We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and soothing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Mary Church

Mount Mary Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.00*
and up
Private Tour: Customizable Mumbai Sightseeing Including Elephanta Caves or...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is a beautiful Roman Catholic Church which is very famous for the week-long Bandra fair which takes place here every year in September.
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful and soothing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I personally didnt quite enjoy my stay in Mumbai as I found it to be quite crowded and dirty.This place offered a welcome respite.A quaint little church set atop a hill where pilgrims come to pray and worship.I felt immediately at peace.A wonderful place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The Heritage G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    392
    54
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very good religious and holy place to be when in Mumbai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The crowd coming to this holy place is astounding.. with various people of different religion and belief makes a sure visit to this place once in six months. The surrounding locality is a high end area of Mumbai having bungalows of film stars (chances of meeting them is high), highrise buildings and the sea opposite WOW.. its an excellent place of visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rajath333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must visit as she heals n listens.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been visiting Mount Mary Church for many years now with my mother. However my faith in her was strengthened in 2010. I had a horrid year and I reached out to her during her fair. Surprisingly just placing my problem with her and talking to her healed my heart and made me look at life positively again. Will continue visiting every year and advise others too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RashmiVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a must go !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The place and structure! Just avoid talking to some of the nuns there..they are grumpy at times!They fight tooth at nail at some things.was sitting out there and as usual a dog came up to me and was playing.a nun comes up and the way she starts fighting that i thought ' shucks...if nuns are like this, i dont wanna be one!'

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Animalover911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serene and Meditative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here number of times. Best time to visit the church when it is not crowded. It is just so peaceful. You feel so meditative. I avoid going during the Bandra fair though, it is too crowded and messy. The architecture of the church is so beautiful that you wonder how it must have been built so many years back without the modern infrastructure. On the opposite side, you climb up the stairs towards the grotto and you can just lean over and see the Arabian sea. The view is so beautiful. I love going to this church, feel it would grant you your every wish and if not the wish, you come back, feeling good and restful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mary Church also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Mount Mary Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing