited now.The pool is nice too, as is the rooftop garden.

The ground floor also has a visual gallery of some of the celebs who visited the hotel. Also a memorial to the people who died in the 26/11 attacks. It is a testimony to the hotel and its staff that the hotel is back to usual and functions like clockwork again. Its like visiting a museum, so make the most of your visit to explore hidden gems.

Room Tip: Sea views spectacular, but heritage wing is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#7 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#27 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#10 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 550 rooms including 42 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing