We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Ranked #99 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Emerald Juhu for 4 nights in the first week of January 2013. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the 1-bedroom apartment, which has a kitchen, toilet/shower, large dining table and chairs, family room, 2 TVs, and a sofabed which was perfect for the 2 kids ages 5 and 7.
The location is OK. While it is on the opposite side of the street from the beach, there is not direct access to the beach as the line of buildings opposite the hotel, along the beachfront, block the access. So there is about a 12-minute walk to the right of the hotel, till you get to the open access area. And then too, need to be careful crossing the extremely busy Juhu Tara road. If you do not mind spending the minimum fare of Rs. 15, take the autorickshaw to the beach. Well worth it and no anxiety about walking and crossing.
The apartment is clean. Some things were broken like the shower head which came off into my hand, and the toaster which did not work. But these were quickly fixed after calling maintenance. Also they do not fill the liquid soap dispenser beyond 50% capacity, you need to ask for extra towels and toilet paper, as somehow they give a bare minimum. The hotplate in the kitchen warms up the food very slow.
One thing I did like was the on-demand free bed making for the sofa conversion into a bed. Very nicely done and promptly.
One thing I did not like was the electronic coded safe, erased my secret code, and I had to call maintenance for the master code. The reason I think is that the electricity shuts off to the entire room, after you take your room key card with you out of the designated slot. So the secret code you put into the electronic locker in the bedroom gets erased, creating a brief panic if you need your valuable stuff which is now locked away and inaccessible.
Another thing I did not like was that there was no blinking light on the phone, indicating that someone left a message.
Finally, the absolutely best part of the hotel is the buffet breakfast daily. Every morning, get ready for a treat of juices, south Indian breakfast items, lassi, eggs made to order by a real nice omelet chef and fresh cut fruit. Of course the hotel is pro-vegetarian, but the food at breakfast and the hotel restaurant and room service snacks is very good.

Reserving a large taxi to handle multiple suitcases on checkout is expensive and the front desk refers you to the travel agent in the lobby, who charges an exhorbitant rate for a large airconditioned tourist vehicle. Otherwise, the hotel provides complimentary pickup from airport. Of course, you need to hope your airline arrives in time, and that the driver keeps holding the name placard in his hand for you to see as you exit the airport door, and that someone around is kind enough to call the hotel on their own mobile phone on your behalf, if your driver is hiding somewhere and making no effort to make himself obvious to you.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a deluxe. The 1-bedroom apartment can easily fit a family of parents + 3 s...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuckinmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Look forward to welcoming you on your return to Mumbai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 399 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We split our Bombay trip into two hotels, as it takes a tremendous effort to commute between north-central & South Bombay. So, we picked Emerald hotel in Juhu to visit this locality as well as Bandra area, and selected a Marine Drive hotel (Sea Green South), for our forays in South Bombay.

This hotel is probably 10 minutes easy walk away from the main Juhu beach, and is located on the main road. The rooms are medium sized, but you do get space for a kitchenette, which however they lock if you do not use the room as a service apartment. The breakfasts were satisfactory without bordering on exceptional. By and large, the staff were efficient & polite. The best part of the hotel is certainly location. Amitabh Bachchan bungalow is a 20 minute walk away at the other end of the same road, and you get to pass loads of eateries near the beach, out of which we found Shiv Sagar very good. The area beyond that is all residential, and shady enough to walk around.

Bandra is a easy auto-rickshaw commute away, and is good for shopping/enjoy the sea breeze. A tip; for less than R100/-, we picked up an impromptu auto, and asked the obliging driver to give us a tour of celebs residing in Bandra/Pali area. Great fun.

This hotel provides a free airport pick-up too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashish2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for posting your experience with us. It gives us immense pleasure to read that you had a happy stay with us. Your review is valuable to us. Looking forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived at five o'clock in the morning to be greeted by the manager who had arranged an early check in. We really appreciated that after a long flight. Spent three nights there. Great location, over the road from Juhu Beach. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was good, pleasant outdoor area. The restaurant had a great choice of low fat, healthy meals. Staff were all excellent. We had a 4.00am departure and they kindly arranged coffee and toast for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzie867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your response with us. I feel glad to read that you had a great start to your journey with us. I have shared your comments with the team as it is always motivating for us to receive positive feedback driving us to further excel in our guest experiences. I hope you managed to explore a bit of Mumbai during your stay with us. Look forward to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well....the real advantage of the hotel is the location. Its walking distance to Juhu beach and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Service is reasonable but dont have a high expectation. Cost wise its not cheap but then Mumbai hotels are anyways expensive.

I did not like the breakfast, its too basic....

Room Tip: Cabs are easily available outside the Hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankajkedia_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your experience with us. I have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and will do the needful at the earliest. Your comment is valuable to us, it helps us become better. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rented the 2BR apartment. I'll restrict my comments to experience & amenities, as cost is subjective.

I was born in Bombay, and was coming back with my wife and 2 kids to visit family. It was my first visit in 10 years, kids first visit to India, so we didn't feel like jamming into one of my cousins or aunt/uncles places. I decided to get this for 7 nights. AWESOME choice, very nice way to transition. It was clean, staff was super-friendly, but 3 things really stood out:
1) Water pressure in the showers. For us spoiled americans, this is huge. In the past when i've been to India, the water barely trickles out. We had nice hot & solid showers, better than my house back home. Good for blasting the dirt & pollution off our body in the evenings.
2) Buffet breakfast was killer, had both indian & continental options. After 2 days I couldn't handle 3 indian meals/day so I went for cereal, omelettes, & orange juice. Wife/kids stuck with the idli, medu vada, mini dosas, etc.
3) Beds & pillows were comfortable. For a picky sleeper like me, thats critical.

I won't say you can't go wrong as that would be presumptuous, I'll just say that for me & my family, this was an incredible way to start off our India visit.

It seems I can only add a few photos, i'll see if I can add more, but I put them all up here: https://picasaweb.google.com/116376228263190692203/ZTheEmeraldHotelWalkthrough

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your visit and posting your experience with us. It is our constant endeavour to ensure that we offer top notch service and amenities at value for money rates and I am glad that we were able to provide you with a great stay. Hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

we family of 3 stayed at the hotel twice during our trip to india, the hotel was recommended by our friend who has stayed there in the past, we were taken care of from the time we arrived and were enjoying the help and amenities offered by the hotel, we had rented a studio apartment, till we were checking out on the 25th of dec to continue our inbound journey to other city , we were asked to justify the water bottles that were empty in our room from previous to two days, that were not consumed the same day we were leaving, the cleaning guy on 6th floor who was not picking up the empty bottles from the room(2 bottles) reported that had consumed that water same day when we were leaving, i had paid on my bill all the water we ordered, what shame, that they did not trust a customer who was staying there for 5 nights at 6000 rupees per night, and during the second visit, we consumed only one bottle of water and they raised up the charges on the beverage and the front desk wanted to charge me 50% tax on it while the tax rate on beverage is only 12%, they totally ruined the charm and enjoyment i had at the hotel, they need to train their staff to do their math correctly, and by the way after tipping the 6th floor cleaning guy 100 rupees twice to clean our room, we still got cold treatment from him for leaving empty bottles in the room which were there from the day we arrived!!, i am sure there are better choices to stay in Juhu...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gori114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you posting your experience with us. We pride ourselves on hospitality and food but clearly has not been the case with you. Sincere apologies for the same. I will personally look into the matter and do the needful. Your review help us become better. I would request you to give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a find. Not expensive but safe, comfortable and clean. Our first two nights in India were spent here, getting oriented. Away from tourist spots but with good restaurants nearby, it is in a good neighborhood that has tons of exotic flavor. Pedestrian and car Traffic out the door is intense, dressed-up camels and elephants in wedding parties on the weekend walking by is not uncommon. hotel Restaurant decent, meeting services fine. The desire of the staff to accomodate is first rate. My luggage never made the transfer in the states and after two days our group moved on to another location two hours away. Air India had the Emerald Hotel contact info and when my bag arrived 3 days later and the hotel was notified, the hotel actually sent someone to the airport to retrieve it. I was able to send for my bags and tipped heavily and was eternally grateful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Owner at The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your response with us. I have shared your comments with the team as it is always motivating for us to receive positive feedback driving us to further excel in our guest experiences. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you consider a holiday in Mumbai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#71 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
465 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#89 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
834 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#128 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#116 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
49 reviews
The Residence Hotel & Apartments
#101 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
279 reviews
Nirvana Residences By 1589 Hotel...
#95 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $70 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Hotel Best Western Mumbai
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Best Western Hotel Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing