We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star Mumbai hotel close by the international airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #20 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“5 star Mumbai hotel close by the international airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My second visit to The Leela Mumbai was just as good as my first visit. I was in Mumbai for a speaking engagement and stayed for around 4 days.

In summary;
- my premium room on the second floor was superb! Nothing less than perfect for a business traveler.
- service was great including the service of the reception staff
- hotel drivers were exceptionally good
- internet was fast and stable
- food was half-decent and somewhat of a disappointment
- breakfast was as good as ever
- the no smoking policy by the pool was a bit of a turn-off for me

But all in all, The Leela is a safe and comfortable choice in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Get one of the premium rooms - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your kinds words about our hotel, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

On your next visit, our Chefs will meet you personally to ensure a culinary experience as per your preference.

I hope you will appreciate our need to offer an environment that is conducive to all guests. The policy of no-smoking close to the restaurant was developed basis feedback from guests, and hence alternative arrangement for guests who would like to smoke has been made.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    588
    150
    53
    48
See reviews for
235
294
196
1,095
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Mumbai is a great city, chaotic, mad, but great. Once again, we finished our India trip with a couple of nights R & R at The Leela.

For this visit, we opted to stay in one of the Royal Club Suites. The Royal Club is akin to a business class concept and indeed the majority of customers appeared to be business men and women. That said, the communal areas were lavishly decorated with lovely Indian artefacts. Our suite was nice enough if feeling a little tired. The first suite we were given wasn't up to scratch, not looking quite clean enough and hosting a very unpleasant smell. We also noticed another customer complaing about the same room the following day. We were moved quicky and efficiently.

As with all rooms we have stayed in here, the bed was superbly comfortable and the shower excellent.

The Royal Club serve drinks and snacks throughout the day which is part of the package. Sometimes the sandwiches were a little stale which shouldn't be the case at this level but you could request freshly made if you wished. Unfortunately when opting for this, the bread was still stale.

The staff were excellent which is what we have come to expect from The Leela.

All communal areas throughout the hotel are a delight. The pool was clean and refreshing (unheated)! We again enjoyed an excellent spa, the overall service and surroundings being superb.

All in all, a very nice stay, super staff but some of the finer details need refining to make it truly great which is where we feel The Leela should be aiming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PsychoWarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Greetings from The Leela.

Thank you for your kind comments about our Royal Club offering and our team. While we are confident that we have the best team, your comments are a testimony to the fact and the team is excited to have your feedback.

I shall look into your observations about the refreshments served at the Royal Club Lounge and the room you were initially checked into.

Look forward to welcoming your family and you in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the first time I’ve written a review for Trip advisor, but thought that our recent experience whilst holidaying in India warranted the effort.
We have just completed (April 2013) a 2 week tour of India’s expanded Golden Triangle combined with a few nights relaxation in Kerala and a day tour of Mumbai – staying at:
Delhi - The Claridges Hotel
Varanasi - Jukasso Ganges
Agra - The Trident
Jaipur - Dera Mandawa
Kerala - Carnoustie Beach Resort
Mumbai - The Leela Kempinski
The whole tour (including guides and drivers at each location) was built around a personalised itinerary arranged by James Carpenter at Audley Travel - who did an excellent job and warrants a mention here - taking note of all our comments and suggesting venues and activities to suit our particular needs.
James made the process of planning the holiday very easy - despite the constant calls from us as we revised our ideas.
James kept us informed right through the process and when he had some concerns about one of the hotels we were given the opportunity to change it right up to the morning that we were due to fly.
I have completed reviews for each of the hotels above so please see my separate listings for them.
Below are my comments on

Mumbai –Leela Kempinski (1 night)
The Leela is a large fairly modern hotel near Mumbai’s International airport
We were spending one night and the following evening in a Premier room at the Leela, with a city tour of Mumbai during the day.
Arriving at the entrance to the hotel we were greeted by the usual security guards, but with the addition of electronic body scans and bag checks that you would normally expect at an airport.
Once through the front doors the Leela has a very impressive lobby, which opens up onto the various restaurants and bars as well as a shopping mall at basement level.
The receptionist might have had a bad day but it was not the most welcoming experience I have had. (she was much more pleasant the following night). In contrast the lady from guest services who showed us to our room was very welcoming.
Unfortunately the first room we were shown smelt musty, but we were immediately taken to an alternative which was better.
The room (311) was fairly small and pretty standard with a clever bath / shower arrangement (shower was really good) and a strange sliding mirror which gave a view into the bathroom from the bedroom if you wanted. The view from our room overlooked the garden and pool area.
There were a choice of restaurants and we chose the buffet option which had a wide choice of food for a fixed price. Perfectly adequate food but poor in comparison to previous hotels visited. We chose to eat out at local restaurant (Mesash) the second evening.
Breakfast (buffet format) was in the same restaurant with the usual range of European and Indian fare, although there was an alternative restaurant available which was fully table service
We got the impression that the hotel was more aimed at the corporate traveller than those on vacation, but it was a comfortable place to stay whilst we were touring in Mumbai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshTravellers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Greetings from The Leela.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your showcase to this vibrant city – Mumbai. Given our proximity to the airport, most of our guests are business travellers. However, some of our features such as the verdant poolside, the Yoga session by the pool, our SPA with ESPA-trained therapists, the Warren Tricomi Salon outpost at the hotel, etc are best suited for a leisure traveller to enjoy.

My apologies for your experience with our receptionist and the room allocated to you. We pride ourselves on a hospitable team and comfortable offering. Rest assured that this was a one-off, and not a common occurrence.

As a five-star deluxe hotel, we offer a plethora of culinary options to our guests including all-day dining experiences, fine dining restaurants as also casual dining such as grills, tapas, etc. I hope you will give us another opportunity to host you on your next visit so that you may enjoy the entire repertoire.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at the Leela for a week on business and it was an excellent place to come back to after a hard days work. The only thing I have a problem with is the contrast between the opulence of the hotel and the poverty within a stones throw but this is obviously not the hotels fault just something to be aware of if you visit this area of Mumbai. Overal an excellent stay and I was in a Royal Club room on the 7th floor which made the stay even better. This is a 5 star hotel and this is reflected in the price of food and drink there but the quality of the service and meals is deserving of this ranking though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about The Leela Mumbai. The team and I are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to meeting you again, and hope to remain your hotel of choice on your next visit too.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a good place to stay if you need a place to stay near the airport. Surely not one of the best in Mumbai but conveniently located . The rooms are tastefully done as per the leela standards, but the exterior of the hotel looks really sad. It does NOT look like a five star hotel from the exterior. They can definitely do something about that for sure.

Room Tip: did not get any views from my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manishgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Greetings from The Leela.

Thank you for your observations. Having completed 25 years of hospitality, The Leela Mumbai is known for its oasis-like look and feel instead of a glass façade. However, we have taken your comments about the exterior on board.

Look forward to welcoming you in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a very remarkable experince in the chinese restaurant and the lobby lounge.
Meet Manu in the lounge, he will treat you with the best cocktails and rare whiskys. The chinese food had the authentic feel and taste. The chef himself met me took my suggestions to prepare the food. The entire stay was excellent and will be back in future too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Greetings from The Leela.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, as also the culinary experience.

Thank you for taking the time to pen down your feedback on this forum.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only had a few hours stopover in Mumbai before our next destination and having already travelled some 20 hours to reach India, my husband thought it would be a nice surprise to book us a spa session at the Leela.

The air-port pick up and drop-off service was excellent, The spa was incredible. The therapists are obviously well-trained, extremely professional and the treatment rooms were clean and beautiful. They provided everything we needed to freshen up before and after the session.

We also had a lovely light meal, tasty and fresh. I can't wait for our next trip and will definitely be staying over this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weebly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback about our award-winning Spa and ESPA-trained therapists, as also our hotel offering.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again.

Best Regards,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,341 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#17 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Property: The Leela Mumbai
Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing