We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous food and great ambience”
Review of China House Lounge

China House Lounge
Ranked #103 of 14,536 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Mumbai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sumptuous food and great ambience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

China House serves some truly authentic Chinese food. We love Chinese food and this definitely is our of our favourites currently. The seafood prep which was a recommendation from the chef was truly a great one. The food here is definitely one of the highest quality you will get. The wine and beverage list is quite good and these guys are well stocked. The place give you a feeling of vast expanse and that is a welcome feature as compared to any of the other restaurants around. This seems to be a favourite haunt with the celebs as well as i have seen quite a few whenever i go there. It is a bit on the expensive side for sure, but value for money. Surely highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArjunNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    99
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic food,upbeat atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love the ambience , top class food and a place you can enjoy the music and let your hair down.Good for the weekend,for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElsieGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

One of the reasons to go to the Grand Hyatt is to eat here. The food was really delicious and the staff was about the friendliest I've ever seen anywhere, especially in India. Totally worth checking out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sraju7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lots of dumplings”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and me had a great night out in China house. Food was great which tasted real Chinese. Nothing tasted like Indian-Chinese. I really liked the list of dumplings they offer. It was just a fantastic. And they have good wine menu that not many restaurants offer in India. My husband ordered veg spring rolls and king crab, I had tenderloin dumplings and Australian lamb from Chef's special menu. My lamb was ok, dumplings were yummy. I wished there were more than 5 haha. Spring rolls were crispy and nicely fried. A crab was super. We both used our hands to eat. My husband was keep telling me how tasty was that crab. Also if you want to party just catch stairs to down. I should say it was not great place for romance as you can hear the music and feel the bumps from the lounge in downstairs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Narantuya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very very authentic”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

China House is a mammoth effort on the part of Grand Hyatt to show Indians what truly authentic Chinese cuisine is. The décor has been done up by Super Potato of Japan and is a fabulous job though I would have preferred just a bit more open space. Nevertheless, you can actually feel the amount of work and money that has gone into it. I especially like the waterway you pass at the entrance. The small aquariums inside with lobster and crab (live) is again something very ... ummm... 'different'.. Staff is superb and do customise dishes as much as possible. Though I must stress here that if you relish Indo-Chinese cuisine, this just isn't the place for you. Food is totally authentic and without the Indian masalas added. Go here with very very deep pockets.

p.s. Akshay Kumar and his wife were eating on the next table :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaketPandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House Lounge also viewed

 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to China House Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing