We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't believe, that you are in India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #45 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was so much pleasantly surprised! Really nice hotel, small, boutique, nicely designed. Traditional welcome ceremony during check-in to give you some local touch. Specious rooms with many high-tech features, very specious marble bath rooms wih separate bath-tub and shower. But what is the best - it is Dom Bar on the roof top with delicious food, good service, relaxing music and stunning view to the sea side. Something like that you will expect somewhere else but not in India.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kvitochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive!!

We thank you for taking your valuable time off to write this review on the tripadvisor forum.The entire team at the hotel joins me in thanking you for your feedback.We are delighted to know that our property,service and our employees have left you with such a favorable impression about our hotel and our beautiful country.

We hope to see you return one day and look forward to you staying with us soon.Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Marine Drive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 668 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time staying at this hotel in the last 4 years. My wife and I stayed here with friends in November 2012. The location is fabulous, right on Marine drive with a great view of the Bay and the City. There is an outstanding rooftop lounge and the service is second to none. The concierge is very helpful and the staff at the lounge is outstanding. The restaurant is excellent as well and I would advise the bed and breakfast rate as the breakfast buffet is very nice and they will happily make some hot Indian breakfasts for you as well. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights as well and it was very good. It is an expensive hotel but still good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojo030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

It is always a pleasure having you stay with us and we thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.We are delighted to know that you have always had enjoyable stays at our hotel.

Your heartfelt words of praise have been shared with the entire team which i am sure will motivate them to scale greater heights of excellence.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements and we hope to see you once again in the near future

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good modern rooms ask for one with a view. Mine was well equipped a good size and very comfortable. Hotel pool on roof is excellent. The roof bar in the evening must be one of the top places to go for romance.
Eat in the grill too. Excellent curry, but the head waiter is what really makes it. It is a pleasure to be served by him.
I did not try the downstairs restaurant but by all accounts even better
The chef made an off the menu biriyani for me. Excellent!
Overlooks the bracelet so top location and easy for business too.
Their recommendation for dinner was great but get very detailed directions......!
My colleagues in the taj were envious of my choice

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank marcopolo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive

We thank you for your valuable time and review on this forum and we are glad that you had a lovely stay at our hotel.Your gracious comments have been shared with the team at the hotel and they are delighted and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards

Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a hard time finding reasonably priced hotels in Mumbai. Most of the budget and mid-range lodgings I saw listed scared me away because of inconsistent reviews, or too many people alerting us to 'bad odors', etc... So although our travel style often stays in the mid-range or budget class, we decided to splurge and stay here, at the Intercontinental. We got a great deal on hotwire.com, and it was great to stay in a 5-star type hotel.

The location is amazing. The room has the most comfortable bed and pillows. We got a good dinner recommendation from the concierge. The only area where we felt they came up a little short was the front desk service, although this was sometimes good.
Our hotel voucher clearly stated that a free breakfast was included in our booking. We were even told this by the desk as we checked in. The next morning, as we went down the restaurant, our names were not on the free breakfast list. The front desk said we were not entitled to this and wanted a printed copy even when we showed them a pdf file from our phone. The finally gave in when showed a printed copy. Then they only gave it to two of the three paying guests. The breakfast buffet was very nice, but the hassle we had to go through to get two included breakfasts (when I think we all should have been included) left a bad aftertaste to a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeludelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations.

In regards to the confusion regarding the breakfast inclusive rate we have done a complete investigation and have taken this up very strongly with the 3rd party website which provided you with incorrect information regarding amenities included in your room rate.We apologize for the inconvenience you had to go through in relation to the miscommunication and we request you not to hold this against the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed in the other hotels at Marine Drive, this is one hotel which has incredible views of the ocean. The most courteous staff who are extremely willing to help,in fact the concierge even made reservation at a popular Mumbai restaurant called Trishna though it was a busy weekend. The in rooms spa was fantastic. the thai restaurant Koh was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel needs a bit of refurbishment the interiors look primitive. Dome is amazing...one should go their in the evening to enjoy the view and the bar. Breakfast is awful..the quality of croissants and the spread does not reflect the spread at Oberoi which is a few meters away and the rooms rates (inc of breakfast)are similar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.Often guests choose not to give this feedback to us and we lose the opportunity to correct our processes and I am truly grateful for the time and effort that you have taken to share this with us.

We have reviewed your comments with the team at the hotel and we are already in the process of refurbishing certain areas for a better guest experience.We thoroughly apologize for the inconvenience that you faced at breakfast and we shall ensure immediate rectification of the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel! Ideal location for exploring Mumbai, great rooms, helpful staff, lovely pool and the extra special touches which really made our stay special.

Our room was amazing, huge and a fab view of marine drive (the only think was the window was really dirty, but this was the same across India so maybe they don't bother to clean their windows like we do!) the bed was huge and was so comfortable which was just what we needed after a long flight. There were some cookies in the room for us and we each had a complimentary massage which was lovely. The bathroom was also huge and full of lovely smelly products for us to use. You could request different aromatherapy oils to put in oil burner to help you sleep and the chocolates on our bed each night were also a very nice touch.

The front staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the thai resturant in the hotel one night. The food was good but not amazing. The resturant was pretty empty so we have in the undivided attention if our waiter. This got abigail much actually but he was just trying to be good at his job.

The pool is lovely as is the roof top bar. There seemed to be parties on at the roof top bar each night we sated there which meant the pool closed early at 3pm each day which was a shame but we did get get invited to the parties which was fun! Breakfast wasn't up to scratch really. It was standard/ok but we would have expected more from this standard of hotel.

Overall we loved this hotel and would love to stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niffaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed end of Jan and early Feb. The room was comfortable and clean except maybe they should clean the bathroom/toilet more than just a going over for longer term stayers, we were there for nearly two weeks. The price of drinks are expensive. Quality of the food for breakfast was poor compared to other hotels of this class, ordered the all american hotdog and it looked like a child of 6 could have made it.
Also it looks as rules only apply to some as we were in the corleone for breakfast which is suposed to be non smoking as are all the eating places but one morning there was a man smoking a cigar there, when we questioned the staff we got the response "its OK he is the owner" and the staff seemed embarressed and incapable of asking him to move outside to smoke. Very dissapointing in this day and age.
But overall the service was good friendly although the wait staff at corleone may need more training
The air conditioning seems to go out during early morning possibly to conserve energy but wakes you up hot needing to take covers of

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,090 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#29 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,379 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#75 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
483 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,869 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#4 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#39 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $153 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing