We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Ranked #32 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

On a special occasion in our family, after a lot of deliberation we finalized on Svenska. This turned out to be a great decision, as apart from a competitive package the Svenska team went all out to make it a memorable moment for us. The friendly service, wonderful ambiance, great food and special touches by the courteous staff added up to happy guests who left with a smile on their faces and patting their tummies. Svenska will always be my first choice for the next occasion that comes up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulpandit1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    78
    40
    13
    18
See reviews for
115
55
30
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The rooms were pretty but rooms did not have glasses, robes and towels were not clean.
Pricing in reasonable but space inside the lobby and lift are cramped at best.
Food options are very average. Complimentary breakfast was bare essentials with very few non-vegetarian offers but portions are generous. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Airport transfers are available and doorman is happy to find you an auto. Personal butler services offered but did not experience it as butler was missing. Room service is on the slow side.
Just a comfortable but average place to stop for a short trip.

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice and pretty. Not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MercyTetseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review and feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback on the rooms and our pricing, though we are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with certain aspects of your stay, for which we sincerely apologize. We are looking into the aspects you have outlined and it is our commitment to fix all the issues. We are also looking into why your room did not have glasses and bath robes, which are our standard feature. Also, our Global Buffet is renowned in the city and gets great reviews from food critics as well as guests. We have several live counters from where everything is freshly prepared and served in live interactive open kitchens. Please give us an opportunity to serve you during your next visit and assure you that we will do our best to live up to our vision of delivering the best service on the planet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Where do I start, arrived in the early hours and after the hustle and bustle of a long flight was looking forward to a nice cold drink, however upon entering the hotel we where informed the bar closed at midnight and no drinks where available except in the very expensive room minibar okay not a big issue but first impressions count. Day 1/ Breakfast:- our tea and coffee order took over 30 minutes to arrive and we could not taste the difference between the tea and the coffee. The bar, even for soft drinks, did not open till 12.30. Our friends (who we had not seen for a long time) arrived in the evening and we decided a few drinks were in order, however, at midnight the bar closed and without notice they turned the lights out, which was quite rude. Day 2/ we went to a cocktail party and arrived back at the hotel just around midnight and although other guests in the hotel where still getting served we where told that the bar was closed, no probs, so we sat outside having a chat and again all the light where turned off on us, again without notice. Day 3/ breakfast, the food was good but same again the tea/coffee mixture took 25 minutes to arrive. I went to reception to request some toilet roll and 1 hour later I had to go to reception again as they had forgot about it. The bar seems to be regularly unattended and although when you ask eventually drinks do arrive I would have expected better service for an alleged 5 star hotel. I had to ask the staff to empty the over flowing ashtrays and tidy up the outside veranda /smoking area and even after that request the next day the ashtrays had not been emptied again. I eventually realised that if you give everyone a 100 rupee tip (£1) every time you wanted something then things got done quicker. I am used to tipping good service, not having to pay extra for medioca service. Update;- I am informed that the hotel needs a special licence to open the bar after midnight. Derrr if this hotel wants to cater for westeners then they should apply for a late licence.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank userpds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always useful to get feedback, whether we agree with it or not, as it gives us the opportunity to not only work on areas of improvement, but also on our guest communication. Especially as several of the issues you have mentioned are on account of laws of the country, which are beyond our control and need to be adhered to by all hotels. For example, you were very disappointed that our bar shut down at midnight. But that is the case with each and every hotel in India as there are stringent laws pertaining to serving and consuming liquor. Despite this, our team went out of the way to allow your group to consume alcohol till late hours, putting their jobs and hotel at risk. When this was pointed out by our GM on the following day, you were very apologetic. I am sure you would also agree that our Executive Chef was personally present during your breakfast and regularly checked on your table to ensure that everything was fine. We do apologize for the slight delays in breakfast service as rather than keeping everything pre-prepared on the buffet, we freshly prepare most breakfast items as per specific guest requirements, which does tend to take 15-20mins. Also, perhaps you were not aware, but apart from mini-bar and 24 hours private butler service, including 24 hours in-room dining service, we also have a beverage menu (comprising of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages) across all outlets that is available from 7am till midnight. It is certainly not the case that tips are required to expedite service. In fact, our service staff don't personally take any tips, but contribute the entire amount to a central pool, which is then distributed among the entire hotel staff at the end of the month. Further, as you are aware, we are a boutique property and all managers are personally present to interact with guests and ensure that the staff are doing their jobs effectively and without expecting any tips. Our apologies for this long response, but we wanted to properly address all issues mentioned in your review. We are very sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations, but wanted to also ensure that you know about the other side of the story as well. We will continue striving to ensure that our current level of guest satisfaction score of 95% is further improved and not a single guest leaves unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had hosted party at the Svenska hotel. The entire arrangements, the service and food was excellent. The rooms are also well maintained and well designed. The entire team at the hotel is welcoming and tries for only the best. The location of the hotel is also ideal and easily accessible. Thanks Svenska for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From over 2 dozen hotels where I stayed during my month long journey across india, Svenska stood out by far as the most beautiful and well run hotel. Its team is simply outstanding -- gracious, well-trained and smiling. Small touches like personalized messages written with chocolate on my pastry plate and wonderfully relaxing massages provided daily complimentary, made my experience truly memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while attending our Sons wedding. It was chosen as it was near the wedding venue and his wife's family. As regards the cleanliness and look of the hotel it was perfectly fine whereas far as service was concerned very very poor.

The staff were rude and lazy. The only way to get any good service was to give them money and ask to be looked after.

We had the lights put out on us during conversations when returning from an event. It took two requests and a couple of hours to get toilet roll. On the last day it took 50 minutes to get served at breakfast which really is disgusting. However after my nephew tipped waiter he was served his breakfast immediately which says it all.

It really has put us off visiting the country again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeshZed, Owner at Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and making the effort to post a review on your stay at our hotel. Thank you also for your appreciation on the cleanliness and look of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for not finding the service up to the mark. It is indeed very concerning for us that though almost all guests comment very favorably on our staff and service standards, but you were disappointed and gave a score of only 1 on the service. Please be assured that we will look into this very seriously and plug whichever gaps we find. However, would also like to bring to your attention that our service staff do not individually get tips, but rather everything is pooled into a central reserve, which is then distributed at the end of the month. As such, there is no reason or incentive for any staff to solicit or expect any tips. Would like to take this opportunity to visit/ stay at our hotel again and assure you of the highest standards of service, and if we do not live up to that, we will not charge you a single penny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good rooms with a treat of in room complimentry services including massages..gaming console n other..quick check in and check out..Perfectly located..
Thank you Svenska and the staff for your service..vl always recommend to stay for business and leisure

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prasunsrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
4.5 mi away
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
Le Sutra - The Indian Art Hotel
#31 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
362 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
#33 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartments
Ontime Luxurious Service Apartme...
#114 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residency Sarovar Portico
Residency Sarovar Portico
#26 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterstones Hotel
Waterstones Hotel
#56 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Empresa Hotel
The Empresa Hotel
#124 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Property: Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
Address: Sab T V Lane, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#43 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svenska Design Hotels are a collection of luxury boutique designer lifestyle hotels from Sweden, part of the Worldhotels 5-star Deluxe Collection. The chic and trendy hotel has various food & beverage offerings, including French-style Bistro for all-day-dining; Delicatessen offering fresh breads, bakes & confectionery; specialty Mediterranean fine-dining restaurant; Tapas bar with inventive cocktails and beverages; rooftop al-fresco Indian specialty restaurant & bar; and conferencing/ banqueting facilities.Focused on highly personalized guest experiences, Svenska offers plethora of complimentary guest services, including:- 24x7 Private Butler Service- High-speed WI-FI Internet across the property- Welcome Drink on Arrival- Breakfast- In-room Spa Treatments (Daily 20mins massage)- High Thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linen- Top-end Crabtree & Evelyn Toiletries- Access to Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre- Two Bottles of Mineral Water- Tea-Coffee Making Facility. All these are completely free-of-charge. In addition, each room has 40" Sony TVs and DVD players with a collection of movies-on-demand. Fully-stocked Mini-bar, IPod Docking Stations and Mood Lighting are also standard features in every room. Various other gadgets are also available complimentary on-request, including IPads, Sony PS3 and Nintendo WII gaming consoles with selection of games, and much more. Svenska Mumbai is located in the heart of Lokhandwala Complex amidst North Mumbai's largest, commercial and residential district of Andheri West, Versova, Oshiwara, Malad and Juhu. The hotel is at a walking distance from the Ambani Hospital, leading Bollywood studios, shopping malls, multiplexes, bars, restaurants and coffee shops. It is located 5km from Andheri Railway Station and 8km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing