We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Searching hotels in Mumbai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of India Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
India Guest House
Ranked #11 of 369 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
“Searching hotels in Mumbai”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Dear sis,,

This is just to find out best hotels in Mumbai/India within June 2013,,
for two person 3 night, single room , two beds,

with Breakfast, internet, swimming pool,, Islamic food

K.R



MAJED A.SAFANI

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    35
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
24
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istra, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

stay here. Admittedly, it is a budget guest house AND you get what you pay for. Be aware that Mumbai is quite expensive. However, after having traveled a couple of months in India, I was not prepared for the low standard lodging offered here. The Sea Shore Hotel, located on the floor above, is much similar BUT has a check in time of 10pm (at least that is what we were informed). The advertised price (600R) adds up to around 1000 with taxes (again, this is what we were told when booking our room...however, this could also be because our taxi driver was waiting hand out for his commission). I found the staff to be rude as well. To end on a positive note, it is located within walking distance of the Gate of India.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceloveandhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Sooo cheap for Mumbai but very basic. No windows so air doesn't circulate so the room is like a sauna! Almost unbearable to sleep. No roof on top of each room so you can hear everything that everyone is doing - including packing for trains at 4am!
Bathrooms are new and clean though and the rooms are also very clean.
We paid 500rupees which is really good for Mumbai.
If your on a budget, this is a great option if you have air plugs and don't mind sweating away all night.
Great location to markets and Gatewy to India.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We're budget travellers so with the cost of accommodation in Mumbai higher than anywhere in India we opted to stay at India guest house, which offers the cheapest accommodation in the city. You get what you pay for relative to everywhere else in Mumbai. Staff are friendly and shared bathrooms are clean, but the rooms resemble the inside of a cupboard, without proper walls. You have to see it to believe it but the partitioned walls between the walls don't touch the ceiling, so light and noise spills over from your neighbours, We had a room with no window down the end of the corridor which proved to be stuffy and not nice when your neighbours smoked at 2am. If we were to visit Mumbai again, even on the same budget we'd pay more to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm traveling with a friend and we found this guesthouse, I guy on the street found us and showed us.
We have stayed here one night and will stay 3 more nights.
This is a good place for travelers and tourist, its only 500m to the famous Gateway of India.
(Almost only tourist stay here)

The whole day there will be at least one person thats working here. Nighttime one guy is sleeping at the place of the entrence. There is around 20 rooms and everyone share the 4 bathrooms.
In our opinion the guesthouse is very clean (bedheats, rooms, stairs) buts not the best you can imagine.

If you're not afraid of living close to people, listing to what people are saying, this is a very good place.
There very small rooms with no "own" roof, only walls. because of this it could be alot of sounds, so earplugs is a good thing to have if you are sleeping here. There's no AC rooms but all rooms have fan thats very good.
They have 3 different rooms.
singleroom is 400 rupees
Doubleroom 500 ru.
Doubleroom with window 600 ru.

There's no Wifi.
They have waching service, you will pay 20 ru. per item.
you can order breakfast for les then 50 ru.
You can get filtered water for free at the entrence so you don't need to buy that.
They want to help you with taxi, but as alot of people i think they will try to cheap you and take alot more money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Limtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

India Guest House is a great location, very central to India Gateway, the Taj hotel, shopping ,food and only a 15 minute walk to Churchgate. The rooms and especially the shared bathroom (which was just recently renovated) are kept very clean. The staff is very sweet and helpful, most of the staff is from Nepal but have been working Mumbai for many years. It is also easy to meet people at the guesthouse because there is a very tiny lobby where people can hang out. I stayed in Mumbai for 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay at the guest house especially chatting with the staff. If your friendly to them than they will do anything to help you out.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in at the very end of the hallway have windows, ask for those. Also dont it expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsmall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharatpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It really is only a place for back packers to sleep because it is cheep for Mumbai standards but the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. It's not far from the India Gate this is a good place to tell the cab driver, they really don't have a clue half the time but thats maybe my fault for not speaking Marathi/Hindi. Above India Guest House there is another guesthouse but try India Guest House as this one is over prced

Room Tip: Ask for the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uelmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#83 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
617 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,513 reviews
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,183 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,779 reviews
Bentley's Hotel
#156 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India Guest House

Property: India Guest House
Address: Kamal Mansion 1/49 India Guest House Arthur Bunder Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing