We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was working out of Mumbai and decided to stay here for 9 days, the hotel is great the people are fantastic - my only thing was that the rooms are a little tired and need modernising. Housekeeping was a little hit and miss in terms of the stocking of the mini bar and leaving bottled water but overall recpetion staff, lobby, restaurant and concierge are all super - safe surroundings and a genuine feel of people trying to the best for you. Well worth it if you want nice surroundings and a great envrionment to socialise in.

Room Tip: Garden views are better than city views and they still do smoking and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can only say that The Leela is safe and the best palace to stay in Mumbai. I have really enjoyed the stay and it is most green hotel. The hotel staff are extermly well organised to give you best support.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohammed Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a well placed hotel with a great garden space in the middle of busy Mumbai street. Front desk and all other staff are ready to serve at all time. I forgot the name of the doorman, a tall man with an mustache is always welcomed me with my name every time I entered the hotel. I have been staying at this hotel since 2003 and never disappointed. Breakfast is excellent. I met the owner Capt. Nayar and CEO Mr Kaul. Greta team.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash-NewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Been coming to the Leela for several years and this year it was a real disappointment. The staff - except at the front desk - maybe due to the fact the Leela is no more a Kepinsky chain hotel was not efficient, slow and even sometimes rude (the Citrus) at breakfast and dinner. The service at the Jamavar, on the other hand was very good and prompt. The food quality at the buffet (Citrus) has drastically gone down. The rooms...ok but a heavy smell of mildew. The rest is as usual, but it is a pity to see this superb hotel change......Considering changing hotel next year.

Room Tip: Try the Club floor or top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romanbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've been starting my stays at this hotel about 25 years ago , and every time I have to cross Mumbai on my trips to India I choose it . Especially after the latest renovation , the rooms at the Club floor are wonderful , while restaurants and all other amenities are as good as ever .
Its location a few minutes from the international airport is the most convenient for a traveller , and despite being near a crowded area , it's absolutely quiet and peaceful . I remember that in occasion of my 25th visit , long ago , I had been received with flowers , a cake etc . which is certainly not common .

Room Tip: No special recommendations , all the rooms are very good , if possible choose a Club room or a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent our first night there. Amazing hospitality staff, Classic premiere rooms. Do check resturants / dinning areas like Citrus or jamavar. Plan to have a hair cut then lavish at warren tricomy...... I think thier 1st in india

Room Tip: Preimere rooms are good. If lavish Go for maharaja suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had great service and really enjoyed our very brief stay. My biggest tip is to pay for a club room - with breakfast and airport transfers included and the use of the club lounge I believe it is much better value overall. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Our flight was late but we were greeted promptly on arrival and whisked (5 minutes max) to the hotel. Room was lovely, great shower. We couldn't have asked for more. They even ordered a taxi and negotiated a rate with the driver to take us into Mumbai as we left the hotel. A lovely start to our holiday.

Room Tip: As I said the club rooms were great and I believe that package is best value overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187046Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,171 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,238 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,876 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing