We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #39 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
306 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“consistently excellent food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is excellent in every way..location,food,service although I have only eaten in the various restaurants here and never stayed here.
Recently I ate at the kebab corner here and the opinion of all diners was that the nonveg and veg kebabs were simply mouthwatering ,and exquisite.The daal,saag rotis were very good as was the gulab jamuns and rabri which ended our meal.
ofcourse there is paan too
Over kebabs you can enjoy the live indian music and the great view.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujatapant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKrishnamoorthy, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

Firstly we would like to thank you for your generous praise and time spent in writing this review for our hotel.The team at the Kebab Korner is delighted that you enjoy the food there.The Restaurant is considered one of the finest in the country for its North Indian frontier cuisine and has won many accolades over the years.

We hope you give us an opportunity to look after you when you dine at our other restaurants as well.Please feel free to contact me for any further assistance or requirements.


Warm Regards

Manas Krishnamoorthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    194
    62
    17
    28
See reviews for
94
166
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Such a good hotel, excellent location, very helpful staff. The bar up top was excellent, great view of the water and the "string of pears" You are on that marine walk so if you want to get out that is easy as well too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoapChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKrishnamoorthy, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

We appreciate your time spent in writing a review for our hotel on this forum.The team is delighted to know that you had an excellent stay and we hope to see your continued patronage not only to our hotel but to the IHG brand.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance.

Warm Regards
Manas Krishnamoorthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

very nice view from the roof , nice romms , quiet and clean .the rooms are look very new . there is sequirity check at the entrance . you can walk outside the hotel . the Gim is little bit small and with too much mirror .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofagmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKrishnamoorthy, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Thank you for your review on the tripadvisor forum.We truly value your feedback and have shared it with the team at the hotel.We hope to see you in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance.


Warm Regards
Manas Krishnamoorthy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was staying at this hotel from Jan 18-25th. I had booked a nonrefundable rate through expedia - that was my first mistyake. I was going to Mumbai for a funeral and should have booked a flexible rate. My plans changed so I requested the Hotel to help me get a refund for a shorter stay. They refused and told me I have to contact Expedia. I contacted Expedia and they bounced me back to the hotel saying that you need to work with the Hotel Manager. We did do that and spoke to the manager and he basically refused. Even though he admitted that the hotel is always fully booked and that if we checkout early he will rebook the rooms to someone else and make double the money anyway.

After much back and forth he agreed to give us one night refund for 2 rooms - which meant I still ate over $800 in costs.

Second, the internet here is horrible. They charge an exhorbitant daily fee for internet and you get ridiculously unreliable slow speeds. I have stayed in Mumbai many many times at other hotels and Internet is usually very fast, relaible and cheap. I could not believe a 5-star hotel has such issues. There are several 5 star hotels omn Marine Drive literally blocks away from this hotel that offer MUCH MUCH better service, accomodations, breakfast, and amenenties for the same price.

Breakfast at the hotel was a flop. Service was good and the people were good, but the choices and variety of items was simply not there for a 5 star.

Our room bathroom amenities were not daily replaced! Unbelievable! For a 5 star hotel they should put new amenities everyday, but they didn't until I ran out and had to call them to replace it.

I was shocked at the type of service this Intercontinental was giving me. I strongly urge all travelers to consider other hotels in the area and think twice before booking the Intercontinental Marine Drive Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive!

We thank you for your time and efforts in writing this detailed review for our hotel .At the outset, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced and allow me the opportunity to clarify certain points that you have mentioned.

Starting 1st of January internet has been offered complimentary to all IHG rewards club members irrespective of the level of their membership.Our internet speeds are at 10 MBPS which is the fastest available amongst 5 star hotels in the city of Mumbai.It is quite strange that you would say the speeds are slow as we haven't received any such feedback from our hotel guests considering majority of them are are here for business.For them high speed internet is a necessity and we have always received extremely positive feedback for this service.For guests for whom the Internet is chargeable our prices are in line and in most cases lower then hotels in our category in the city.I wish to add that you were also offered a 50 % discounted internet package which you availed of.

With regards to your booking i am afraid the rate policies are extremely clear and transparent on the websites.They list the requirements and the clauses very clearly and precisely .While we do understand from your point of view ,we would like to add that you have a range of options to choose from during the booking process to allow yourself that flexibility.The rate you booked was a highly discounted advance purchase rate which was clearly non refundable and non cancellable.This said we still went and refunded you for 2 nights on your booking as a gesture from the hotel end.

Our Hotel prides itself on the highest degree of customer satisfaction. We have fallen short of your expectations on this occasion which is of great concern to us. Would request you to kindly treat this as an exception and an aberration in our services from our side and I am confident that appropriate steps will be taken to ensure that you have a memorable stay in the future

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance

Warm Regards

Allen Machado
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was a very good experiance staying at that hotel, with a beautiful view and compcomplimentary masage. Food was the best part those who like non veg , will suggest to have Sheek kabab at kabab corner restaurant. thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilipbekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive!

We thank you for your review on this forum and we appreciate the time and effort taken to post your feedback.We have shared your review with the team members especially with the Kebab Korner team since you have high praises regarding the food there. We are glad that you had a great time during your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance


Warm Regards
Allen Machado
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmund, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Arriving from the hectic airport and the crowded roads, the hotel is an oasisi where you really can relax. Friendly people at the reception and the consierge caring for you. The rooms are newly refurbished, the location is dramatic and scenic. But the to site is the rooftop bar and the swimming pool. Here you can sit an relax after a business day or after a sight seein trip. Only the firness center could be a liitle bit bigger.
However a hotel which I can recommend at a good value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the side roads and not the Marine Drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive!

We thank you for your review on this forum and we appreciate the time and effort taken to post your feedback on this forum .We are glad that you had a great time during your stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance


Warm Regards

Allen Machado
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in September '13 and was impressed by their customer service. We picked the place because of it's location and it served us really well. The front desk staff were courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable when it came to providing suggestions on sightseeing as well as dining out. The rooms are well appointed and have an excellent view of the Arabian Sea. Breakfast buffet didn't have that great a spread, but what was available was pretty good. Try the local dish called "poha", which is a Mumbai breakfast specialty. It's not on the buffet but ask for it and you'll be in for a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on Marine Drive, with a full view of the Arabian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We appreciate the time and effort spent in writing this review for our hotel.Your words of praise and suggestions have been shared with the entire team at the hotel. We hope to see you in the near future and your continued patronage to our hotel

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance or requirements

Warm Regards

Allen Machado
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,936 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
479 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,745 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing