We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$128
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$140
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$232
$169
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
$49
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveler rating
89
178
85
39
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
178
85
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuhu beachtwo bedroom apartmentjuhu mumbaiexcellent locationnon vegmain roadnice stayhotel is locatedreception staffhotel managementbusiness tripinternational airportindiapharmacytaxislocality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 428 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2008

We were unlucky enough to travel to Mumbai on the 26/11 (same day as terrorist attack on the city), Lucky for us the Juhu area was not targetted *phew*. During the crisis, the hotel staff became a little unsure of themselves on what to advise their guests, most of Mumbai was shut down on the day, however the hotel staff was unable to confirm if stores/restaurants were open or not, however it is hard to put this as a negative against the hotel as staff cannot be trained on what to do in such circumstances. Although I was a little disappointed in the security services provided, with the city being attacked in various places, the hotel did not step up security and there was a lone security guard standing out the front as per any other day. Taxis, rickshaws, cars and people were able to pass him by with no questions asked or any form of ID check. (nevertheless the 5 star Sea Princess hotel across the road had a similar lack of security!!).

Beyond this, the hotel was decent. Being in Juhu, it was expensive. We had our room upgraded to the Apartment (room 505), whilst not the claimed 4 star quality, it was comfortable with A/C and fan, and the ability to open windows wide to let the sea breeze in. The Kitchen looked a bit out dated, fridge old, but microwave & oven with cooking utensils were provided. It was very much like staying in a genuine Indian local apartment. The bathroom was decent (by indian standards) and a TV was provided in the main sitting area and the bedroom. beds were soft and comfortable with clean sheets.

The beach is a short 3 minute walk across the road, there is a little nest of variety shops up the road, a few restaurants, a pan wala right out front and some boutique clothing stores across the road (although these clothes shops are ridiculously expensive - 25,000 Rupees for a Sari!). Auto's are readily available outside, it is about 15 minutes to Linking road (main shops) by Auto (we paid Rs.50 each way - suspect this was too much!). We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and this was just ok. The other times we ate at Linking Road.

The hotel can organise a airport pick up/drop off, however charge Rs.600 each way. It is cheaper to get the door man to call you a taxi and you pay a fixed Rs.250 (extra Rs.50 for large amounts of luggage). The hotel can also change money for you, and you can bargain a bit with the rate, pending they have enough Rupees in the til.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hashimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We booked this hotel because I wanted to be somewhere central where I could find transportation easily. The Best Western's location was perfect, however the hotel itself turned out to be below expectation.

In Europe the standard of the Best Western chain is pretty good, which is why my husband consented to my booking with them. However, it was a disappointment when we actually checked in. We had booked a studio apartment. However, while the floor space is okay, the apartment looks more like a middle class Indian family's apartment than a supposedly 4* apartment/hotel. The fridge was visibly old and had seen better days. The bathroom cramped with an open window, allowing in the humidity.

They have a restaurant, which is okay, however, we were a bit surprised to discover that it is a Vegetarian restaurant only. We therefore had to go out to find something to eat on our first night.

We bought a 24hour internet card, but the internet would not work, nor it seemed the airconditioner which would not cool sufficiently.

Having said that, the staff were great. The Duty Manager spent hours with us trying to get the internet to work. Eventually an IT technician from the hotel opposite came in and identified the problem as incorrect cabling.

The hotel does not provide complimentary pickup and drop to the airport, which you have to pay additional charges for, making the final bill more expensive than it appears at first glance.

While our stay was not awful, I personally would not stay there again, however, if you are not familiar with the hotel chain in Europe and you are not expecting 4* standard, then you might find yourself quite comfortable here. Note, this hotel is privately owned and therefore probably does not have to subscribe to the same standard as the Best Western chain in Europe, which is why there is a big difference between the Best Western in Europe and the one in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FrequentTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We were not sure that the room we got was deluxe. The bedroom and bathroom were very small. The foul smell was inside the room. Toilet was very close to the sink that we couldn’t move easily because of very limited space. Safe box wasn't attached to wardrobe. The room was noisy because of whangs at the hotel during our stay.
Location was very convenient because close to Juhu Beach and good restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has 4 star but in our opinion it's worth 3 star.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Odi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

An excellent hotel if you want somewhere to base yourself for shopping and nightlife and don't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel itself.
Hotel was clean and staff were excellent. The reception staff however are a waste of time, but everyone one else encountered were great.
Breakfast was good and every effort made to provide items not included in the standard buffet.
The rooms were of a good size, well maintained and clean!
You couldn't ask for better for the price, especially in such an ideal location.
Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JP80-Worldroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

It is really really far from Mubai attractions, like 35 km which translates into 1.5 + hours... stayed there for just one night because of its location... The hotel is not bad though, old and outdated, located in a nice street of the Juhu area but really couldn't stand the commuting problem.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews