We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must try in Mumbai”
Review of China House Lounge

China House Lounge
Ranked #109 of 14,515 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must try in Mumbai”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Amazing combination of restaurant & pub. Great way to complete your day with good food & then great music/crowd.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamirSrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    97
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Chinese, just like the sister restaurants”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have written a review of "Beijing Kitchen" at Grand Hyatt Macau, and also dined in "Made In China" at the Grand Hyatt Beijing, so really knew what I was in for when coming to this restaurant. I was not disappointed. A very familiar design, layout and menu were welcoming elements of this restaurant.

The food was great. The menu does focus a little more on Sichuan style dishes, but i love that! Delivering a truly authentic Chinese menu outside of China is not an easy task and the restaurant has done this well.

Spinach with sesame and Sichuan style chicken were delicious for appetisers. We also had fired lotus root stuffed with potato that was divine. Main course was chilli squid, Sichuan style fried chicken, vegetables and seafood fried rice. I didn't get to try the Beijing Duck this time, but the wood fired oven and set-up is just like the other Hyatt restaurants. I'm sure it would have been lovely.

Overall a great dining experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Numero Uno for Chinese Food in Mumbai”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was my third trip to China House in Grand Hyatt, Mumbai and the place continues to amaze me with their food. I had promised my family a different experience given my earlier visits and the verdict from them was "yes, absolutely the best Chinese in Mumbai."

Reservations are recommended in this place and you have an option between sitting out (non/AC) and AC. The outdoor seating has a very good ambiance but is not recommended during the summer months - in Bombay, that leaves you say December and January to sit outside.

They have a great dimsum station and the starters are yummy. I am not going to name the dishes as any dish you order is good.

The speciality of this place is the Peking Duck and you need to give the at least an hour to cook. We thought about it but deferred it for the next visit.

The portions are huge and so keep that in mind while ordering dishes. A portion of rice can easily fill four people reasonably.

A great experience.

The downside is that it leaves a gaping hole in your pocket - so the quality comes at a cost!!!

Advisable to go to the place for special occassions unless you are in a mood to splurge!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJPINGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The best authentic chinese restaurant in Mumbai...Must try the veg pot stickers / sichuan wontons in spicy broth / cucumber salad with black bean....The food there is consistently excellent...A must visit for everyone who loves chinese....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdeworld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balitmore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Chinese”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Didn't expect to find such good Chinese food in Mumbai, but very impressive and a great change of pace after many meals of Indian food. Only down side the chairs are really uncomfortable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LCandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House Lounge also viewed

 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to China House Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing