We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Toff Full Stop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Toff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Toff Resort
Ranked #6 of 367 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golden Toff Full Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

very very pretty place...but nothing to look around...its a dead end...food is pretty decent but quantity is too less....staff is not that welcoming....overall 6/10 for value for money......i would want to go there only if there is a party hosted by some one else....

Room Tip: choose the biggered room on the ground level...the rooms on top are really congest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ash2Attack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Me & my new husband stayed here for our last 4 nights in Mumbai. After spending a week in Khar, which was very noisy, this was a tranquil escape from the City noise.
When we arrived, it felt like we were in paradise, with the pool set in the middle, only 12 apartments in this secluded villa and all surrounded by palm trees and treetops.
It is on the outskirts of Mumbai, so takes over an hour to get to from central Mumbai, so it could take its toll if you're having to get to central everyday. On the first day there we attempted to take public transport, first the rickshaw to the station will not charge you anything less than 100 rupees for the 40rp ride. Then you have to contend with everyone else to cram yourself into the right train. Be prepared to be squashed for the next 40 odd minutes. I actually passed out. On the way back we missed 4 trains until we managed to get on one. That took almost an hour. Then from the station good luck finding a rickshaw that knows where the hotel is.
Second day we arranged for a cab, but the hotel arranged one would cost Atleast 3000rp, so we instead took a rickshaw to Dahisar check point and caught a metered cab. It cost us about 500 to get to Santa Cruz.
So getting to central isnt easy.
The room service menu hosted Chinese and Indian cuisine, the food was reasonably priced, with no hidden charges, the price on the menu is all that you pay. We loved the food, wish we could take the chef back to London with us!
The pool was well maintained & the staff were always professional, helpful and friendly.
Make sure you bring plenty of mosquito repellant as whilst you chill in your own private balcony, the mosquitoes will be feasting on you!
The local beach is Gorai Beach, which looked quite dirty for us, so we stayed in the resort. However, they do apparently have some wild beach parties at night there.
Our biggest set back, besides commute to central was that there was no wifi. They came up with a number of different reasons, but having read reviews in the past, I had a feeling there wouldn't be any. They did however let us use the Internet on their reception desktop.
So overall we totally recommend this resort as an idyllic escape from the hustle & bustle of Mumbai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Salina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The biggest advantage of this place is the proximity to the city. It's about an hour after you cross the Dahisar check naka.
The place is pretty secluded.. it isn't close to any of the beaches in this area.. The resort has a nice pool and the rooms are good.. The best part of the room was the huuuge balcony.. Enjoy a drink and your morning cup of tea on the balcony.. totally worth it..

Some of the things the resort could improve upon are:
- the tariff: 4500/- for a night without food.. It's way over the top given the area.
- Recreational activities: When we visited in Nov'11, there were no recreational activities other than the pool.. Yes, the pool itself was great but would be good to have other activities like table tennis.

Overall, a nice place if you want to get away from the crowd without travelling too far..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our experience to Golden Toff Resort was fabulous. A Luxury resort nestled in the middle of no-where is what you would describe the place as. The Staff are excellent, attentive and very friendly except the on-site manager who seemed to be lost in translation, being the manager he doesnt understand or care about a single issue on the premises, he is just lost is thought whenever we saw him during our visit. Apart from that, the rooms were clean, spic & span and well taken care off. The rooms were luxurious, had good amenities. The food in the Restaurant was simply superb, tasty and delicious, no one could find any flaw in it. The Pool and Jacuzzi are very clean and the water is so clear that if you even drop a coin to the bottom, it is clearly visible. Sufficient place for parking and a good kids playpark to keep the children entertained. Amazing weekend getaway that will only get better with such good hospitality, service and with wonderful owners who pain-stakingly look after everything personally and have an attention to detail. Kudos to Golden Toff Resort. Hoping to visit there once again shortly.

Room Tip: Classic Room are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelKingIndia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a great weekend, the service and atmosphere was great, very attentive staff, really eager to please.
Food was very good, enjoyed all the meals, I was with friends and family who are very picky about food however none had an opportunity to complain. Bit pricey but tasty.
Pool could have been cleaner as the water got hazy by Day two and worse by the third morning. Dress code for pools was not followed.
Rooms: good sized rooms and with very good amenities. The rooms on the lower level are much larger however the upper level has larger balconies.
Housekeeping was one area that needed some attention, Room Boy scrubbed sink with the same brush he scrubbed toilet with. I went out and got sanitizer and then cleaned sink myself, shower walls need attention, (mildewy). Open ares were very clean and immaculate, lawns well manicured.
Overall good ambience, great food, great service, very safe atmosphere. Some opportunities but would recommend.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have Trundle bed built in the room as well as sofas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

It's a good place to go with children - especially if you are longing to use the pool. But as adults be prepared for some glitches. Good things first: the pool was clean and inviting. There is a small playground to keep children busy - with swings, slides, monkey bars and hammocks. The attendants are all very pleasant and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And the balconies are lovely, overlooking greenery and the pool. You'll also find a safe spot to park the car. It's within Mumbai, so in the mornings it wouldn't take longer than 1.5 hrs to get there from anywhere within Mumbai. You can spend your time relaxing at the resort rather than travelling to it. The food is just okay - tastes alright and we didn't get sick.

What spoilt it for us was the poor customer management. Our geyser was not working though the light was on and the guy at reception was clueless (and looked too young to be doing this). Our request for a room change was met with "no rooms are empty" though we could see on the screen that 3 rooms were marked vacant. No one even suggested bringing us hot water in a bucket. They insisted it was going to take time to warm up, even though we'd already been waiting for 45 minutes! And no electrician ever arrived, nor did anyone ask us how we managed our showers the next morning. The staff are very sweet but need better training. For example, they spilt the tea so that we drank it out of overflowing saucers. They should also include a set breakfast menu within the room rate rather than offer only a la carte.

The beach (though we didn't go there) is around 20 minutes from there by car, so once you're at the resort, there's nowhere else to go - the surrounding areas are crowded and the route to the resort is not picturesque - though of course that is outside the control of the resort.

Room Tip: The deluxre room was 4200 per night and had a large pull-out bed - so if you're a family with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThinkingCrampsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbai (Bombay)
1.6 mi away
Pali Beach Resort
Pali Beach Resort
#182 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Resort
The Resort
#50 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
The Retreat Hotel & Convention C...
#120 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Vasai Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Suvi Palace
Suvi Palace
#2 of 2 in Vasai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Silverador Resort Club
The Silverador Resort Club
#105 of 367 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Toff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Toff Resort

Property: Golden Toff Resort
Address: Uttan, Opp.Stella Maris Hospital | Bhayandar, Mumbai (Bombay), India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Toff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hustle and bustle of your daily routine in Mumbai and enjoy a fun filled holiday at Golden Toff Resort which offers the tranquility of greenery, listen to the chords of nature and relax in its mystic calm. Golden Toff Resort is an unsung wonder created to introduce you to your roots of nature and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Toff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing