We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$301
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$145
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$236
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sofitel Mumbai BKC(Mumbai)
$115
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$113
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveler rating
464
257
46
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
257
46
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiranandani gardenstiara restaurantpowai areawelcome drinkbusiness triprooftop poolbusiness hoteltop floorbreakfast spreadexcellent hotelbusiness districtan upgradefive star hotelhousekeeping staffrooms are comfortableairport pickfood quality
Filter
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 792 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is new hotel in Hiranandani business park area. If you are business traveler, having office or customers in / around Powai - Hiranandani business park area, then you may consider this as one of the top choice among other available around the powai lake.

For the given corporate / individual package, they provide airport pickup & drop. Rooms are great, fully furnished with big LCD TV & cozy comfortable beds. Bath rooms are equipped with all amenities of good quality.

Breakfast is very good and elaborated having perfect balance of Indian & Continental cuisine.

You need to buy internet package (not free).

I saw couple of restaurants, haven't had chance to try out as moved out next morning.

I would recommend to stay at this hotel , they are not affiliated to any airline or club yet (so will have to give a pass if you counting on miles)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naimish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities of hotel. Based on the numerous request we have received at our hotels we are in the process of launching a loyalty program which should be done by the end of March. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at the Meluha before while it was under construction, but I felt it was not fair to rate it at that time. I recently stayed there from December 9th through the 15th, 2011.

Now that the hotel is fully together and the staff fully trained, it was a truly pleasurable experience. During my recent stay, I had the two bed version room that they offer, it was quite spacious, ample bathroom, clean, comfy beds, chocolates at turn down the sheets time, and all the little flourishes one expects from a five star hotel (e.g. complimentary tea or coffee and cookies at check in, complimentary box of chocolates and bowl of fruit/nut mix on the night before check out).

The Good:
- Nice neighborhood, very clean, nice selection of restaurants, next door to a supermarket.
- 99% of staff have a great conversational English level.
- Large flat screen TV, with on-screen channel guide, and a huge variety of channels.
- Great Tea.
- Bedtime chocolates were tasty and wrapped in a drawstring felt pouch each evening.
- High thread-count sheets, always clean, on a nice comfy bed- not Asian hard and not mushy soft.
- Nice towels and assorted toiletries in the bathroom.
- Really hot water if you need it, powerful water pressure, and eco-flush toilets that were powerful.
-Nice mood lighting in the toom.
- Speedy, hassle free internet that included free Wi-Fi connectivity if you paid for in-room internet.
- Nice assortment of restaurants within a two block radius walking distance.

The Cons:
- That one has to pay for in-room internet in this day & age. They should really roll that into your room price.
- The lighting in the bathroom cast a lot of shadows, which proved challenging when shaving. If I was a female and had to put make-up on, I would probably be fit to be tied.
- The set up for the bathroom stall leaked a lot of water onto the tile floor (room #216). The design could have been better with a more robust seal system and additional pane of glass in the exposed corner of the shower stall. You end up needing to use a bath towel as an additional rug to prevent from slipping.
- Brown water once for 5 seconds on a Saturday morning with no prioir warning calls from the staff about any water problems. The water smelled like septic tank. Be warned to turn on the shower when you are mot standing under it, just in case that ever happens again.
- No HDMI signal to the flat screen TV. Why have a flat screen TV if you ware not going to feed it hi-def signal? Most Indian hotels skimp on this little detail.

Overall, a great place to stay and I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaFromNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for your detailed Feedback. Were glad to have you back at the hotel and thank you for the appreciation of the service and the facilities. With regards to the brown water the issue has been rectified and we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We are looking in to the WIFI and the HDMI suggestions and will surely keep you updated on the same. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I'm all for eco-hotels but at the end of the day I prefer a monsoon type shower, you don't get it here but it's still pretty good. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff attentive. This area of Mumbai is not too frenetic but the hotel is very cool and calm after the heat and dust of Mumbai. I'll definitely be staying here next time I visit Mumbai. One problem I had was noisy neighbor (guest), difficult for the hotel to do anything about that though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britabroada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad to know that this has become your first choice as a hotel in Mumbai, we forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Meluha - The Fern is the only five star Ecotel in central Mumbai and that too in the business district of Hiranadani Gardens, Powai. A truly rich experience of a 5 star hotel. The Ecotel status of this hotel can be experienced right from it's entrance to the hotel rooms and the wash rooms as well. Plastic products and other non-biodegradable products are strictly avoided in this hotel. This hotel has some 120 plus rooms.

Best thing about this hotel is it's location. It is situated in Hiranandani gardens, Powai which houses corporate offices of many multinational companies. So for a business visitor who has work in this area or any place in Central Mumbai, this is an ideal hotel. The second best about this is the distance from the domestic and international airport. Unlike south Mumbai, the hotel is only 15-20 minutes away from both the airports.

Why only business? This hotel is ideal for functions like marriages too!

A warm and caring staff is an added advantage. The hotel houses two restaurants, Tiara and Magnolia. Multi-cuisine and bar-grill restaurants respectively.

This hotel has easy access to theaters and shopping also.

In all this is a best business hotel and a true value for money. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a business as well as leisure traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Hiranandani Gardens side have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amolyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities of hotel and the response of the staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I really can't find a bad word to say about this hotel. I stayed there for seven nights for a conference held there. I arrived in the middle of the night, as so many flights into Mumbai seem to do. I got into my room at 5am and slept undisturbed until 12.30pm (on the bedside table, there is a handy control panel which let's you put on an electronic do-not-disturb sign, as well as control all the various lights and a/c). The room itself was great. It wasn't the most spacious room I've ever stayed in, but it was more than adequate. From my 5th floor window I had a good view over Powai and no traffic noise at all. The a/c was also very quiet - I'm quite sensitive to noise, but it didn't disturb me at all.

The bed was very comfortable, but it was two singles pushed together, rather than a double. This was not a huge problem and actually came in handy one night when a local Mumbai colleague stayed at the bar too late and needed a place to crash. The bathroom was great too - although a little on the small side (you had to kind of half come in, then close the door). Great shower (two shower heads), good toiletries (huge variety of things there, incl. toothbrush, comb etc) and bathrobe and slippers and good quality towels.

The hotel restaurant was of a high standard, too. Their breakfast buffet is excellent. I didn't have any of their Western breakfast, but there seemed to be a few options there. They had different Indian food every day. I ate this for the first couple of days until I started to fatigue of eating spicy Indian food three times a day, but it was delicious! They had a range of fresh and non-fresh fruit juices, eggs to order and a big range of fruit and cereals. I ate there every day for a week, not limiting myself at all (often I would avoid certain things in India) and didn't get sick.

The hotel bar is attached to the restaurant and is well-appointed, complete with grand piano (which was occasionally played). It was extortionately expensive, however: a small bottle of beer was Rs. 500 and a gin and tonic was Rs. 900.

The conference facilities and roof terrace were great, too. I didn't try out the pool or gym (no time!)

If you're reading this, you probably have some reason to be in Powai rather than Bandra or South Bombay. If you're visiting Mumbai as a tourist and are looking for a base for the sights, I'd recommend looking elsewhere: in traffic, it took us 90 minutes in a hot cramped cab to get from the Gateway to India to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. It was indeed a pleasure hosting your group at The Fern Were glad you enjoyed the facilities & the food at the hotel. We take special care in ensuring quality products and service are provided to all our guests. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews