We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Ranked #5 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked a room in the Palace wing for two nights and the room was very good. The only drawback was the hairdryer that was one of those where you had to keep your finger on the button for it to work and it can take a long time. It was amazing to look down at the city at night and see the horsedrawn carriages brightly lit negotiating their way without fear through the hectic hooting traffic. In the morning, food is put out for the pigeons on the quay and they flock down in their hundreds to devour it. We booked for the heritage tour organised by Viren and there were supposed to be 12 people on it. However during the tour, Viren was so excited about his topic and making it really interesting with all the facts and figures he had to hand that many more joined in. Despite there being almost 50 people, he kept them all together so the melee did not interfere with other guests in the hotel. My husband was pushed round in a wheelchair by Ganesha who did a marvellous job ensuring he could see everything. We did not use the pool as it seemed to be pretty busy but when people are using suncreams, there are bound to be some marks on chairs. We went to Leopolds restaurant and it is a real must. Security was good as bags were searched. Around the cafe are pictures of famous landmarks of the world. Food is very good with generous portions and not expensive. The clientele seemed to comprise all mixes with aging hippies, druggies, locals and tourists. Beer was served in a huge glass container with a tap at the bottom. On Viren's recommendation, we tried the Sea Lounge for the street food that was served in the afternoon and it was very good. We were very well looked after at breakfast with staff bringing his food to the table and opening the doors for us. The hotel provides a good size handy free jute bag with its image and name on the front - just ask the concierge for one. There was also 30 minutes free wifi each day per person. This hotel was the first of a 19 day trip with 8 other hotels and it really put the holiday off to a good start. Would love to go back again and probably will.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Palace wing - it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeglegofSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,572 - 5,578 of 7,225 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

After viewing many TripAdvisor reviews of "the Taj", we opted to splurge and stay there. I have stayed in many outstanding hotels in the past, and the Taj is as fine a place to stay as any. The service and facilities at the Taj are wonderful; the staff cannot do enough for you. Be sure to take advantage of the hotel's drivers/cars for touring Mumbai. While taxis are cheap in Mumbia, the traffic and drivers in Mumbai are scary. Also, hire a hotel car/driver for travel to and from the airport. The cost may be more, but the security of a hotel driver through the Mumbai traffic is well worth it.

Room Tip: Be sure to spend a bit more and stay in Sea-View room in the Palace instead of the Tower. The Palac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Aah, what can i say that's not been said before. The service from the moment we booked was exceptional. We were given an early check in at no extra cost, we were delighted with our room. We done the tour of the hotel at 5pm and lasts for 90 minutes; this is a must if you're staying here.
I really don't know what else to say; from the minute we arrived, it was exceptional. Drinks in the harbour bar are a must, breakfast in the sea lounge was to die for. Love, love, love!
If it wasn't for the 10 hour flight I'd go back for a city break.
Complete perfection.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr0fumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

just returned from 10 nights in the Taj and what a fantastic place this is. Book into this hotel and you will be amazed at the attention to detail. We were upgraded to the palace wing as it was our 37th wedding anniversary. The staff are the most courteous we have experienced, always asking if everything was ok, and could they do anything to assist us.The rooms are wonderful with a butler serving the floor you are staying on.The food and drink in the hotel is good , but as you would expect on the expensive side, but no more than you would pay in the UK. The security as you would expect is high, which is comforting to see.I must say though all the time we were there we did not feel threatened when outside. Had to use the hotel doctor once, for a upset tummy that nothing we brought from the UK would sort out. Very efficient.. sample taken results received and a prescription given , all in under one hour, total cost £35 including antibiotics, great value for money. Behind the hotel one block a main road runs, and here there are street side market stalls that sell the usual cheap stuff (ideal for presents) Also here you will find the famous Leopolds caffe. Always busy you will usually have to wait for a table, but the food and beer is great ( and cheap ) . Location is great right next to India gate, good place to people watch, Lots of Indian families will approach you and ask to have their photographs taken with you .. they see it as lucky and a honour to have this picture they mostly speak good English, and will tell you about their family and ask about you . HOWEVER... be aware of the young men , usually in twos who approach you and ask for a photograph, there are photographers all around with small digital printers to print out instantly, and they ask one of these chaps to take the photo of you with them smiling with their arms around you ....innocent......maybe not....I think these photos are being used to validate visa applications. best just to politely say no, and walk away.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I visited The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel in Mumbai with my family and it was an amazing experience. The is one of the best 5 Star Hotel. Me and my family really enjoyed and had a very good time. The rooms are very nice and spacy. The service is very nice and quick. The food was awesome.The staff is also very good. There was nothing bad to say. It's an amazing place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The first room we were taken to was rather musty so we were immediately upgraded to a deluxe room. We decided to stay another 4 days and the staff graciously gave us the same room for the cost of our original room. Nice and handy to the main road for shopping and great restaurants.
Expensive to eat there but we went out most nights anyway.
Amazing staff and a beautiful hotel. The best beds in all of India!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The classic building, the excellent food and service and above all, the location, as it is bang opposite the Gateway of India.

Several options for food at various restaurants here.

Thank gokhaleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 489 in Mumbai
2,426 reviews
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 489 in Mumbai
4,379 reviews
Taj Mahal Tower, Mumbai
#38 of 489 in Mumbai
333 reviews
Bandra West
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#13 of 489 in Mumbai
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Address: Apollo Bunder, Mumbai 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $327 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for high tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Hotels
The Taj Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing