We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills only Food, GREAT Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shree Thaker Bhojanalay

Shree Thaker Bhojanalay
Ranked #5 of 14,440 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“No Frills only Food, GREAT Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

There is absolutely nothing fancy about this place. Situated in a difficult to find location this place does not boast of regular patrons but regular generations of patrons.

They require no advertisements or reviews. Their food speaks for them. Authentic Gujarati food served with love. For the serving staff the patrons to the Bhojanalay are not paying customers but valued guests. They will plod you to have a little more or everything till you beg them to stop serving you.

Get out your Google Maps find this place and experience it for yourself. You will not walk away disappointed. I guarantee, you will lead your progeny here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    236
    34
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unlimited wholesome pure Veg Gujrati Thalis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If yu want to eat and go straight to sleep, please visit this place. The cuisine is typical Gujarati, and pure veg. The moment they observe that a particular item in your thali ( plate) is over, they come back and serve you kore. Very fast service. They serve you till you stay STOP. PLEASE STOP.
very simple seating, no frills, and no wasting of time. By the time you adjust your butts in your seat, their service has started.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Feroze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“simply great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had read so much about this on TA that we came all the way from the airport to eat here. Locating it was not too tough- the taxi can get you to the dadi seth agiary lane from where everyone knows about it.
The people who run it are so dedicated- how can anything go wrong? The head of the family, the old Gujarati man told us that he had been running this place for 65 years! I think the only thing that has changed since then must have been the air conditioning!
The food is to die for.
I can never have Gujarathi food anywhere else now- unless of course it is Agasthiya in Ahmedabad. (the latter is very expensive by comparison)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepMp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best and unforgettable taste of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Someone jus recommeded us to visit this restaurant and try their food but without any hopes or expectations, I happened to land here with my family. We were awestruck with the quality and the taste of food. I love trying food from different places but none could ever give me this experience of unforgettable taste. Right from the start, till the end, everything which was served, was unique. Post that, I visited this place twice within 3 days stay of Mumbai. Must try restaurant..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunilsurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The ultimate thali place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you love thalis, this is the place to go!

Located in South Mumbai, this restaurant serves awesome (veg)thali (make sure u have an appetite to match!). Always crowded especially on Sundays but worth the wait.

The building in which this place is located may look a bit dingy but the restaurant is well made up + airconditioned. Service is quick.

Do check it out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maleka131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shree Thaker Bhojanalay also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Shree Thaker Bhojanalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing