We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Business Hotel, nothing special”
Review of The Lalit Mumbai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lalit Mumbai
Ranked #19 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Do not get me wrong, this is a nice hotel, it is a business hotel and handy for the airport. It is expensive though compared to other equal hotels very close by. I am a Platinum member of the IC frequent stayer scheme, though this seemed to mean nothing at this hotel. Buffet in the restaraunt is very nice though, again expensive. I travel to India frequently and would only stay here again if the nearby hotels were full

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ________________
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 2,307 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2009

The 369-room InterContinental The Lalit Mumbai is located near Sahar International Airport and boasts a magnificent architectural façade with a soaring 8-storey atrium lobby. The adjoining commercial complex with serviced apartments, showrooms, shops & offices and a plush preview theatre provide an additional dimension to the hotel’s state of the art facilities. Plasma TV. Air conditioning, Alarm Clock, Tea/Coffee maker, Electrical adapters , Individual climate control, Iron and Ironing board ,Safe, Cable/ Satellite network , DVD player Refrigerator . Wi-Fi connectivity, Two-line phone
A free form outdoor pool, Massages (body therapies & Ayurvedic treatments), Steam Rooms, Sauna Rooms, Jacuzzi, Cold bath, Therapy Baths, Yoga and Aerobic centre, Snip-The Beauty Salon

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abhik242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

It is a perfect 5 star hotel with impeccable services. Interiors excellent - the most wonderful part is the massive reception foyer which gives u a feeling of great opulence and space - everything well laid out. Baluchi restaurant has excellent quality indian food and the breakfast is vast in variety. cabs are easy to get in that area. the shopping areas are also nearby.
I selected this hotel as a top choice for Beach / Sun, Theme / Amusement park, Outdoor / Adventure, Great food / Wine, Shopping, Spa. Over 5 years i have stayed several times in this hotel and if i land in mumbai it is either this hotel or leela - whichever offers a better rate. Not much difference between the standard rooms or deluxe ones so do not bother paying the extra unless u need the club lounge access. Spa is excellent and so is the pool
Liked — Great Hospitality
Disliked — Nothing

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ashish_3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Searching on the net, I found great prices at this hotel, and decided to try it out. I had selected the club floor room, and had in-room check-in. I recommend this to anyone after a tiring flight!

The rooms are well appointed; the club floor staff greet you by name, and there are great freebies like internet, breakfast, one set of laundry, evening snacks and happy hours in the club lounge. Everything a business traveller could ask for is there, and accompanied by excellent service. My requests for a hard pillow, shoe cleaning, and internet vouchers were attended to immediately, even after midnight.

If they can hold these rates, this is the only hotel I'll stay in in Mumbai.

Downsides? Yes, the spa is under renovation (not that I had time to use it.) There is only one restaurant, in addition to a coffee shop and a small bar. Room service makes up, though, with a decent menu.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

First visited this hotel last year while waiting for the flight back home and was impressed with the open concept of the hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights for the recent business trip.

As in most international flight into India, the flight touched down late into the night and by the time I was at the hotel which was like minutes away from the airport, all I wanted was a quick check in and a dash for the bed. However, upon arrival at the hotel, I was surprised at the crowd at the reception as it was seriously under-staffed with guest checking in and out at the hotel. What appalled me was the reply from the reeptionist that my room was not ready yet.........even at way past 12 midnight, guess my shock and discontent at that time!! Was told by the staff at the hotel that they will try to expedite and imagine I am not the only guest waiting for our room at that time.

A quick check with a fellow traveller waiting at the lobby and was told he waited for 30 mins. Anyway, by the time, I got to the room, it was way past bed time but a quick glance round the room noted that housekeeping did not do a good job as tolietries used by the previous guest was left uncleared. Found a small bottle of use hair conditioner by the basin and noticed some amenities were not replenished. Was too tired to ring up housekeeping and headed straight for the bed after a quick shower.

The next morning, woke up early as I have to be out for an early meeting and headed for an early breakfast. Even at that hour, probably slightly before 8:00am, the placed was filled up and looking for a table was difficult. In fact the table reserved for me was occupied by the time I was back with my food. Request for tea took a while and it eventually arrived but request for replenishment was never met. The varieties of spread was decent enough but quality was VERY BAD for a 5 star hotel. Not that it doesn't taste good but imagine having grilled tomatoes that is cold certainly doesn't seem good. Most of the so called heated dishes were either luke warm and plain cold.............

The bad service and quality of everything ended from the 2nd day onwards miraculously because upon coming back to the room on the 2nd night, room was well cleaned and maintained. Everything was replenished even up to the apples in the room, very comfortable to be back at the room certainly. Did not have breakfast the next day due to an early domestic flight but on the last day, had breakfast again and well, everything seems to have changed overnight. Service was attentive and food was well prepared and most importantly those that needs to be kept warm and well kept warm.Had dinner on both nights of the stay at the hotel and again quality of food was good.

Overall, the service and quaity of the hotel was very good from 1st day onwards which some how would have been an extremely comfortable stay with helpful concierge.

Would definitely stay there again considering the closeness to airport and no one likes to be caught in a bad jam in Mumbai!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Reserved a non-smoking room weeks in advance. Checked in only to be told there were no non-smoking rooms available. Was put on the bottom floor with a view of the roof (even though I'm a platinum member of their awards program). Bags sat outside until I finally had to go for them myself, and only then did the staff finally get to work.

Room would have been fine had it not been for the coffee splatter seeping down from the mirror in front of the computer desk, the batteries taped into the remote control (because the back was lost), the smell of smoke from another room coming into the room from the bathroom ceiling fan, and the lack of US style power outlets (you'd think they'd have at least one!).

Although it's not a terribly expensive hotel, there's certainly much better to be had in Mumbai. Only bright spot is it IS very close to the airport. But so is the Hyatt, which is where I'll be staying next time around.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank killermobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

When choosing hotels in Mumbai, I wanted somewhere near the airport, so we could catch our early morning flight.

There are a few hotels in the same area, and I choose the IC Lalit just for the fact Im an Ambassador of there membership scheme, which entitles me to an room upgrade. However the hotels were priced around the same if not cheaper. Anyway I still booked it.

Check in was quick and efficent and was taken to the room, and how disappointed I was. I had been upgraded to a "Luxury Lalit Room", you would think from the name of the room that yes you are stepping into a room of pure Luxury. How sadly wrong I was!! I later found out that yes I had been upgraded but basically its the same room type except it has a bigger TV and DVD player?? The room itself was tiny and when we asked for another bed in the room, there wasnt any room left to move!!

Staff were polite and helpful when asked questions. The location wasnt the best either, it looked quite scary out of the gates, so only went in the hotel car.

Overall, I wouldnt stay here again, or recommend it. The staff were nice but the biggest let down were the rooms. Nothing special about them, tiny and boring. Recommend anyone to look around at other hotels before making a booking here! Sorry Intercontinental Lalit Mumbai!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT-Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,910 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#18 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,152 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,880 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#5 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,178 reviews
Hilton Mumbai International Airp...
#31 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Mumbai

Address: Sahar Airport Road | Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400059, India (Formerly InterContinental The Lalit Mumbai)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#49 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $127 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the reassurance, hospitality and warmth of The LaLiT Suri Hospitality Group, guests are welcomed to the perfect combination of luxury apartment style living and leading hotels services called The Residency – a modern abode of suburban living. Set against the backdrop of the vibrant life and the grandeur of Mumbai, we bring to you 21 apartment rooms that are fully furnished marvels. Fresh and modern, each residence greets you with its typical flair and style, silk cushions, vibrant colours, gorgeous upholstery, spacious bathrooms, and so much more makes The Residency one of the most desired service apartment in Mumbai. Guests can choose from the avant-garde style of one-bedroom residence, two-bedroom residence and three-bedroom residence – The combination makes The Residency an ideal extended stay hotel in Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lalit Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Lalit Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Lalit Mumbai
Hotel Intercontinental Lalit Mumbai
Hotel Lalit Mumbai
Hotel Intercontinental The Lalit Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing