We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the middle of chaos”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of chaos”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Leela is a member of the Kempinski group and as such share the same high levels of amenities and comfort. It is a tranquil 5 star oasis located near the international airport. On arrival we were picked up by an executive hotel transfer, a new BMW 5 series and immaculately attired chauffeur. We were greeted and helped into the car and presented with bottled water and international newspapers. The trip to the hotel was an eye-opener. If you've never travelled to India before, be prepared for the culture shock. While we travelled in cacooned air-conditioned luxury, the streets outside were chaos personified with people, cars, animals, bicycles all moving as if they were a school of noisy fish. We arrived at the entrance of the hotel which sets the stage of what's to come, pure indulgance, you feel like royalty as you are welcomed by the doorman and have your luggage taken to your room. Check in was fast and eficient. The hotel seems to be recently upgraded as the carpets and furnishing look and smell new. The room was a delight with quality linen and toiletries. A beautiful view over he pool and gardens. If you didn't know any better, you'd never guess you were in Mumbai. Breakfast was of a high international standard but dining space seems limited. We had to wait for a table for 2 of the 3 days we were there. Dinner was also good but space again an issue, we were moved to an ovrflow area that was not as appealing as the decor in the main restaurant. Pricing too is excessive with mains but a single drink each for two came to around 90 US Dollars.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for penning your feedback about our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the welcome experience and the rooms also. Although, it has been a while since our last refurbishment of the rooms, I am glad to note your observation about the impression of a recent renovation.

My apologies for the dining experience – I hope you shall give us another opportunity to serve your better. I would also like to assure you that our prices are at par with hotels of the same stature in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    613
    159
    55
    49
See reviews for
255
310
207
1,159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

so close to the airport that the typical traffic jams and monsoon flooding of Mumbai wouldn't hamper your trip from the airport to the hotel...and that's really what one needs after the typical long international flights, a quick check-in and no more travel... at least until after a good rest!

The check-in formalities were smooth, the room was comfortable, but we thought the age of things shows in parts of the room especially the bathroom. So if its just business for a night, then I wouldn't mind putting up here, in a base class room. If it's leisure then either pick a higher room category or...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our property.

In our endeavor to present a world-class product to our guests, we had gone through a complete refurbishment of our rooms some years back. However, your point about the age showing has been noted.

May I request you to ask for the various categories of rooms we offer on your next visit. I am sure you will be delighted by our varied product, especially the Royal Club – our hotel within a hotel concept with its own check-in, butler service and culinary offering.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Always stay here when I go to Mumbai for business. The hotel is just first rate, but most notable is the service from the staff, who cannot do enough for you. From airport transfer, to check in, to the restaurant and bar staff, everyone was just so accommodating, friendly and willing to help. Slight problem with TV was fixed within minutes. Could not recommend hotel more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen down your feedback of our property and team here.

We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice when you visit this city.

We look forward to meeting you soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we stayed at this hotel in mumbai . My group of 96 pax and I stayed there on 19th May and, as usual, we were pleased with the efficiency of Leela. From the pick up at the International Airport, the welcome from Front Desk to the breakfast service the following morning and the checkout and the drop to the domestic airport, we were in the very capable hands of the team at Leela who were all excellent, as usual, in all respects. The hotel may have been a bit pricey for a short stay but then, I guess, you get what you pay for. Thank you, Leela and Mr umesh for a very good service as usual.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murtazamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
The team is thrilled to have your stellar feedback of your stay here and our team - especially Umesh Menon.

On behalf of my entire team, I thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you during your stay in the city.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time in Mumbai , no idea what to expect ..the hotel had an air conditioned hotel BMW waiting of us to whisk us the 5 mins from terminal to hotel.
The big secure gates greet you , then a long drive through rich greenery until a host of door staff welcome you in.
The hotel cannot do enough for you .
We paid for the Club Rooms and the service has been absolutely exemplary .
A beautiful relaxing pool area, great bar, accommodating staff, wonderful breakfast buffet, four top class restaurants .. The absolute best 5 star stay we've ever had .
We leave for the Leela Goa resort tomorrow , so if its anything like this one , we are in for a treat.

Room Tip: If the price isn't too bad, go for Club level, the service , butler, and complimentary drinks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
The team and I are thrilled to have your feedback about your stay with us.

I am glad that we were instrumental in making your trip to our city memorable.

Hope to meet you soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me start with a caveat.
We just spend 21 days in heaven called the Leela Goa. As we had a free night stay at the Leela Mumbai we decided to come here straight from the airport and spend the night here before going home.
Normally no hotel allows you to use two promotions together so even though we used the free Connoisseur Club stay voucher they also honoured our GHA Black upgrade.
This is what happens when you stay in only a couple of hotel chains, they treat you better if you are a loyal customer.
We had left behind our Gold Connoisseur in Goa, the Leela Mumbai send us a temp card immediately by email.
Given a choice we would rather stay in a leisure hotel as the Leela Mumbai is a business hotel, the rooms are much smaller in size than say the Leela Goa.
The room they gave us on the 6th floor has a great view, refurbished and looks new. Always check the age of an hotel room before you check in.
All in All a great one day stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vmukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.

It is the continued patronage of esteemed and discerning guests such as yourself that has earned us our reputation of being among the leading hotels of the city across categories - as ranked by Tripadvisor this year.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had an awesome time staying for 2 nights, pool is in shade so its not hot in pool during noon.
The Royal club- full day food spread is awesome....lovely seasonal fruits, innovative sandwiches and pasteries.
Staff are very attentive and helpful. This was my 2nd visit in one year....
Tip. Upgrade to suite if budget is not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our property and offering.

I am glad you were able to experience and enjoy The Royal Club – our hotel-within-a-hotel – with its exclusive butler service and culinary offering.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice while in this vibrant city.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,870 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,177 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,761 reviews
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,158 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#25 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Property: The Leela Mumbai
Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing