We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to the Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Ranked #5 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful old world grandeur. This is like going back in time. Amazing welcome at the airport in an air-conditioned Mercedes (did cost extra) with cold water and flannels and maps of Mumbai to look at during the 30 minute journey from the Airport. Met at the door of the hotel by a lovely man who gave us details of the amenities and showed us to our room which they had very kindly upgraded due to our 'special' holiday status. The room was beautiful, very well furnished, but by far the best thing was the view of the bay and the incredible gateway to India. This made our stay as we were able to take photo's from our window of the monument at different times of the day and it looked fabulous! We spent the day wandering around bustling Mumbai, there's plenty to see close by to the hotel and took afternoon tea in the lovely garden by the pool. We ate in the rooftop restaurant that serves Middle eastern food that evening. It was nice. Great views of the Mumbai skyline. Had a good breakfast in the morning and chatted to the lovely food and beverages manager then it was back off to the domestic airport for a flight to Kerala. All in all a wonderful experience and Im sure we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gateway of India!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,869 - 5,875 of 7,005 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was the 4th visit to MUMBAI and i loved this ones.

The Taj really has an aura about it, the building is beautiful and the location great, right in the heart of Colaba. The security is very reassuring and it has definitely been stepped up since the attacks. My only real gripe was with the standard of accommodation. The first twin room we were shown was quite honestly abysmal. It was tiny, old and very run down. After I complained they moved us to another twin room which was definitely better than the original room I had been shown, but still not what you would expect from a 5 star establishment like the Taj. The room was of good size, but was lacking of any real quality. No LCD TV, poor quality bath towels, and a bit worn. The room would not have looked out of place in a 3 star hotel. Apart from the room, the rest of the hotel was definitely up to standard. Service levels were high especially the concierge who we found very knowledgeable and helpful. I would stay here again provided I had one of the newer rooms.
thncx

Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank sagar_kedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I loved the taj. Everything was perfect. The staff wonderful, room GEORGOUS, hotel just divine in every way. The service really sets this place apart. Take the hotel tour with Viren, the history is really incredible. Everyone is proud to work at the Taj and you feel that as soon as you walk in. You MUST stay at the taj if youbare going to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worktravellerglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Taj really has an aura about it, the building is beautiful and the location great, right in the heart of Colaba. The security is very reassuring and it has definitely been stepped up since the attacks. My only real gripe was with the standard of accommodation. The first twin room we were shown was quite honestly abysmal. It was tiny, old and very run down. After I complained they moved us to another twin room which was definitely better than the original room I had been shown, but still not what you would expect from a 5 star establishment like the Taj. The room was of good size, but was lacking of any real quality. No LCD TV, poor quality bath towels, and a bit worn. The room would not have looked out of place in a 3 star hotel. Apart from the room, the rest of the hotel was definitely up to standard. Service levels were high especially the concierge who we found very knowledgeable and helpful. I would stay here again provided I had one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Taj Mahal Palace is trully an extraordinary hotel with fantastic service!
It made me feel like princess Scheherazade staying in there.)
Don't miss on the introductory excursion about the history of Taj Palace that takes place every day at 5pm (free of charge).
Also worth mentioning is a great quality of beds and pillows - for extra demanding people like me, order the feather bed and various high-quality pillows (free of charge), and enjoy the royal sleep!

Room Tip: Request for featherbed and luxurious pillows(FREE)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrinAfanassenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Even though I did not enjoy Mumbai at all, this hotel is simply fantastic. However, don't have dinner at their so called indian resturant, because it is super expensive and not indian at all. I've had mote authentic indian food in Sweden, which says a lot.

But the rooms are large, and the hotel in itself is a sight to behold, also the service is great. If it wasn't for the unsatisfying resturants I would have stayed within The Taj's walls until I left Mumbai.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redstripe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have finally come back to Taj, after the 26/11. While the Towers rooms still offer the Taj Experience ... in a way, the Palace rooms are just among the best experience you can have. You are in town, which already has its amazing charme, you are at the Taj, in front of India Gate, another unique psyco experience, you have the best old India atmosphere (architecturally it is "depaysant"), and rooms have been refurbished in the best way, both for the interior design and for the cutting edge technology and a lot of gadgets.

Room Tip: Palace rooms are cheaper and nicer than Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aryuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 463 in Mumbai
2,322 reviews
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 463 in Mumbai
4,148 reviews
Bandra West
Taj Lands End Mumbai
Taj Lands End Mumbai
#13 of 463 in Mumbai
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Address: Apollo Bunder, Mumbai 400 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#5 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $278 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 543
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1903, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai is India's first luxury hotel. Offering panoramic views of the Arabian Sea and the gateway of India, the hotel is a city landmark. The hotel offers 543 rooms including 54 suites, each adorned with original paintings and period furniture that exude an aura of old-world charm and elegance. The restaurants at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai offer distinctive dining experiences that cover the finest Indian and international cuisines - from casual, all-day eateries to Oriental, Japanese, Indian and Mediterranean fine dining. The hotel also houses the first licensed bar of Mumbai and also a beautiful sea-front restaurant for high tea and live music. Palace Services in the Palace Wing of the hotel add to the experience, where the butler plays the all important role of guide and assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing