We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Marine Drive
Ranked #46 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Intercontinental as the first stop on a 4 week trip to India. Tried to book the Taj Palace but it was booked and we were recommended this Hotel.

The hotel is a modern five star. Rooms are huge and very comfortable (you pay for it!) and my kids enjoyed the fact that there was a pillow and quilt menu. They used a different one every night (they said the silk quilts were the best).
Only complaint was the the high tech lighting system which needs a room key (a small electronic pass) to switch on. Make sure to ask for two since the lights switch off after a few minutes without the key in the slot. don't loose it since they are $20 to replace.
Service was excellent, not the best in India, but certainly first class. Restaurants were very good but also very expensive as was the internet service (250 rupees for one hour, standard for five star hotels in India) During the rest of the trip I used internet cafes available everywhere for 20 rupees/ hr .
Best ice cream ever is available on the next block (turn left). We also ordered takeaway from a Mumbai institution, Gaylords, two blocks away and ate dinner in our rooms when we came back exhausted from tours.
India was wonderful but exhausting. A comfortable hotel and great service allows for a quick recovery!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Imshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 675 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2008

After looking at reviews here at trip advisor we decided to stay at the Intercontinental Marine drive for our first 2 days in Mumbai. As arranged in advance we were met by a hotel driver at the airport. The transfer was without any problems and we were offered drinks on the way free of charge. Upon arrival at the hotel we were taken straight to or room and this was where all formalities were taken care of. It was the first time I have checked into a hotel without stopping at the front desk first. The lady meeting us took all our passport information and wrote down my credit card number, and that was it. We got a room with a partial sea view that was facing into a side street and a building that looked like it had not seen a drop of paint since the 40’s. That however is something that goes for most buildings in Mumbai. Our room was very spacious and had all the amenities we needed. 42 Inch plasma TV’s separate shower, tub, relaxing chair and working table. We could also order extra pillows of different varieties and this was a cool touch.. The room was clean and nice with the exception of the window which in return looked like it had never been washed.
We had great service from the staff during the entire stay and felt really well taken care of. The front desk/concierge all went way out of their way to show us where to go on maps etc.
The roof top pool was rented out most of the time we were there and this was a big disappointment. We only got to use it once because the entire roof w restaurant was rented out to some sort of event. I got the impression that this was very common and from reading previous reviews this hotel is very oriented on drawing in affluent locals to their facilities. On out last night there were events going on both on the roof and at some facility in the basement. The worst thing about this is that most of the hotels facilities are not available for the guests. This was really irritating; I had especially been looking forward to relaxing on the roof since this was the only outdoor area of the hotel. We ate dinner at the Kebab restaurant in the hotel on out first night and this was very good. Breakfast was only so and not all that appetizing. We visited the bar a few times and it vas cool, but also more geared towards the local in crowd than the guests staying there. In summary I would say this is a very nice hotel, it is small with only 65 or so rooms and has nice facilities, but they are very often occupied by events and thus not available to hotel guests. When paying almost USD 400 a night I expect to be able to use the pool and rooftop restaurant.

One note in conclusion. I booked at the intercontinental website and the rate reserved was 351 USD + 35 USD Luxury tax. However, when I checked out I was presented a bill in IND Rupees 16 149 + 1649 Tax. I did not think more of this until I came home and discovered that the USD equivalent of this charge was 410 USD + 41 USD. I was actually overcharged by 65 Dollars pr night due to some wild exchange rate. I have double checked and sendt a letter to Intercontinental Hotels asking for a refund of the difference. I hope it is a mistake on the hotels part, because otherwise this is a serious rip off. Be Aware!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank M747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

Just when i thought That everything on our trip could go wrong.The one right thing we did was to book the hotel for 2 nights on the weekend.The staff was exceptionally warm and understood our needs well.The front desk manager was there to greet us at the main porch and we were taken up to our room imemediately without having to go through the hassle of waiting in the lobby area(it was like they knew that we had a torrid time in GOA and our flight to mumbai was horrible!!)

the room was a delight,very large and comfortable at the same time furnished with everything that you might require,they even have an aroma pot for use now thats something really different and the best part is its complimentary.

The food is very very good,try out the kebabs and curries restaurant on the first floor and the rooftop dome the view is just spectacular.Only thing was that the buffet breakfast selection was not upto the mark.

The butlers and front desk staff were a delight,even though i could see a lot of activity at the desk they patiently spoke to me giving me the time and explaning some good places to shop for jewellery(im getting married next month)i dont remember the persons name but he was really helpful.

All in all i would love to be back cause i thought i did not get enough time to spend here.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank redzodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

There are many good things about this Intercontinental. The rooms are comfortable and stylish with interesting design features such as the glass enclosed bath. The views of the Arabian sea and the Marine Drive promenade are breathtaking. The rooftop pool and lounge are spectacular and the breakfasts very good. I enjoyed the Marine Drive location, which allows you to take a bit of a breather from the insanity that is the rest of Mumbai; others might argue that it is less central than other hotels, but you can still walk virtually everywhere from the Intercontinental, and joining the morning and evening walkers on the promenade was one of the highlights of this visit.

Easily the weakest feature was the service, particularly the front desk and concierge. We were consistently disappointed in the concierge's inability to give us useful and coherent information. We also had a problem with our bill when we checked out - they charged us a rate different than our confirmed Travelocity rate, saying that Travelocity should have informed us that that rate was unavailable. On finally speaking with the manager, he agreed to refund the difference, as we had already paid before noticing the discrepancy, though only by a wire transfer into our checking account (I am not sure whether this occurred)

We stayed at the Taj Mahal Palace for the second half of our trip, and I think that splitting the time between these two styles and locales worked out well for us. If I had to pick one, would probably go with the Taj (make sure you're in the Palace!)

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank entrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Booked here for 2 nights, to recharge the batteries, and having read the reviews, absolute disgrace, we were given a room on the 7th floor,
this was us$500 a night, all we heard all night was the music and people moving their chairs around from the bar upstairs, the duty manager did not really empathise and felt we were sensitive to noise, and he had never heard any complaints prior to ours, this is a bit of a party hotel, we got a knock at the door at 1 am with a drunk who had
got the wrong room!...we did laugh....i did kick up a fuss...got upgraded the next night but it was still pretty noisy on the 6th floor....i will never stay here again..although further out stay at the the JW Marriott, and get yourself an Executive Room...same price
....so much better

Stayed: November 2007
13  Thank Ubiquitouschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Oh wow. The location, service and room layouts (get a Suite, you will be stunned by the view) are as good as a hotel will get. Sure, the roof bar is overpriced and given the room rate, there should be a free breakfast included, but those are small issues. I've stayed in the Taj and various other fancy Mumbai hotels, and nothing comes close to this.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank pcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

As other reviews have said this is a stylish boutique hotel. I could not fault the rooms or service. However last night music is a problem especially when you are travelling with a 19 month old baby and do not wish to be up listening to the music at 1am.

We arrived on Sat 17 November and were given a room on the 6 th floor. At 11pm whilst attempting to get to sleep we could hear beating music and bass coming from the 8th floor roof top bar which is open every night until 1:30 am. As if this was not bad enough there was also music coming through the ceiling form the suite on the floor above. After 90 minutes of speaking to the duty manager the music was not stopped and we had enough. We cancelled our 3 night stay and were taken down the road the Hilton Towers and were given a room which was not surrounded by an in house nightclub. Having to leave a hotel at 1am with a baby is not acceptable especially as we had booked into a 5 star hotel (not a nightclub). Whilst leaving the hotel at 1am we had to walk through the nightclub in the lobby.

The loud last night music is not acceptable for an expensive 5 star hotel. The management need to have more control over guests and their own in house bar/nightclub to ensure guests are allowed to sleep without having to put up with loud music.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank richard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#74 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
#11 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,903 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Address: 135 Marine Drive Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#28 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#40 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $178 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel
Intercontinental Bombay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing