We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Very few things wrong with this hotel. The rooms are impeccable. The service was excellent. The night club in the hotel was the only disappointment as they basically denied access to hotel guests.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwgs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2009

My first at the Leela Kempinski. Checked in with my colleague from Switzerland and stayed three nights. Stay at the Executive Rooms was very comfortable and staff very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere and facilities were very congenial to meeting business associates and spacious with adequate privacy during meetings,
Choice of food and quality were outstanding - we were there during the Kerala New Year and a theme dinner was excellent .
Bar was good though some liquers requested were not available.
Overall a very good expereince and look forward to hosting my colleagues visiting Mumbai next time at the Leela.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BangaloreRagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

THE LEELA offers a great personalized service from the time you check in to check out. They have got a beautiful green landscape and that too in a place like Mumbai. The food spread at Citrus one of the restaurant is excellent and every thing is prepared and presented with utmost care. Excellent place to stay for both Business travelers and for a relaxed vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AD76Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

The Leela mumbai property leaves much to be desired as the interiors of the property are crammed as in the restaurants,the rooms and the shopping arcade this is just the property not service more on the service part later and another major inconvenience is that the property is very far from the heart of the city which makes commuting to the city long and exhausting and mumbai’s traffic does not help either. also there are innumerable five star properties in the neighbourhood my pick offocurse is the ITC MARATHA which is almost always packed the others which are equally good or the hyatt, The Lalit Intercontinental or the one thats bang on the airport sahara star .

Allthough our welcome was perfect subsequently when i did check in at the 8th floor and after that the warrmth and the helpfulness of the staff left a lot to be desired , you see the first thing the staff needs to do is SMILE and whenever i check in to a hotel and if i do not see the staff smile i then tend to think that either they are not happy to receive me or they are just plain BORED of their job and their boredom is matched only by their BORING uniform .

For a junior presidential suite our room was quite small infact it was crammed
allthough the online reservation is quite convenient and efficient but then again its pretty much the same as any other five star properties.

i had to call the hotel subsequently to inform the reservation staff of a few things that i would like and to my shock i found rucha online from reservations .she was cold,indifferent,lacked enthusiasm and did not offer me options on her own and certainly did not ask me if i would like anything else infact when i asked her about the airport transfers and had speciafically requested for a BMW for airport pick-up and drop which when i saw online was complimentary for junior presidential suites and she contradicted that by saying that it was on a chargable basis and later when i spoke to yogendra at the reception he said that would be taken care-off without any charge. now, how does your hotel explain such contradictions ? but what really annoyed me was the fact that finnaly when we were picked up from the airport we were not picked up in a BMW this inspite of the fact that the hotel is very close to the airport.

The staff is very promt perhaps way too prompt for my liking and promt on all the wrong occasions. NEHA from the check-in made my arrival at our room A HORRIBLE NIGHTMARE . as soon as we checked in she pounced on us with the bill .i mean nobody is going to runaway with the hotel's money aallthough i had cleared 80% of our room charges and taxes on arrival 'coz NEHA insisted on me clearing the bill right then and there by pouncing on me and i thought we were there to relax i mean if there was an issue with our bill or our mode of payment i am sure she could have waited for me to settle down instead she created a panic situation for me not just that she embarrased me in front of my whole family by pouncing on me with the bill.

NEHA is by far the WORST hotel employee i have met she is rude,lacks communication skills and needs a lesson in crisis management and quick . i do not like to see people like NEHA when i am at a hotel . people like her need to be either expelled immediately or need to go through proper training not just that her english is very poor and barely understandable and she does not have decision making skills and constantly relies on her manager to take decisions .

i mean arent people normally supposed to settle their bills at the end when they check-out ? even if your hotel policy is different there is a way to deal with issues there are always better approaches to an issue concerning a bill if one of my debit cards charged only for 80% of my room charges she could have suggested that i use my other card or i could have used the same card to make a payment another day as i was there for 3 days i mean i was not running away anywhere .

NEHA and RUCHA clearly spoilt my stay at the leelas

The people at the guest services need to pick their phones after just one ring and should promptly act on the needs of the guests.

My coffee was not served on time .i had to call a couple of times to get a single cup of coffee having said that the coffee in itself was pretty good infact one of the best south Indian filter coffees are served at the leelas and another one of the few good things about this hotel is their club floor its probably one of the better club floors i have seen.

The replenishments were not made day to day we had to make do with whatever was available on our arrival in the mini-bar.

My final verdict is that if you intend to stay at a hotel close to the airport there are plenty of other options and the property and service at other five star properties are much better.
my pick offocurse is the ITC MARATHA which is almost always packed so you may want to make your reservation early the others which are equally good are the hyatt, The Lalit Intercontinental or the one thats bang on the airport sahara star but if your looking at staying at a hotel in the heart of the city where all the action is then i would recomend the TAJ mahal palace and towers or the oberoi's/trident but if location is not a problem and you want the best property with the best rooms then your best bet is the newly opened FOUR SEASONS.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Green_Oscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Stayed at the Leela twice so far while travelling from Chennai to Mumbai. Loved the place so much that I keep going there to their restaurant when in Mumbai even though it is only a day trip now from Pune.

The general atmosphere of the place is great and gives you a feeling of palace. The staff are kind, gentle and always willing to serve you.

The food options are great and so is the taste.

Rooms are big, nice and clean with a shower cubicle seperated from the room by a glass door. Feels great.

Pool and the gym are fantastic.

Food served in the room is also equallay good.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed only for a day/night but it was faboulous. The air port pick up and drop off service was first class. Every member of staff was friendly and ready to help in any way possible. Travelling with small kids is not the easiest thing, Leela made our stay very smooth and met all our requirments -food, cot etc
I loved the ambience and the live music, as said before just faboulous. Certainly will recommend it to everyone I know.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Kiran00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had a great time. The chinese restaurant is really nice. The service was poor at times but was good generally.

They were accomodating for late check out.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank daruboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,178 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,241 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,878 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $139 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing