We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Absurd attitude”
Review of Cafe Mangii

Cafe Mangii
Ranked #199 of 14,722 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Cafe Mangii at Powai is a strange mix of things. They have some good pizzas and they taste well, The soups are very good and must be tried.
However i was surprized at the attitude of the ushers and waiting staff. Completely expressionless. When we genuinely asked how are the vegetarian and non vegetarian food prepared (my wife is a vegetarian) he looked as if he was writing an IAS exam and answered as if we were people just off the smallpox disease. it is as normal a question as any else for those who visit mixed restaurants particularly those who also serve sea food as they may be averse to the smell.

One can't just serve good food with a dustbin attitude and expect to be good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cassiopaeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangiicafes, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Mangii, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Cafe Mangii and sharing your feedback with us.We are so glad you loved our food.While we appreciate the positive feedback you shared for our food, we apologize for the bitter experience you had on the service part. Answering your query,we do prepare veg-non veg food separately but in identified pans and not in common, keeping in mind different food allergies/restrictions.
Thank you.
Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being a vegetarian, Italian is one of my favourite cuisines after Indian but having had authentic Italian in various parts of Europe I have not been impressed with Italian restaurants in India....until Mangii! I am sure at the higher end there might be extremely good Italian restaurants in India but Mangii while definitely not cheap is still an affordable place in the medium high range.
The plan was for 4 gals to go there for lunch but it ended up being a reunion of sorts of my school pals and we had a blast. Red wine Sangria started us off....it could have had a few more fruit varieties, had mostly orange but was still perfect for the weather.
Our meal was all vegetarian.
For appetisers we ordered the crostini with Garlic and another with the fig spread and there was almost not enough to go around!
We ordered variety of pizza and pasta for mains. The pizza was thin crust and perfect and the pasta was al dente and sauces well flavoured.
Although we ordered desserts I did not taste any and the Tiramisu did not look very authentic but I could be wrong.
Hygiene and ambience are perfect, the staff is courteous and interactive if you are. The food is awesome. Cant wait to go back there again.....
I will wiat for one more visit before I go with the highest rating for them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangiicafes, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Mangii, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Cafe Mangii and for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to have served you and to have kept up to your expectations. Will certainly share your feedback with the team.
Have a great day! Please do visit us again :)
Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have visited Cafe Mangii a couple of times in the last few months. They have an excellent selection of pizzas. Service is attentive. Prices are a bit high for an average person but then this restaurant is positioned as a classy cafe

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cool_satchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangiicafes, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Mangii, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Cafe Mangii and for sharing your thoughts. We are glad you had a great time. Looking forward to your next visit :)
Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a very bad experience today for breakfast. Extremely pathetic service. No water till 20 minutes that too after asking for it. First only waffles served without coffee for wife. Then two coffees served (not warm enough). After half an hour omelet served with white bread cold toast instead of brown bread asked for. Not recommended at all!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pananavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangiicafes, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Mangii, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Pananavati,

We are extremely sorry about the inconvenience that you had to face at our restaurant.We would like to have a word with you on the same.Kindly send us your contact details to customerservice@mangiicafes.com and we shall get in touch with you at the earliest.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had Cafe Mangii on our list for quite some time. Unfortunately, whenever we tried visiting the Khar outlet, we met with rejection due to long waiting or private parties. Then one day we decided to visit the Powai one. Little did we know that it would have us hooked! I usually like to try out new places every time we go out, and I rarely visit a restaurant more than twice. Cafe Mangii has been an exception.

It's a wonderful feeling to be seated outside in open air (provided you can ignore the din of the traffic) and be served with care and affection. Yes, their service levels have gone down a little bit (it has become slower than usual) but that still doesn't deter us.

Food is excellent and makes you forget the wait. The wood fired pizzas live up to the hype and beat it too. I love the stuffed chicken breast and it has been my usual order on each visit. Their drinks (my better half loves the Guava mocktail) are top notch and so are the desserts (special mention to the chocolate coated strawberries).

I would think that sitting outside on the wooden deck, on a cool winter evening, Cafe Mangii does have the power to transport you to the real Italy!

Thank The_Young_Monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangiicafes, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Mangii, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thanks a lot for your kind words. We are glad you had a great time. Shall definitely share your comments with the team. Please do visit us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mangii also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Cafe Mangii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing