We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A travel agent worth writing about”
Review of Bollywood Tours

Bollywood Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Bollywood Tour
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Bollywood Studio Tour
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Private Bollywood and Mumbai City Tour
Ranked #14 of 111 Tours in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At the heart of the Entertainment Industry in India is Mumbai, and at the heart of the Bollywood tourism industry is Bollywood Tours. A Mumbai based company, we are the first and finest in the industry of Bollywood tours and entertainment. Having this experience puts us in a tactical position for delivering the best packages and the most knowledgeable operators with you on your trip to discover the facets of the Indian Film Industry. We believe in doing few things, but doing them exceptionally well. This mantra drives us ahead, and continues us to challenge the status quo, ensuring delight each time and every time.Contact us and you could just end up having the most memorable time during your stay here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a review for the travel agency services Paul (the owner of Bollywood Tours) provided my wife and I in 2011. We vacationed in India in November 2011 and had an incredible experience much of which we have Paul to thank for.

In the beginning of 2011 we began researching the trip and came across a referral to Paul on a Frommer's forum by one of Paul's clients. We live in New York and I was a little hesitant about the prospect of using a travel agent based in India whom I've never met in person. Paul was very helpful in providing us with ideas when developing an itinerary and just as importantly was open and transparent about what each element of the itinerary (drivers, car rentals, hotels, tours, etc) did and didn't include and how much they each cost. We ended up with a custom itinerary that took us to Delhi, Varanasi, Agra, Jaipur, Udaipur, Ranakpur and Mumbai. Paul provided direction on (1) whether the hotels we'd researched (through Frommers, TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet) were as the reviews suggested, (2) activities and tours worth doing in each location, and (3) an overall view on whether we were trying to do too much and what we could do to properly pace ourselves but see everything we wanted to. He booked and arranged all the drivers, tour guides, hotels and internal flights for us. We learned that it was actually more cost-effective for us to book our international flights rather than have Paul do it and so took care of this part of the itinerary directly. We had to pay Paul half of the cost of the trip at the time of booking which I was admittedly somewhat nervous about for the same reason I mentioned previously: I'd never met Paul and yet I was wiring an not-insignificant amount of money internationally to him. I asked for, he provided and I contacted three of his US references all of which responded positively. The rest of the payment was due to Paul at the end of our trip. We chose to pay by wire transfer rather than credit card as paying by credit card would have required a single digit percentage premium to cover the payment processing.

The trip went exceptionally smoothly. From the time we landed in Delhi and were met by our driver to the end our trip when Paul took us out for dinner to say thank you and then drove us to the airport, Paul was always behind the scenes making sure our guides were on time, our driver knew where he was going and that we had everything we needed. We pretty much stuck to the itinerary we designed but did make a few changes along the way all of which Paul accommodated.

The only part of the trip that went less smoothly was that part of the itinerary that Paul didn't help us with and wasn't responsible for: we traveled on to Mauritius from Mumbai and had flight cancellations and visa issues to contend with. For anyone looking for an honest, trustworthy, capable travel agent we'd strongly recommend Paul. He picked us up from the airport when we landed in Mumbai, accompanied us on one of our tours in Mumbai, took us out to dinner on our last night and drove with us to the airport when we flew out later that evening. He went above and beyond what we were expecting from a travel agent.

1  Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitin G, Owner at Bollywood Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Mr.Elliot ,

Thank you for choosing us,we always try our best for complete customer satisfaction and yes the feedback written by you is like a big trophy in itself for us,we are very happy that you liked and enjoy the tour.

Best regards,
Jitin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 313 of 361 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

By the time we arrived in Mumbai for our flight home we were templed and touristed sightseeing out, so we did a Bollywood Tour. It was very interesting somewhere between average and "very good", but Trip advisor has no category for
'interestingly good minus" !!!!! It was not cheap, but it was different. My partner was not feeling great and we tried to get the guide to shorten the itinerary, but alas the reverse happened, she wanted to show us everything and more!!! Once she heard we had not seen many of the sites she instructed our driver to detour to see them!!!
The stars homes were ok but as we did not know any of them, it lost its point. The visit to the CGI and Special Effects computer complex was fascinating and their show reel superb, but it could have been done in any preview cinema and probably not worth the 2 hrs in Mumbai Traffic. It was then another !hr to the film studios which was the best part of the trip and the only one we were very pleased we did. The sets are very well built and are stunning but the outside space is rubble!!!! The toilets not adequate because the "stars?"" have their own accomodation. The stars we saw and the live set were all TV soaps and low budget festival films, one by a famous Poet who was on the set.
THe "stars" all wanted to be in films and wanted their pictures taken with us.
We then treavelled another 90 mins back to the hotel in South Mumbai!! So that was4.5 hrs travelling in Mumbai traffic.
I am pleased we did it, but you should be warned. If I came back I would try to spend 2hrs with a CGI artist and computer modeller to see the work in detail, but will probably do that now in a UK studio. I would also only do it if I could arrange and see a large film musical and dance production, but I am told they are all now filmed in Europe!!!

5  Thank drmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Sir,

You have posted your mail at the wrong Forum,we think you used services of Bollywood tourism but we are Bollywood Tours,please check our Website link which is mentioned above.

Best Regards,
Ajay Singh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with our guide and with Jitin, the CEO of Bollywood Tours, who put together a last-minute tour for us within three hours' notice. This was our first experience of Bollywood and it was indeed a memorable one. I especially enjoyed the personalized experience - we were given excellent service and a private tour - just my husband and myself. The locations and studios were visited were also very friendly; we could tell that this company has a fine reputation among the studios we visited. Very enjoyable. We will definitely contact Bollywood Tours on our next visit to Mumbai for more personalized tours. A wonderful way to see Mumbai!!

2  Thank CarolDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitin G, Owner at Bollywood Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Dear Ma'am,

We are glad to receive such a positive feedback. We only aim at satisfying our customers.
Please do recommend us to your loved ones.

Regards,
Bollywood Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The tours are expensive, but we did have a great experience with Bollywood Tours. We went to two filming locations - one a low-budget studio shoot, and the other a higher-budget outdoor shoot. Both were fun to watch. We had an awesome experience at our first stop - we ended up getting to hang out for much of the day with a notable/famous Bollywood star, who ended up inviting us to have lunch with him ... ridiculous! (Not all experiences are like this, though, we were assured.) Overall, definitely a fun way to spend a day in Mumbai.

4  Thank commavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Very good place!! lots of information and lots of tours avalaible!! good price!! it is a good point to start your excursion in Mumbay!! and its close to the main transport of the city!! kind people and always avalaible for your needs

1  Thank adriano g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitin G, Owner at Bollywood Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thank you for a positive feedback. We were glad to serve you. Please do recommend us to your loved ones.

Regards,
Bollywood Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bollywood Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing