We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International style, but amazingly high standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
Ranked #27 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

It's not India, if not for the trees and the view. But the beauty of anything in this hotel, including the infinite pool with lake view makes it my first choice for coming back. Also for families or couples: the large gardens include other hotels and they're all fenced and guarded. Outside town -quite far in terms of time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Renaissance is for a leisure time, a beauty lake facing room with wine in hand.

The food, buffet, staff & scenric is beautifull !!

They have built up in 1 of the most peacefull location which doesnt have pollution at all even if u come out till few minutes drive.

Cookies served during luxury breakfast is superb and nothing came close to this.
Violen played in the reception area is very peacefull with very harm hearted staff.

I loved that hotel

Cheers
Nitin

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was my first visit to India so I wasn't sure what to expect. The drive from airport to hotel didn't promise a lot, with squalour and poverty all too plain to see. Our arrival at the luxurious Renaissance some 30 minutes later was therefore a pleasant surprise, and just the beginning of a fine stay over the next 3 nights. The opulence of the marble-lined corridors and well-appointed bedrooms contrasts bleakly with the view of the shanty towns surrounding the hotel itself. But inside, there is the comfort of security and service wherever you roam amongst the 3 excellent restaurants, meeting areas or well-appointed gym.
My double bed was very comfortable with good quality sheets and an abundnace of pillows. Tea/coffee making facilities made the Brits feel at home and basic bottled water was provided free of charge (premium waters and drinks were also available from the mini bar). The room had an office desk and chair with wired and wireless internet and the bathroom well appointed (no bidet however!).
Breakfast was a delight with a wide variety of international breakfast tastes catered for, including eggs cooked to order in any style you cared for. We only tried the Indian and Chinese restaurants but both served good quality food, although service in the Indian could have been quicker.
All in all, a great experience with overwhelmingly polite and helpful service available at every turn. I would have no hesitation in returing here if business takes me this way again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower offer great views and are close to the breakfast and Italian restaurants, but dis...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlight42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Overall the hotel is a great choice. The main issue is access, at peak times its quite difficult to get to and it is isolated, you cannot walk anywhere from here.
Rooms are excellent, some issues with noise from the main corridor / other rooms so ensure you take a room as far from the elevator area as possible.
Best rooms are in the second tower and facing the lake. The gym is excellent and open 24hrs with a great outdoor pool. Plenty of restaurants and choice, all of very high standard Italian and Chinese are particularly good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nocky_reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April. Initial impressions are good, with a nice welcome from the reception staff, and a cool drink whilst the check-in formalities are completed.

When arriving at the hotel, your car will be searched by security (with sniffer dog), and as you go into reception your bags go through an X-ray machine and you walk through a metal detector. It's comforting to know that they take your security seriously, but you can wait in a queue for a few minutes at busy times. When leaving the hotel, your taxi/car is kept in a holding area until you turn-up, and it can take a few minutes for the message to be relayed and your car to arrive.

At check-in, the receptionist did his best to up-sell me into a more expensive package which included breakfast, airport transfers, executive lounge access and inclusive internet access. I already had transportation organised and knew I would be working in the evenings so it wasn't worth the extra (about 30-40% more on the daily room rate).

I was lucky to be staying in a lake view room, which had fantastic views from the large windows in the room. The room itself was well equipped with a separate desk area, large TV, plenty of space for clothes, a nice bathroom with separate walk-in shower and bath. You could even open the electrically operated blinds in the bathroom to get a view of your room and the outside world if you wanted to. The bed was large and very comfortable with more than enough pillows.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to try out the spa facilities and swimming pool, but they did look nice and spotlessly clean.

The choice and quality of food at the buffet breakfast was impressive, and included many local delicacies which were very tasty. The chefs will also make omelettes to order for you amongst other things.

For evening meals, I tried 3 of the 4 restaurants. I didn't have a bad meal in any of them, though I did feel slightly pressured to go for their set-menu options, particularly in the Chinese restaurant. I went for this option and although the service was excellent, I felt there was a bit too much food for one person to eat and it did take nearly 2 hours to get through all the courses. The food was a bit on the expensive side, but not over the top compared to other hotels I've stayed in around the world. I didn't see anywhere nearby within walking distance of the hotel, but the centre of Powai is only a 5 to 10 minute drive away and there seemed be more choices there when I drove past.

The TV in the room worked fine, and had a variety of local and international channels available. The internet access (not free) worked fine, and was reasonably fast. They didn't have certain port restrictions like some international hotel chains, so I was able to use a VPN connection back to my office in the UK to work during the evenings.

I used the bar downstairs once, and sampled some local beers. Service was very good (though they did insist I took a seat at a table and not stand at the bar). the bar prices weren't cheap, but again on par with other international hotels so no complaints really. You also get supplied with a bowl of nuts/nibbles, which they will top up as the evening goes on.

Checking out was very efficient, and only took a few minutes.

Overall, it was a very nice hotel to stay in, and I would have no hesitation in staying there again or recommending it to other travellers who have business nearby.

Room Tip: a lake view room would be worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMBStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I am spending 1 week a month in Mumbai for business.
The Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel is my home base in Mumbai and is exceeding any reasonable expectations from an hotel.
Extremely friendly staff, well trained and highly skilled.
Facilities - spa, fitness center are fantastic and I am a regular visitor to both.

Room Tip: al rooms are of high standard, the tower has newer rooms but not a must
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked this hotel for a team building programme followed by business review meeting of our Bank for 3 days. The overall experience of the hotel was very good and the stay was more than comfortable.

The property was impressive from the very entrance and lobby, which was lavishly decorated and furnished. The surroundings of the hotel were also very good with Powai lake being just adjacent to the hotel property. There was beautiful and large landscaping enhancing the ambience of the hotel. All other facilities like swimming pool, gym, room service was very good.

We enjoyed the time spent in the room, around the hotel and also during the meeting as the meeting halls were also very elegant and provided comfort during the meeting. Due to this hotel itself I would rather tell that we have been able to understand more during the team building seminar.

On the flip side we found the food not that tasty although it was hygeinic. We would like the hotel management to improve taste of the food so that our taste buds should also feel good during the stay.

In all this hotel can be recommended for business meetings, leisure etc. for luxurious stay.

Room Tip: Take lake view room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manojkjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.3 mi away
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hote...
#14 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Powai Hotel and Convention Centre
Ramada Powai Hotel and Conventio...
#62 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
847 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
#101 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
279 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Leela Mumbai
The Leela Mumbai
#17 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,125 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
#3 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Address: 2 & 3B, Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400087, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#40 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $142 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, a Marriott Luxury and Lifestyle Hotel, is your luxury retreat in the heart of picturesque Powai Mumbai. Perched neatly on the banks of Lake Powai, a short distance from Mumbai's domestic and international airports, our hotel features winding walkways, lush gardens, and 600 beautifully designed rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel
Renaissance Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing