We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap place to just sleep”
Review of India Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
India Guest House
Ranked #13 of 419 Mumbai B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This place seems to be the only cheap place in Mumbai. The location is amazing, in a central area near the bay, 5 minutes walk to taj mahal Palace, markets and other sights. The staff were helpful and courteous.
The shared bathrooms are new and really clean (not just 'Indian clean') and we're numerous enough that I never had issues with getting to use one. However, the single room was ridiculously tiny, with just a single bed against the wall and a small desk and enough space to move/get dressed. The guesthouse is at the 4th storey so it's a work out to get upstairs, and with the walls not reaching the ceiling, noise became an issue for me when I was trying to sleep at 7pm.
All in all though, for one night stay it's cheap enough that you'll suffer through the tiny room so that you'll be in the heart of Mumbai's most beautiful area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Kareeza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This place unfortunately was very average. The only real reason to stay is because of the price.

The rooms are extremely basic and don't provide much comfort, and the hotel has a strange layout.

However, if you're backpacking and only looking for a place to rest your head, then this May suit on a small budget

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank NateLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

India Guest House was a good choice at Colaba. Near the Mumbai India Gate, the hostel stays close the main builds and touristic zone at Mumbai. Colaba is a "island" at the city, clean and organized.

The hostel has a good cost-benefit. However, a IMPORTANT TIP: at the summer, prepare yourself for hot nights! India Guest House don't have AC, just fans.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatheusGraciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fans in the room without windows are pretty ineffectual and make the rooms incredibly stuffy and hot. Also the lack of ceilings means that if other people have their lights on, this can keep you awake. No wifi. The bathrooms however are really nice especially by Indian standards!

Room Tip: Get a window room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mf271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I will keep this very simple , my second visit to Mumbai was only overnight so I choose the most budget option which was India guest house .

It has bare as bones rooms, simply small single beds, a fan and a tiny table, rooms are dorm style with open roofs and thin walls separating each room , there is a shared bathroom which is very clean and tidy... and modern compared to the rooms .

Rooms are very claustrophobic , and can heat up even with a fan , so if you don't like small places, dont choose here or opt for a window room which will cost you 100 rps extra per night .

We payed 500 rps for a dbl room, no window .

It is a great budget option, perhaps the cheapest in Mumbai , it is in an awesome location, close to shops, cafes, bars, etc and 5 mins walk to the gateway of India, 30 mins walk to the beach , and approximately 10 min drive from the main train station, I think its a good option for short stay but I personally couldnt stay longer than a few days .

Also no WiFi , but staff are friendly and helpfull and will help you find internet cafes or anything else you may need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funsine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are very simple but all in all clean with modern shared bathrooms – good price-quality ratio. The location is great – close to a typical Indian market and the main tourist sights, like the Gateway of India, the ferries to Elephanta Island and the famous Leopold Cafe. If you are lucky, you even get a room with seaside view. I have been there twice and would always come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principessadiviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind bug beds, this is a great option.
I was going to stay here. Finding the place was the first problem. The guy at reception wasn't able to explain how to reach the hotel and their location on google maps is wrong - all he needed to say was opposite the radio club. Most taxi drivers know where this is and it's on google maps.
You have to lug your bags up 4 flights of stairs to get to the reception - not the end of the world for a budget hotel.
The problem arrived for me when I looked at the bed. There were small bed bugs crawling all over both of the beds in my room. I asked to see another room and both of them were infested too.
There seemed to be a lot of people staying there that didn't mind the bed bugs. I didn't want to take the risk. Couldn't stand the idea of having bed bugs in my bag for the rest of the trip so I stay in the hotel upstairs (Sea shore hotel) for twice as much (900rs for a double). It was very clean. Also has shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#81 of 463 in Mumbai
649 reviews
Marine Drive
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#74 of 463 in Mumbai
485 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Elphinstone Annexe
Colaba
Abode Bombay
Abode Bombay
#1 of 419 in Mumbai
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India Guest House

Address: Kamal Mansion 1/49 India Guest House Arthur Bunder Road | Colaba, Mumbai 400005, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 419 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai
Price Range: $84 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing