We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh hotel with slowest lifts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Mumbai Garden City
Ranked #3 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. Had requested a hotel airport shuttle, nice car with a very friendly driver. Upon entering the main lobby, you'll be able to have a glass of iced water which is located on the left side, I think was concierge. The staff could speak English decently. I was assigned a deluxe room with a king size bed on the 25th floor. Room was clean and big, nice walk in wardrobe, with a nicely designed bathroom. Bed was very comfy with ample pillows. There was English TV channels, so no worries if you intend to just laze in bed and watch TV. It was my first time staying in such a luxurious room, so I was really impressed!

Breakfast was average. It can get a little boring after having the same breakfast spread for 5 days. The food at the Indian restaurant on the 18 floor was not too bad, especially there's an old Indian man sitting at a corner making bangles. Internet speed was average, nothing to shout about. The only complaint I have would be the lifts. It is notoriously slow!!

Overall, I'll say I'll love to return to this hotel the next time I travel to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlsmqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
We are pleased to hear of your experiences from your recent visit with us and delighted you found your stay uplifting. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the comfort of the room. The Heavenly Bed is one of our signature products and it gives you a motionless sleep. We aim to send the guest home feeling better than when they first arrived. Please be assured that the feedback pertaining to the internet connectivity is being looked into and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. During your next visit please feel free to contact our food and beverage team for any culinary preferences and we will do our best to accommodate your requirements. We thank you for your understanding and appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,697 - 1,703 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed there for a night. Did not start out right, there was nobody at the airport to pick me up. I just took a cab and headed straight to work instead of going to the hotel to check in. After work arrived at the hotel, The check in was pleasant and efficient. Got a great room on a high floor. The views and the rooms are just spectacular. The check in staff promised to look into why the car was not there at the airport to pick up but there was no follow up with me as to the results of the enquiry. At least they were polite. Food at the restaurant was good but the service was not so great. Had to ask for things a few times before I got anything. The menu took about 15 minutes to arrive. Did not read the reviews so did not try the bar. The night sleep was good. The rooms are just very spacious and very mordern.

The morning elevator nightmare that is there in most reviews is true. It is actually most of the day. They need to do something about them. The morning breakfast was equally good in terms of food and equally unsatisfactory in terms of service. (I was almost done with my breakfast before the tea arrived).

Overall a good hotel, but service at the restaurant definitely needs to be spruced up. I would stay there agian if I had work in that part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vip1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the comfort of the room and the wide spread for breakfast at Seasonal Tastes. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered in our hotel. Please be assured that the feedback is being looked into and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. I am hoping you will return, so we can convey to you that your experiences are not our usual standard. We look forward to your return visit to experience an uplifting experience with us at The Westin Mumbai Garden City!
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Go to the bar on the 18th floor and engage in some very good conversation with the lads working the bar, especially the team-leaders. They are knowledgeable, friendly and always with a smile on their face. It means that you don't feel as if you're drinking alone

Room Tip: Join SPG and get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardvwoods66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We truly value your feedback and shall surely share your kind words with the entire team. Our team prides itself on the experience we create for our guests and will be happy to hear that they have managed to meet your every need.
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently we were stuck in the suburbs of Mumbai and then we saw this hugh building with Westin written on it...and we decided to stop and go there for lunch. Wow what ambience greeted us as we entered the hotel. We were very politely adviced on the restaurants they had, We chose the 18th floor buffet lunch reataurant. The view was outstanding and the service and food just out of the world. For the price it was worth it. We are already making plans to go again there. superb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our services and dining experience at our all day dining venue Seasonal Tastes. The guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Team Westin looks forward to welcoming you back for many more enriching moments.
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin for a total of 25 nights this year and have to say its a well managed hotel, the staff are fantastic, especially Johnson and the team at the bar, some of the names I forget but they all work really hard at pleasing customers and engaging in conversation. When on business on the other side of the world it helps when people are nice.The hotel is modern and very clean, great rooms and a fabulous gym and spa. The swimming pool is poorly designed and misses lots of sunshine but isn't something they can fix, unlike the lifts. I try not to be too negative on TripAdvisor but be prepared to make time for the elevators at this hotel, I am not the first person to consider airing my opinion and the hotel manager said to me it was being looked into but if your in a rush for a morning appointment be prepared to leave your room early they take forever to arrive and the slowest of slow in operation. Apart form that as business visitor from the UK its well worth trying the Westin if only for the staff. The food at Kangan is very special and is some of the best Indian food I have ever tried. Keep up the great work Johnson. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your patronage to our hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our services and dining experience at our Indian venue Kangan. The guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Please be assured that the feedback is being looked into and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We thank you for your understanding and appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Team Westin looks forward to welcoming you back for many more enriching moments.
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Beautiful big room and luxurious bathroom. The bread basket , the cheese platter , the egg , the bacon were all world class .And to serve a big breakfast so well requires rigorous training and great attention to detial which we know is Anurag Bhatnagar's forte. He brings to Westin Mumbai food and beverage service the legendary passion for perfection of the great Dominiq Nordmann. The dinner was excellent as well and served with style . The waiter was helpful , patient as we wondered what to order . Both the steak and the pomfret were gourmet. The reception checked us in with minimum fuss . Check out was speedy .The gym is fantastic . So is the attendant .

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueocean201016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your patronage to our hotel. We appreciate you spending the time to share your experiences with us and shall surely share your kind words with the team. It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our in room amenities, especially our Heavenly Bath, our services and dining experience at our venues and Westin WorkOUT Fitness Centre. We pride ourselves in offering a personal and instinctive service, and a sensory – rich environment that evokes a feeling of tranquility and well-being, nourishing your soul within a bustling city like Mumbai. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Mumbai Garden City in the near future.
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

What everyone demand out of a luxury hotel is a world class luxury and good service. No Doubt the infrastructure of the hotel is very good, rooms are good, spacious and comfortable. What falls short is the service or customer relations. The staff seems to be a mix of experienced hires and trainees. The interaction with hotel staff varies from person to person significantly some are quite generous and customer centric others can tend to be rude. Had to wait and argue at the check-in counter as my bookings were not reflected properly in their system. The executives at the breakfast lounge often ignore your breakfast requests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wild_Styln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinMumbai, General Manager at The Westin Mumbai Garden City, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the comfort of the room. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you encountered in our hotel. Please be assured that the feedback is being looked into and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. I am hoping you will return, so we can convey to you that your experiences are not our usual standard. We look forward to your return visit to experience an uplifting experience with us at The Westin Mumbai Garden City!
Be well
Anuraag Bhatnagar
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 489 in Mumbai
2,426 reviews
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 489 in Mumbai
4,379 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Worli/Prabhadevi
Four Seasons Hotel Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mumbai Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mumbai Garden City

Address: Oberoi Garden City, Mumbai 400063, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#4 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#7 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $165 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Mumbai Garden City 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With close proximity to the International airport, business centers and shopping centers, Westin Mumbai Garden City offers you a perfect combination of comfort and convenience.Each of our 269 spacious guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows that reveal the moving mural of Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Mumbai Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Mumbai Garden City Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing