We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #40 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Amritsar, Punjab, India
1 review
“excellent place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was staying there with my father from 19 th aug 2013 to 21st aug 2013, The hotel staff ws helpfull And good. We were there for a bussiness meeting so the loacation was perfefect 9 town area ). I would like to advice everyone to saty there if they have work in south Mumbai.

Room Tip: always take a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amaninder_singh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

We thank you for your time in writing this feedback on the tripadvisor forum.It is delightful to hear that your father and yourself had a memorable stay and have recommended our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back shortly and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    194
    62
    17
    28
See reviews for
94
166
67
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in the earlier part of the year and were disappointed greatly by one act that overshadowed the great staff there. The one problem we had was a person lit up a cigar in the breakfast room which was clearly signed as no smoking permitted, as Indian law prohibits smoking in indoor eating areas. When we asked the staff about it that time they seemed unwilling or incapable of asking the person to cease, we were told a little later that its "OK he is the owner". Upon complaining at the desk they apologized and promised that this would never happen again. We checked out that day as we were leaving. On this trip we had a long stay arranged for 44 nights, about 2 weeks into our stay the exact same thing happened, a cigar in the breakfast room. Upon complaining we were told the same story that its a director of the hotel. We were told a number of excuses that included he had just arrived from London (I don't know what this has to do with anything) Now if it had been a guest that did not know the rules I could have lived with it, but this should have been someone who should know the rules and set the example. We checked out of the hotel 4 weeks earlier than expected and stayed at a different hotel down the road which was excellent. I was so disgusted by the behaviour and total disregard for his guests that I wrote to the intercontinental group hotel which is normally my preferred hotel, with an official complaint something that I have never done previously to this incident.
I must say that the staff are great and take a genuine interest but unfortunately I just can't stay at a hotel that seems to have two sets of rules, I believe also that the hotel does not reflect the intercontinental group's and should not use the name.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank joetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear joetas,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all experience you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Words cannot describe this hotel. It is quite amazing, and its qualities are emphasised by the fact that it is a boutique style hotel so it can impress you quickly, give you an unrivalled level of attention, and make you feel soooo good.

The hotel is smartly designed; the rooms are very comfortable and modern. There is just so much to get excited by; the large plasma televisions, the menu of pillows & duvets and the rooftop swimming pool.

An extra surprise for us came on our return to the hotel late in the evening to find the lobby throbbing with what appeared to be Mumbai’s trendy youth. They were attracted to the hotel’s ground floor vodka bar, Czar. Our early flight the next morning limited our visit here somewhat, but when we left it was bursting at the seams.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manelka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we thank you for your time and patience in posting a positive review about our hotel.The feedback has been shared with the entire team and they feel extremely proud and motivated to have enhanced every aspect of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

i traveled for my official tour . . . had a great experience all together.. scenic view of marine drive queens neckless.. the "intercontinental DOME" is awesome.. the view and the drinks... heaven like time....yes a special mention about the service..the staff is co-operating and quick as well..
a must visit place with 5 star ratings!! enjoy.. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar_Mathapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

My Team and me are delighted to know that you had a enjoyable experience and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a good hotel. Some of the details eg the shower glass screens are a bit untidily installed but this is being picky: the hotel is really very good and crucially, the staff go out of their way to be helpful. Rooms of a good standard. Wifi works perfectly. Two good quality restaurants on site. Good breakfast available. Even the lifts are prompt. I very much enjoyed staying here on business and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We thank you for sparing time to write your review on this forum.Your feedback is highly appreciated and has been shared with the entire team at the hotel.We are also delighted to know that you would recommend our hotel to your colleagues and friends and we assure you that we will do our best to look after them.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements or assistance.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Intercontinental occupies a prime location and can justifiably be called the Queen of Marine Drive - often referred to as the Queen's necklace.
One is swept into the luxury and opulence of the property as one steps into the lobby and the butler service is demonstrated impeccably as one is ushered into the room. The elegance is reflected in the black and white marble used in the room and bathroom and all the in-house appointments were of high standard. The absence of the much vaunted sea-view was not felt, owing to this being only a single night's halt, but would provide a soothing setting on a longer stay. The air-conditioning in the room was a trifle too cold and the controls did not help leading to one's switching it off as a remedy.
The bed and the choice of pillows was well thought of and instead of the customary chocolate for the night one received a set of choice Arabian dates which was a nice touch.Room service is smart although the prices are on the higher side.Breakfast was served at the lobby level where the settting converts itself into Koh, a Thai restaurant which is establishing quite a reputation for itself. Dome, the nightclub lounge on the rooftop, is another attraction at the Intercontinental.
Altogether an attractive and alluring hotel beckons to travellers on Marine Drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vayudoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

We thank you for sparing your valuable time to post this review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and have shared it with the entire team at the hotel.We are glad that we have exceeded your expectations on this visit and we hope to do the same in your continued visits.

Looking forward to your next stay and please do not hesitate to get in touch with me for any further requirements.

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed one night there recently and my son stayed for four nights.

This bijou Intercontinental hotel on Marine Drive, Colaba is much smaller than a lot of other hotels in this chain but was the more intimate, personal and friendly for it. We had a room on the top floor which was beautifully laid out with great facilities and fittings. Our view was a side view rather than the view over the Arabian Sea but that didn't matter a lot as it was in the monsoon season.

The staff were wonderfully friendly and very kindly kept an eye on my son who arrived there early and unexpectedly. We didn't have dinner there as we eat out nearby but the breakfast was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed a free massage that was supplied as a courtesy by the hotel (which was great to help get over jetlag) and had a quick swim in the rooftop swimimg pool next to the Dome restaurant - while not a large pool it was ideal for a quick refreshing dip and an unwind.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel - it may not be in the centre of town but transport is so cheap. The staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room with a sae view though it will obvioucly cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the intercontinental Marine drive

Thank you for taking some time off and posting your review on Tripadvisor.We are glad that you had a memorable stay and we thank you for the kind words of appreciation.We have shared your feedback with the team and they are pleased to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.Please do not hesitate to contact me for further requirements and assistance

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,930 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
479 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,740 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Property: InterContinental Marine Drive
Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing