We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere!”
Review of The Big Nasty

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Big Nasty
Ranked #2,232 of 14,583 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The place is an ordinary cafe in the city! But the atmosphere and vibe is great, the dj played some nice tracks. Even on a Tuesday night it was relatively full and was lively! The food is average and drinks are priced not very steeply. On weekends they act pricey for people to get it, but its not worth waiting in line and/or paying any entry for this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Punit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun in the Garage”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Went recently with my wife (her birthday) around 2030 via the zig-zag road (negotiating the curves & hairpins at 30). The emptiness of the spot befuddled us and we had to call our contact to reassure that the crowd will pick up soon. And yes we had our drinks/ food etc well served before the craziness descended around us. The ambience is a mix of Garage & steel factory with a good measure of concrete thrown to withstand the crowd. At 11 pm we felt bad that we were the only couple who had a good seating spot. But to Management's credit, no waiter requested us to part with our comfortable 4 seater or pressurized us into billing. "Elbow-to-Elbow" would be an accurate description of this place. The best thing about this place is the mix of people - prolific, egoistic, chilled out. We saw many actors (movies/TV), national selector cricket, a tibetan monk, industrialists, 20s through 50s, germans, english, american and other unique characters (capital C).

Food is good - try the burger for sure (reasonably priced drinks, good appetizer). Try not to order anything complex beyond 10 pm, a simple basket of fries is your best bet. Be ready to spend 10-15 minutes to drive out of the locality that has many stellar joints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lvlakshman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great music, good ambiance, pathetic service”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Big Nasty is a good place to hang-out, no matter which day of the week. Its peppy, bright with music that will make you enjoy your drink just a wee bit more. The food is good- if its delivered! Problem is the servers, they just don't care to serve people, are arrogant and in general don't seem all that interested in selling the food to you unlike most other places. Twice, I have actually waited to be served main course and it never arrived. Also, the concrete seating isn't all that great...but then, you are more likely to be on your feet with the music anyway...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a blast”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) visited Big Nasty on 11th May and we loved it. Initially it was difficult to get a table as it was Saturday night (10 pm), however we managed to get two stools. We stayed there till the end and enjoy the food, drinks and the crowd. For starters we had the prawns, chicken meat ball and paneer and mushroom chips - these 3 were nice. Towards the end we ordered the beef chilly which was average.

Towards the end of the night many girls were dancing on the tables :-)

We will be going to Big Nasty again for sure...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGJidyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A rather great drinking well”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to this place with my cousins. Reached early around 8ish we had a table booked. To our surprise the manager agreed on a deal of a bottle rather ordering pegs.

Nice food, very good ambience, nice bar spread (but few cocktails were not on menu), nice crowd (seems a favourite for quite a few TV personalities) the DJ has a good taste ups the mood as the night goes by changing the music

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IamOpium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Nasty also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Navi Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay)
 

Been to The Big Nasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing