We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Ranked #14 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Previously, we have always stayed at the Intercontinental by the Airport. I cannot say how much more enjoyable my trip to Mumbai was this time now that I tried Meluha The Fern Hotel. The staff always very cheerful and pleasant. Hotel is nice new property and has the comfort and feel of a European hotel. Breakfast spread in the morning is wonderful....fresh cheeses and breads just like in Europe. You can order eggs cook-to-order. The food I ordered from room service was also excellent as well and with outstanding service. Good location. The only drawback is internet is not included in the room rate. Suggestion to the hotel-- if you could kindly work out an included internet package included with the corporate room rate that would be helpful for us business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollingLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the hospitality of our staff, thank you for the recommendation. With regards to your feedback on the complimentary internet connectivity, we have taken the same under advisement. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    209
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
68
38
22
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Despite the pre-check in information given to the reception, I still spend a considerable time to complete the check-in process.

The room was very comfortable and everything is brand new in the room. That was just a relieved after spending more than 3 weeks in another yucky hotel near the domestic airport. The staff was attentive and even took down my food & beverage preference. The room service was a grilled fish with salad. I must say it was nicely done.

The toilet door is near to the room door and looks almost alike. Once, I opened the room door thinking it is the toilet door. The toilet is average. The shower area has a glass panel missing and there is no soap holder or shelves to put my stuff.

Breakfast was great. Most importantly, the staff offered coffee/tea as soon as I sat down. That's breakfast service. I dislike those restaurants which you need to "beg" for coffee/tea.

Anyway, I got to meet the customer service manager to speak about my experience. He is very positive in making the improvement. I will go back to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main road. It could be noisy in the evening rush hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelvin_Seow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the food and your stay at the hotel. We apologies that the check-in procedure took long and assure you the same will be taken care of in the future, The holder in the showers have been fixed in the rooms, we do look forward to making your future stays with us memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The rooms are excellent. The food is great. The breakfast spread is great. The location is good. There are many restaurants and shops nearby.

However there are two things that I was very unhappy with:
1. The pool is too small. To me they have a very big bath-tub and called it a swimming pool. There is hardly any space in the pool to get some exercise.
2. The personnel at the hotel are very confused. The people at the reception did not know when the pool opens. They initially informed me that the pool is open from 6 am to 9 pm. When I landed up at the pool, they told me that there is a banquet going on and hence the pool is shut. I told them that I am next the pool and there is no banquet there. Then after ten min someone came up and told me that the pool is shut at 9 PM. I reminded the lady that it was 8.20 PM. Then she allowed me to use the pool. The people at the hotel have good intentions. But looks like they are lacking training. This is a big issue for a business hotel.

However to their credit they give access to a health club nearby which has a good swimming pool and a gym. Trust that they will continue this even after the hotel health club becomes functional.

Room Tip: Road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanjeevGovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the food to your liking. The forest club is open for all our guest, however the Health club in the hotel is very well equipped and shall be open for guest shortly. The miss communication has been addressed and shouldn't re occur, we thank you for bringing it to our attention. We Look forward to making your future stays with us memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed for 7 nights. It's brand new and the rooms and facilities are excellent. The roof top pool has an ok view and it's possible to turn on a sort of "current" that makes you able to swim without moving forward. The 50¨ TV and moviebox with 10 different english movie channels was also excellent.

Two issues seriously flawed my stay:

- Internet comes at a charge and only works on one device and only in your own room. This means you have to pay 4,000 rupees times 3 if you want your phone, tablet and labtop online. And then you cannot use it during breakfast, dinner, lounge area, etc. That's completely unacceptable for a business hotel. And unnecessary.

- The only late check-out they could arrange where for 2pm, which makes no sense since they had available rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasperbrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. With regards to your feedback on the internet connectivity, we are re looking at the same to see how our guest can be given connectivity on all their devices, with respect to the late checkout the same will be taken care of for your future stays. We Look forward to making your future stays with us memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Truly an eco friendly hotel. Beautifully furnished. The service is so prompt and friendly that you really get delighted. The Spa and swimming pool was not functional yet but we were told it will open shortly. The hotel is located in Powai which is known for its unique architecture reminding you of colonial era. The entire locality is so beautiful that you really enjoy your evening stroll in the market. Our entire stay at the hotel was memorable

Room Tip: Main road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank usha_nirmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the service to your liking. Also to let you know that the Swimming Pool facility in the hotel is functional, however the Spa and Club floor will be available by 1st August. Were thrilled whenever any of our Eco initiatives is able to impact someone, and your kind mention will surely strengthen our resolve. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Meluha the fern is located at a prime location with lots of eating and shopping options nearby. The hotel has a very elegant ambiance and the rooms are neatly decorated. The staff is very polite and the hotel gives importance to minute details about the guest to make their stay a memorable one. Food is slightly expensive though but there are many eating options available.

Definitely recommended. Offers real value for money at a prime location with excellent services.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank condy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the facilities & service to your liking. Are en devour is to provide you with true value for all your monies spent, and were glad we were able to do so. Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#15 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,533 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai

Property: Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
Address: Central Avenue Hiranandani Gardens | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400076, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#37 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meluha The Fern is one of finest upscale hotels in Mumbai. Boasting of being the first five-star hotel in Hirandani Powai, Meluha is bench marking new standards in Hospitality. All the 141 rooms and suites feature most contemporary luxuries and ensure that guests get customized services. Look forward to a pampering experience here at Meluha The Fern. Well connected to most places in Mumbai, Meluha The Fern is within convenient reach from the International Airport and most other important areas in the city. A luxury hub, the hotel is ideal to be your base when you are in Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meluha The Fern Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing