We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all aspects of Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
Ranked #27 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The start of the day is very Good with a warm and courteous service with a wide variety and choice with nice presentation of the breakfast by Mr Amit Mishra and his team.The staff is care taking. Over all experience was excellent right from check in till check out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkhemani_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Been living at the renaissance for over 3 months and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will be here for another couple of months and am looking forward to it. Jinto at Fratelli Fresh was especially helpful during the breakfast hour.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Easy check- in , excellent breakfast and a continent hotel in case you are visiting Navi Mumbai or Powai area. It's 30 min drive from Airport in case you are lucky otherwise it can take you even 1 and a half hour based on traffic !

Room Tip: There is a lake next to hotel so better chose a lake view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

As I tried to nap now at 5pm I am awoken again by the noise from excessive musical instruments / DJ noises emanating from their OWN property (the LAWN) together with a hammer drilling within a few floors of our room without any sort of printed advice renovations are happening. Since my Husband works Shift Work, I have to deal with my sleep pattern as if I am doing Shift Work also.

Yesterday from 2 in the afternoon until 10:15 pm the noise coming from the same on-property Special Events location (perhaps 100-200 yards away from the main building) was penetrating our room wall/windows located on the backside of the hotel furthest away that one could not sleep until 10:30pm! This is typical and occurs several times a week - which represents complete disrespect for their paying Guests (like us) who are not part of the Special Event or Events (I've seen as many as three Events at happening at once). DJ's are set up outside whether by the Lake (Special Events Location) Point, the Lawn, or by the pool or on top of Convention Ctr and no consideration for hotel Guests is given for excessive music and public address volumes used until very late at night! Again this is sanctioned by the hotel who have rented their facilities and allowed such disturbances until well past 10:30 or 11pm. No written advance notice in the lobby or elevators has even been done even after several requests! No matter whether the front or back facing rooms, old or new building, it is just too loud for the prices being asked and what is listed as being offered! So for the entire stays here, I can honestly say, I have not slept "undisturbed" one entire night nor my husband!

True occasionally barking dogs, a local festival generates noises in the rear, and a small local drum band do play outside their control area, but in the end the hotel claims its rooms are "sound proofed"! Not a chance, as many rooms have single pane windows, painted walls, window seals missing and are simply non-sound proofed!

So please tell me what this Sound Proofed Rooms means Dear Managers? They have installed windows that are inferior for the outside environment and location, therefore a failure and has nothing to do with sound proofing. Below standard!

Next issue is with their Staff! House Keeping / Mini Bar / Laundry delivery members will talk too loudly in the hall ways at all times of the day & night, allow the room doors to slam shut, use dead bolts to block doors open and allowing them to slam against the metal frames producing a very loud bang heard all the way down the hallway & in your room even if 5 doors away! Below standard!

Next we have the actual room doors that are all poorly maintained, meaning the Soft Closing Systems all allow the doors to slam shut when the last 12" of closing occur. Combined with no rubber seals on the door frames it is a constant barrage of banging doors all through the hallways no matter what time of day or night! Below standard!
You can actually hear the doors slamming above and below your room if you listen closely.

Finally the Security Staff! From 10pm onwards it seems to be expected that Guests are required to observe a max level of noise, meaning do not disturb your neighbor! This means Security should on a regular basis patrol the hallways and actively advise abusing Guests to "keep it down" in a nice way! Rarely seen them nor have I heard them do such, unless prompted with a call at 1, 2 or 3am! Again Below standard!

For these reasons I have had to rate this experience in Service and as POOR as these are the weakest links!

Sleep quality thus also as POOR! Beds are very nice, but if you cannot enjoy them when the entire product they offer is dragged down by the lack of peace and quite for the above reasons!

So before the typical response, " Oh thank you, we are not aware of this, we shall investigate, bla, bla", I would like Management Types to do in-room Decibel Readings in their rooms and report them here when; a DJ is blaring outside at the Point or Lawn or Roof Top; When a private function is happening at the pool at 10:30 pm; When the House Keeping Staff is slamming doors at 1pm or 2am or talking in their normal voices at 3am in front of your door when the "A LITTLE PRIVACY" is hanging; Or some guest next door has 5 loud laughing visitors at 2am or their kids are running up and down the hall way; Or surprise renovations are being conducted with hammer drills!

The other areas of location, gym, pool, Check-in, etc are all as advertised and reviewed by the general public and good to very good. Cannot comment on the Spa or Lounge!

I do feel the Managing Staff puts too much pressure on Associates to pressure Guests to write in this website and name their Names & how fantastic all is!
Ok, so tonight, I have done as asked.
We will be leaving by the end of the month and it shall be interesting if this Review brings about a positive change as that should be ample time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views through your review.

We obviously have failed to live up to your expectations on this particular visit and I am dissapointed that you faced these issues. These are certainly not a reflection of our usual standards of service and I apologize that you faced this.

I understand from your review that you are in house and my team shall surely connect with you to ensure that we make the remainder of your stay memorable.

Kind regards

Saeid Heidari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Mumbai Convention centre at Powai, Mumbai while I was attending a conference on 1.10.2013. I had stayed at this hotel in October 2012 also while attending another conference. Conference facilities are excellent here and check in for all delegates were smooth,which is no mean feat at conferences! The rooms were very good, only issue I had was that the water used in the washrooms is recycled water and hence has a yellowish tinge. I was not very comfortable with the washrooms for this reason only. Otherwise everything was very well maintained. Complimentary breakfast as well as the food served at the buffet lunches and dinner was very good and the buffet spread at every meal was extensive. The hotel grounds are well maintained and it is indeed a pleasant experience to see so much greenery around in a metro. The rooms with view of the Powai lake are preferable as it is very calm to sit and look at the lake in the early morning hours. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and this made for a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Powai lake if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neelakshi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place !
The area is superb, the view on the lake amazing and the restaurant is wonderful. It was a really pleasant stay. The welcome in the restaurant was particularly warm, this was much appreciated !

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the lake and on Mumbai are great !
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc_Andre22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've stayed at this Hotel for several times, and I was always very pleased with the hotel rooms and especially the friendliness and positive attitude of the staff. The breakfast restaurant under the leadership of Amit is great and all the waiters are very friendly and helpful - especially Shailesh!
I can fully recommend it to other travellers to Mumbai!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManniBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.3 mi away
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#14 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Powai Hotel and Convention Centre
Ramada Powai Hotel and Conventio...
#62 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
847 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
#101 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Leela Mumbai
The Leela Mumbai
#17 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,126 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
#3 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Address: 2 & 3B, Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400087, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#40 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $142 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle Hotel, is your luxury retreat in the heart of picturesque Powai Mumbai. Perched neatly on the banks of Lake Powai, a short distance from Mumbai's domestic and international airports, our hotel features winding walkways, lush gardens, and 600 beautifully designed rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel
Renaissance Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing