We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace
Ranked #3 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel experiences”
Reviewed January 2, 2008

4 night stay for New Year after Taj Exotica Goa (see previous review) As a Club room guest in the Palace this was one of the best hotel experiences ever ( if very expensive!) Met at the airport by fully uniformed chaufeur in a new Mercedes. On arrival the car door opened by your private uniformed butler who greets you by name and whisks you direct to room where he conducts formalities. Champagne waiting , enourmous room and white marble bathrooom with every possible requirment provided. Amazing building, location, pool, shops and restaurants. Service second to none.
Some complaints however. As in Goa birds are a menace. If you have breakfast at the pool do not be suprised to have a crow fly to the back of chair and then pounce on your toast. Pigeons were nesting above the main doors from the lobby to the pool. Pigeons are vermin and not acceptable health wise. Also had problem with windows not closing properly which meant road noise. During our 4 day stay thes problems were compensated by 2 bottles of champagne and 2 bottles of red wine plus our last night was free due to rebuilding of suite next door.

  • Liked — historical class
  • Disliked — birds
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,597
    976
    249
    64
    89
See reviews for
1,301
2,537
588
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I visited Mumbai while my partner was on business there and was delighted to be the opportunity to stay at this classic hotel in a stunning location by the Gateway to India. The service was almost perfect, not so intrusive that you dare not move, not so distant that you couldn't find what you wanted without feeling abandoned. The food was excellent and we felt well cared for.

For those who like architectural features, the palace wing with its glorious staircase and dome, exudes Italianate charm. My sense was that the hotel is to Mumbai as the Plaza Hotel, built a few years after the Taj, is to New York.

The seating by the pool is lovely for those who get chance to sit there, although it would be good to see a slightly greener policy on towel usage, the staff were, if anything, over keen to remove and replace towels. At one point I asked to move seats and to take my existing towel with me ... this was greeted with confusion by the staff and I had to be quite vocal in refusing to have my unused towel replaced with a fresh one.

I liked the link between old and new, with the bookshop, in the Tower wing, a wonderful place to pick up an array of fascinating books from all over the world as well as locally inspired literature. There really is no need to bring any reading material...

I found a book called "Maximum City - Bombay lost and found" by Suketu Mehta, which turned out to be an affectionate, if warts 'n' all exposé of Mumbai life, a not entirely comfortable read, in a city where, as the book quotes, many people live on less than the price of a Taj breakfast. At the Taj, unlike an equivalent hotel in most European capitals, you are confronted with the humanity of Mumbai on your doorstep and like many visitors new to India, I was especially challenged by the sight of very young children asking for money.

I know that contrast is present every time we step into an elite hotel but at this particular hotel it felt especially immediate, although I know that this is not exclusive to India. In many ways I was reminded of the London South Bank “cardboard city” of the eighties and New York's Bowery before the big clean up. I know that there are real efforts being made to make the already good education system accessible to all and this is a thriving economy. I just hope that I am not being overly optimistic to hope that some slice of the hotel profits, as well as the hefty taxes that the city imposes on visitors, do find their way to helping addressing some of the needs of the street children and slum dwellers of the city ...

It’s not all bleak - the good thing about the sea view seating in the restaurants and bars is that you can sit and watch the world go by. The sight of crowds of school children enjoying a day trip, the families and the local holidaymakers making their way to the boat trips and the beach was one of the enjoyable features of staying in this beautiful landmark hotel in a culturally exciting city.

  • Liked — The
  • Disliked — The
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank edinburghtraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

This is a landmark hotel, with ambiance that goes far beyond the comfort of it's accommodations. It's location, history and grandeur have to be considered when writing a review. Luckily, at least in my experience, the quality of the accommodations measured up. We stayed in a club level room on the 6th floor of the Palace, which was enormous and had many distinct touches. I doubt any two rooms are the same in this area. The marble hallways with central atrium were breathtaking. We had city/pool views, I guess a less expensive and desirable option than water/Gateway views, but impressive nonetheless. The only weak part of the room was the bathroom, small with some early mildew on some of the shower tile. However in a 100+ year old hotel, I'm willing to forgive. Bed very comfortable, lovely sitting area, large desk. The service is over the top, with butler who insisted on walking us to one of the hotel restaurants, and then proceeded to tell the maitre d' that it was my birthday and a cake would be in order (a cake and roses were also delivered to the room, separately). Breakfast, tea and cocktails are part of club service and are wonderful. Hotel restaurants (ate at Chinese and Middle Eastern ones) just OK. Shops are actually quite good, though I would strongly recommend heading out to the local bazaars and markets, as walking around the city is the only way to really understand Bombay.

And that brings me to my final point. This is a fascinating city, but very hard to take physically and emotionally. The poverty and filth is just crushing - be prepared.

  • Liked — History, comfort, service, location
  • Disliked — Food just OK
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank entrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Great hotel, good area in Mumbai, very good service and interior. Good choice of restaurants. Very good and fast internet access, decent business phone. European power converter in the room. Only complaint is that the windows leave to much noise into the room and on Indian streets there is a very loud honking noise until at least 2AM.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WolfgangEmperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

After a long flight and dito transfer through Bombay around midnight, the rooms, the swimming pool, the reception and the atmosphere gives us a warm welcome.

I had a deluxe suite in The Tower. What a space, what a comfort, what a luxury and with veyr nice warm colours.

The swimming pool, surrounded by beds, tables etc, is great. Unfortunately no time to swim.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I am a true Taj fan, but this hotel was a disapointment! It was really pricy and one hoped that being the oldest Taj, the grandeur would go with it. At 22,000 rupees a day, you get a matchbox to live in literally. The hotel is beautiful to look at but the rooms do not reflect it. Very ordinary decor, sad uninformed service, which is VERY unusual for a Taj property.
The saying also goes that if you're not a foreigner..do not waste your money on this hotel as it still is reeling under the impression of "Raj" days!
Doesn't do justice to its cost or reputation!

  • Liked — premises
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Viperjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Stayed on the second floor of the palace, and to me it felt like staying in a boutique hotel. After being in the room for an hour or so I thought it was the best hotel I had ever stayed in. Smack in the middle of Bombay but so peaceful and relaxing. The bathrooms were glorious, the room had everything you could wish for and the service was faultless.
I must mention the restaurant Masala Kraft - big WOW for that. It rates up there as one of the best restaurants I have ever been to, and that includes the service, food, decor, atmosphere. It actually become hard to leave the hotel.
The service could not have been more helpful and I really appreciate everything they did to help me enjoy my stay in Bombay. Will definitely stay there again and enjoy a tea by the pool.

  • Liked — food, room design, the view, the pool, the sweeping staircase
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magicfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,998 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,796 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taj Lands End
Taj Lands End
#12 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,572 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Property: The Taj Mahal Palace
Address: Apollo Bunder | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the Gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for hi-tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing