We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with poor service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Mumbai International Airport
Ranked #28 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with poor service and food”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stopped in at this hotel as part of a two week business trip including stays the Courtyard Marriott (Pune) and Taj Lands End (Mumbai) - the Taj definitely lived up to its billing as the best of the three with the Courtyard following behind and the Hilton a distant second.

First, the pros. This is a beautiful ornate hotel with some great classic touches - you really feel transported to an earlier time. The live music was a bit cheesy but a nice touch when you're bored out of your mind at an airport hotel. And finally, proximity to the airport was excellent - it took us 15 minutes with bad traffic to reach the terminal.

The cons were unfortunately pretty big ones. The service is pretty poor - the room we had booked far in advance was not available when checking in at 8p, requiring a wait of about 45 mins with no compensation. The staff also didn't quite seem to follow our questions and responded by repeating the same instructions over. Unfortunately, the restaurant (we tried the indoor/outdoor restaurant downstairs) was terrible. We tried and sent back a white wine which had clearly gone bad (orange in color and bad tasting). My dish also ended up being inedible due to some rancid-tasting parma cheese on top.

All in all an OK hotel for transiting to the airport but otherwise given the high cost and poor service/food I don't see myself staying here in the future....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ofLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear ofLeisure,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Mumbai International Airport. While we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's ambience, we sincerely regret the inconvenience you experienced on your arrival and in our restaurant.

We have taken note of your valuable feedback on our service and our restaurant's food offering, and will take steps to rectify these. Indeed, service and food are very important factors of our guests' experience.

We understand your sentiments but at the same time, hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    449
    170
    49
    28
See reviews for
130
171
146
757
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I checked into this hotel today. First, my colleague was upgraded to Club Level while I was not, because they have no smoking rooms on the Club Level. So if you smoke, don't plan on getting any upgrades.

More importantly, I ordered wine from room service. After 45 minutes I called to find out where it was, and was told it would be right up. 15 minutes later I called again, and was finally told that they were out of what I had ordered. I ordered something else, and they agreed it would be right up. 30 minutes later they showed up with something else that was not what I had ordered. More expensive, but not what I ordered. They gave it to me for the price of the original wine, but really at this point I'm just frustrated and irritated with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asivilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Asivilli,

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced so far.

Since you are still staying with us, we will contact you directly to resolve your situation. As always, it is very important to us that our guests are comfortable and satisfied during their stay.

We look forward to meeting you soon.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Is it just me? Other reviewers say it’s great – I come away thinking it’s seriously over-rated.

First – cut it some slack. It’s an airport hotel with huge turnover in guests. And secondly let’s be honest – I wasn’t buying a 36 square metre exec room. With 9 hours to kill I took the bottom rate and got a second floor room. And finally – yes, it was a smoking room but so are the others I stay in so I’m comparing like with like.

The corridors are cramped. The carpets feel more mushy than soft and the joins up the middle (of the carpets) are struggling for their freedom. The room was probably once very nice but it has seen better days. Nothing actually bad about it and nothing missing but not much good either. And, although it was clean, there was a faint air of grubbiness about its aging fixtures. The room had frayed at the edges – furniture scratched/flexes making escape attempts from lamps/power points working intermittently - and that’s the feeling I got in the whole place. (With quality antique furniture wear could be described as patina – here it’s just wear.)

Breakfast doesn’t match other (cheaper) metro hotels I stayed in on the same visit: décor only OK and the fayre average - it felt slightly mean. Nit-picking here I know -but plastic butter pats at a supposedly 5 star hotel?

Finally the staff: friendly and fine. I think some of their feedback mechanisms may be good: the hotel driver having heard my views certainly gave the impression that he would feed back. Shame that the checkout staff hadn’t bothered asking the same questions…

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Springburn,

Thank you for your candid review of Hilton Mumbai International Airport.

Your constructive feedback has given us plenty of insights on the areas we can further improve. We wholeheartedly agree that every detail counts in contributing towards our guests' satisfaction, from the carpets, fixtures and furniture to our breakfast offering and pro-active service. We are, at the same time, pleased that you found the team to be friendly.

Rest assured that we are taking your comments seriously because it is feedback such as yours that will only help us to strive to make our hotel, service and product offerings even better.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I've noticed that Hilton has been struggling in India ever since I've returned. The first thing about the Hilton lobby is that it's the tiniest I've seen. I don't know where it's four or five stars but it was more akin to a budget hotel..very narrow and unimpressive. Food was average, service was good though they seemed busier than usual. Would rather stay at the Leela, Hyatt Regence or the ITC Grand Maratha instead which also share the same convenience of being close to the International airport (5 mins drive) even if they are a little bit more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear skywords,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Mumbai International Airport. While we are pleased that you found the hotel and service to your satisfaction, we are sorry that some of our facilities and food offering did not meet your expectation.

Our hotel was designed to reflect the style of a 19th century summer palace with European elegance and an ambience of a stately home. With this in mind, the lobby was kept as it is to exude the warmth and welcome of a home.

My team and I have noted your comments regarding the food. We are taking the appropriate steps to ensure regular food quality checks in order to uphold the high standards expected of a Hilton hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Rooms ok. but the service was indifferent and slow down only to the Imperial China restaurant, the service works. The pool area was dirty (lots of birds).Did not meet expectations from hilton hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BO777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear BO777,

While we are pleased that you found our rooms and Imperial China restaurant to your satisfaction, we sincerely regret that our service and general ambience did not meet your expectations.

We have also taken note of your comment regarding the pool area and my team will take appropriate steps to improve the cleanliness of the area.

Rest assured providing the best service for our guests is very important to us and my team will continue to work hard at upholding the high service standards expected of a Hilton hotel.

Thank you for you valuable feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We reached mumbai at midnight. around 1:35 . Took a bit of time to check in.The midnight buffet was great. Especially the indian section was good.It was a very nice stay and the hotel looks very good inside! its worth a dinner and also a stay.ALways a comfort to stay at hilton and find a level of consistency at all of their property worldwide. Checkout was smooth.Will be staying at this property again when i visit in June .

Room Tip: i dont know much but always try to take the one at the corner .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawaz97_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear nawaz97_12,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Mumbai International Airport, we are very pleased that your stay left you with a positive impression.

We very much appreciate your valuable feedback on our service, food offering and especially making Hilton your preferred place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in June.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The choice of Airport Hotels in Mumbai is a little overwhelming - but my general rule of thumb is that you can't go wrong with a Hilton -- and the Mumbai Hilton further proves my point.
Located between the Int and Domestic Airport, it makes short layovers very convenient.
Hotel is very luxe, rooms and breakfast are excellent and service is top tier.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonoAvnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vkapai, General Manager at Hilton Mumbai International Airport, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear JonoAvnon,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your encouraging feedback on the hotel, rooms and especially our service.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Your sincerely,
Vikas Kapai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#14 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#20 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vile Parle East
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
#10 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar
#4 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mumbai International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mumbai International Airport

Property: Hilton Mumbai International Airport
Address: Sahar Airport Road | Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India (Formerly Le Royal Meridien Mumbai)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#24 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Mumbai International Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes from the international terminal and 15 minutes from the domestic terminal, Hilton Mumbai International Airport is situated at one of the most convenient locations near Mumbai airport. Combining the style of a 19th century summer palace and aspects of a stately home with modern facilities and upscale amenities, Hilton Mumbai International Airport is the hotel of choice for business travelers. The hotel is situated near the prime business districts of Andheri, Bandra Kurla Complex, Powai and the Bombay Exhibition Center. Shopping, entertainment and dining at the Oberoi Mall-Goregaon, Phoenix market city are also nearby. This Mumbai hotel offers a premium destination for business meetings and events. Choose from 171 guest rooms and suites, as well as six flexible meeting spaces, including a ballroom and two grand halls. The hotel also offers a unique dining experience, contemporary spa and comprehensive fitness center. Each spacious guest room offers excellent amenities to meet the needs of all types of travelers. Upgrade to an Executive Room for private check-in and check-out, complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails in the private lounge. Savor delicious Indian and Chinese cuisine in the sumptuous Mumbai restaurants -The Brasserie and Imperial China. Relax by the tropical setting of the outdoor pool and sip drinks from the Garden Bar or enjoy live music next to an open fireplace at the Lounge Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Mumbai International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mumbai International Airport Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing