We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem with room facilities”
Review of The Leela Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Mumbai
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had been to this hotel in march stayed there for a night.
Faced following problems:
- when went for a bath in the evening and filled the tub the water was filthy it was browinsh.
- woke up in the morning and decided to make some tea using the kettle, and to my surprise the filter in the kettle was very dirty like not cleaned/replced in ages.
- After check out when my car was bought by the Valet it was all covered with bird droppings.

Do not expect this from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kamal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Greetings from The Leela.

At the outset, please accept my deepest apologies on the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. I shall, personally, look into the problems that occurred. However, rest assured that these are not a regular occurrence.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to give you a taste of the hospitality of The Leela.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 2,148 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel is located near the airport, and is a typical five star hotel.
The hotel`s garden is beautifully decorated with large plants and trees that surround a large swimming pool.
The hotel`s staff ensure that guests thrive and get the best treatment.
The room was nicely decoratet and clean.
Through Booking. com we also got a good deal on the rate

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeTv-News F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

On behalf of my team, I thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback about our hotel and service.

We hope to meet you soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel,
Although price is a little bit on the high side, this is absolutely value for money.
Nice and friendly personnel , very good food, excellent rooms.
The breakfast is good with nice variety.
I am coming back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your gateway to our vibrant city.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Given the clamour and chaos of Mumbai, it is hard to believe you can feel "away from it all" in any city-centre location there but the Leela Hotel in Mumbai is the perfect antidote to the stress of travelling and staying in India's busiest city. As you turn into the elegant driveway of the Leela, all the noise and intrusion of colourful Mumbai fades away and you are transported into an oasis of calm and serenity. I have now stayed at the Leela several times on business and believe it to be the best hotel in Mumbai for service, rooms and facilities. From the smart and well-equipped rooms to the superb selection of restaurants (Indian, Chinese and Italian) the Leela scores top points for the business traveller.Add onto this the beautiful pool and gardens and top off with the gym,spa and massage facilities and you have a package that's hard to beat in Mumbai. Its proximity to the international airport (5 minutes by car) is a real advantage for travellers but it is the amazing service ethic at this hotel which sets it apart from anything else in town. The friendliness, efficiency and courtesy of (seemingly) every member of staff at the Leela Mumbai make it an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms have a prettier outlook than the city facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It is the patronage of discerning guests such as yourself that has won us international awards and accolades.

It is humbling, indeed, to have such frank feedback from you.

One behalf of all of us, I thank you for your acknowledgement.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Reesident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A tad expensive considering the hotel's age and its surroundings.
I'm a Chinese Singaporean, and the chinese restaurant's food taste good and it taste like home. :)

The indian resto served very nice curries as well. Overall, a good experience but like I said, too bad there are nothing much around the hotel, or any sort of malls linking to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOWTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Greetings from The Leela.

My team of Chefs join me in thanking you for your kind words. I do hope you had a chance to meet Chef Suen – our Chinese Chef who is from the mainland himself.

Although we are a 25-year old hotel, we pride ourselves on offering the best-in-class product and service, be it our BMW fleet of cars, superior room offering, world-class Spa (managed by ESPA-trained therapists) and Warren Tricomi Salon. And keeping this product and our 11-acre lush green property, our rates are in line with any and competitive with other hotels in the same league.

I would love the opportunity to meet you and show you around on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We turned up without a booking on the last day of our holiday. We were warmly welcomed and were given a suite at a very reasonable rate. I had stayed at this hotel before on business trips but this was my first stay with my family. My wife and kids were very impressed. A great way to finish our first holiday in India !

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank joec918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad we were able to match your expectations and leave a lasting impression of our land in your memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our midst soon again.

Best,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was an excellent hotel to stay at when travelling from the nearby Mumbai airport, the pick up and transfer to the airport was on time and efficient. The room was lovely, a good (free) internet connection and the breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of food on the buffet and the masala dosa was 'historic'...we had a chance to sit by the pool for an hour or so, and the gardens were also very nicely laid out. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel for business travel around Mumbai.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav S, Resident Manager at The Leela Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your glowing feedback of our hotel.

If you liked spending time in our gardens, we recommend that you experience the Yoga sessions conducted by our trained instructor every morning, on your next visit.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Gaurav Singh,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,171 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,237 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,876 reviews
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Mumbai

Address: Sahar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 059, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $142 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the bustling heart of India’s commercial and entertainment mecca lays one of the finest luxury hotels in Mumbai. Nestled within the tranquillity of 11 acres of lush landscaped gardens and cascading waterfalls, The Leela Mumbai is a shimmering beacon amongst Mumbai hotels.Only five minutes away from Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport and 15 minutes from Mumbai’s domestic airport, the Leela Mumbai is well equipped with world class facilities and warm, friendly service providing the ideal gateway from which to explore northern Mumbai’s commercial hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leela Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai Hotel Leela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing