We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a really magnificent hotel and surely the best place to stay in Mumbai due to the fantastic service and its location in the Colaba district. You can feel the history of the place and it's worth taking the tour - daily at 5pm - to learn more. The hotel is immaculate, the pool area is lovely and food is very good, with an excellent breakfast buffet. The staff are outstanding - nothing too much trouble. We stayed in the Tower Wing and it's worth paying a little extra for a sea view room as you look out over the Gateway of India. The rooms in this section are nice but it's the hotel as a whole that is exceptional. Obviously for all this you pay high prices, especially by Indian standards, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,409 - 5,415 of 7,011 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

From October 19th to 20th I spent one night (unfortunately only one) at Taj Palace in Mumbai.
The experience since the beginning was really unforgetable.
When I entered the main door there were a lady welcoming me with the tipical sign between the two eyes with the red powder. After this immediately one gentleman ask me the passport and gaving me my key asked onother boy, next to him, to escort me to the lift to go to my room.
I booked a deluxe room on the Tower (the building next to the old Palace).
The room was very confortable, clean and set for the night (water was on the table).
I had my breakfast in the main courtyard outside next to the swimming pool. Very quite and relaxing place.
The Hotel is located next to the Indian gate, so very close to one of the most beautiful monument Mumbai could offer.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just didn't get time to write on this. We traveled to Mumbai after quite sometime and our travel agent had booked 3 different hotels in Mumbai. They said there was a rush and had to adjust between the hotels. In the so called hotel bundle, there were 2 owned by Taj. One was this and the other one was Taj Lands End of which I have already submitted the review.

This hotel shares a marvelous historic area. The overall structure is beautiful. There was heavy checking while doing the check-in - anyone can guess why :) Anyways, the lobby is marvelous with lovely ladies in sarees in the reception area. We were instantly taken to our room and we were also offered the inner Taj membership. The food was good, overall hospitality great. Though we liked the Taj Lands End pool better than this one. Its Taj, recommend it to anyone!

We have fallen in love with the overall Taj hospitality! Main aim was to share with you some photos which I clicked during the stay. Hope you like it.

Room Tip: Take the club rooms which are located in the palace area. Others are located in the tower wing which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenoyDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Context
My husband and I are a young, well travelled, professional couple traveling with a lively toddler. We ae used to staying in many of the chains of hotel and this was the second Taj Hotel we had stayed on on our trip.

Summary
Our experience was very mixed - we had a number of issues which were dealt with amazingly when we raised them but these issues should not have arisen in the first place. I have had to give the hotel an average rating despite there being so much that is not average about this hotel!

Room

We received a double upgrade on arrival thanks to having a gold inner circle card (recommended if you are staying in one or more Taj hotels for a few nights) and were put in a corner suite in the Tower (cheaper) side of the hotel. The views were amazing of the Gateway of India and the suite was large including a kitchenette that would be useful for those travelling with young children. We had a cot provided which was clean.

Perhaps the most significant issue arising during our stay was that the room adjoining our suite (with an interlinking door) was occupied by people celebrating a birthday who thought it was reasonable to commence a party at midnight with 17 people in their room thereby waking us all up as the door allowed us to hear even normal conversation volumes very clearly ! It took a number of complaints, security etc to evict the revellers and this really disturbed our first nights sleep. The following day the duty manager offered us another room in Palace side of the hotel which they assured us would not be vulnerable to the same problem. This was disruptive and meant we were moved to the Neptune suite which was huge, less practical with a child (no kitchenette, more antiquities dotted around to remove from little hands) and where the view of the Gateway was less impressive. It was at least quiet at night though and for people without children it was a beautiful and spacious suite.

Restaurants

We had several meals in the main cafe restaurant and the thing that really really got to us was that the high chairs were filfthy and I really do mean filthy every time we went. It got to the stage where we were given one which looked like another child had vomited on it and there was a plate on the table with a hair on it we hit the roof. The matter was escalated and we received an apology and a free meal in the indian restaurant (Masala Kraft), but it was clearly acceptable as a matter of practice not to clean the highchairs which if you have a young child effectively means you are giving them a dirty plate!

Breakfast was mediocre and really quite disappointing for a hotel of this calibre.

The food in Masala Kraft was great. Not cheap but an experience.

One thing I would say for those travelling with children is that it is difficult to find child freidnly food options. The Masala Kraft certainly didnt have anything a western child would eat and the chef refused to allow food to be brought in from one of the other Taj restaurants for our toddler. This degree of inflexibility was truly astonishing and disappointing!

Service

The management (of whom we met a significant number in the end) were helpful and seemed surprised by the level of service we were pointing out to them. They all insisted there were never dirty plates or highchairs in their restaurants but here we were experiencing this on numerous and consequetive occasions. It is truly a shame the management do not ensure that the level of service they provide after a complaint is made is not provided in the first instance as that would make this a truly amazing hotel.

Room Tip: I would chose a corner suite in the tower over the palace as long as there are no interlinking doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Taj Mahal Palace in August 2011 and must say it was absolutely fantastic. From the time the hotel chauffeur picked us up at the airport, to the wonderfully warm welcome given by the staff at the lobby, up till the point of checking out, the service has been par excellence.

Although rendered unnecessary by the wonders of internet smartphones, I find it highly commendable and thoughtful of the hotel to have a copy of the front page of your home country's newspapers inserted in your daily news bag together with the local Indian papers.

Also worth highlighting was the housekeeping staff's attentiveness - my colleague had thrown away the toothbrush given (the bristles unfortunately broken away) into the bin; upon her return the same day, the staff had replaced the toothbrush with a new PROPER one (Colgate mind you, not the standard hotel default).

The breakfast spread was a delight - do ask for Masala Omelette at the egg station, you will not regret it!

Should I ever return to Mumbai for business, there is no question about returning to stay at the Taj Mahal Palace.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChellePang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed in Palace room with view of Gateway of India. Great room, great view , great service. Staff made my wife's birthday truly memorable. High Tea was excellent as was breakfast. The Restaurant Manager, Mr Farhad Driver, epitomised the outstanding service provided by the staff. The Tour of the Hotel was very interesting and entertaining. Concierge staff were very helpful confirming onward travel arrangements.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra cost for Palace room facing Arabian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTL_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed many times at this hotel and I have always enjoyed the stay. Everything that's excellent about the Taj group of hotels can be seen here - the service, the food the interaction of each member of the hotel that one deals with and the desire of each person to try and meet your every desire. It is an expensive hotel but still one that one feels going back to. The Golden Dragon and The Shamiana are places I have eaten at, and I have never been been disappointed. The gym and the pool are again great places to relax or work off steam. The view from the sea facing rooms are always fun and a must ask.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilipjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 465 in Mumbai
2,327 reviews
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 465 in Mumbai
4,159 reviews
Bandra West
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#13 of 465 in Mumbai
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Address: Apollo Bunder, Mumbai 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $286 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for high tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing