We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Room Was Small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
chapel hill, north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Standard Room Was Small”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

especially for two women sharing the bathroom. The staff and service are impeccable, after all its a Taj. My advise would be to upgrade the room especially if more than one person is staying there. Conveniently located, even with Mumbai traffic.

Room Tip: Upgrade the room from standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,597
    976
    249
    64
    89
See reviews for
1,301
2,537
588
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the tower. Beautiful room, impeccable service. In Colaba, I was able to walk to shopping on the causeway as well to fine restaurants nearby. There was a festival at the gateway to India which did add to the noise but that did not bother us since the night and morning was quiet enough.

The pool is magnificent though limited chairs and the spa and gym were a nice addition to make the stay comfortable.

The service was always courteous and professional which was in line with other similar properties in India.

This was a great choice in south mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and from the pickup from the airport to leaving it was truly memorable. The staff from the drivers to the concierge/travel desk to reception to restaurant to poolside, were supremely helpful and genuinely wanted you to have a lovely stay.

They arranged a driver for the day to see the sights, recommended where to go and really took care of you. 12/10

The location next to the stunning Gateway to India is excellent.

The drive to the airport does take a while to go through a city of 18m people!! But you get to see and experience Mumbai on the way :-)

The room and attendant was excellent.

The choices of food in the various restaurants were varied and equally excellent.

The key question is would you stay there again? - MOST DEFINITELY

Recommend it? - MOST DEFINITELY

Room Tip: It's quite a trip to and from the airport but it's location in the bustling and historic par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a great view from our room, staff were very good, especially at breakfast. Only down side was the carpets leading to room doors from corridor were filthy, not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Apart from that our stay was very good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank riwilson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. They upgraded us to Heritage wing. First class checking in process. They placed us in executive lounge for complimentary drinks, cool towels to freshen up and snacks while they did the check in.Our room was gorgeous and the marbled bathroom with a tub and shower with rain shower was so relaxing after a full day of outing. The hotel is right next to the gateway of india, beautifully lit up at night. Our breakfast was full of choices and anything we wanted! Service was awesome and superb and could not ask for more. Can't find any fault with this hotel and their service. You can ask for different pillows if you are not comforttable. But we found it so good and slept like we were home. We wish we had stayed there for a longer time may be a week to explore the neighborhood. We did walk around to explore the boutique stores and restaurants but we did not need anything while at this hotel. The whole heritage wing is so beautiful and elegant. We will stay there again when we return and hopefully longer.
Thank you all. Kalyan & viji Roberts.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the tower and we stayed at the heritage wing. Stay at the heritage wing. Wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed there for two nights in February in a deluxe room on the 19th Floor. Views were stunning.
Staff were excellent. Went to the bar at the Japanese restaurant and found it kinda lacking in atmosphere. Sea Lounge was great for breakfast, snacks and evening drinks.
All the staff were superb but a special mention must be given to the staff at Sea Lounge incl the managers Rahul and Farhad. superb service

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughingjoker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Following other reviewers’ advice, we went for the Palace Wing rather than the Tower. Since we stayed in a suite we had access to the club lounge, which served a nice spread of afternoon delicacies from 3.30 to 5pm and offered both Western and Indian appetizers in the evening. If you want to go local, try the Indian Merlot from the Sula Vineyards.Hubby also very much enjoyed the tiramisù cocktail that the friendly staff recommended. The only pity was that the atmosphere at the Club suffered a little bit from the lack of an adequate dress code.

As for breakfast, I recommend you try out the beautifully furnished Sea Lounge – with views of the Gateway of India – at least once. Even more atmospheric though was breakfast at the poolside, where the buffet spread was even bigger, including dishes from all over the world, (had the best muesli ever there! Fresh bread and Danish pastries are scarce though.)

We also tried out 'Wasabi' and 'Zouk' restaurant, which were both very good, but also rather on the pricy side. The food at 'Aquarius', on the other hand, was disappointing.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at this historic and carefully renovated landmark of Mumbai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,795 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing