We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay - Business Visit”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #111 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay - Business Visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ambassador when I had to pass through Mumbai for a day. The first thing that would strike about the hotel is that its an old building yet has a revolving restaurant on the top. I think the time I was there this restaurant was not working.
I moved here from a budget hotel and was really impressed by the big room. The room was clean and very comfortable for a night's sleep. The breakfast buffet had a very good spread. You could choose from Indian as well as western varieties. A thing to note is that the buffet hall is a bit small and may get cramped during the rush hour.
The room service is quick and service was generally good with quick response. The location is very good as you can go for a walk along the Marine Drive. There is an ice cream parlour nearby as well. I think for a short duration this hotel is very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horizonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    137
    99
    34
    42
See reviews for
79
54
45
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurangabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located at Churchgate, Mumbai, the hotel is situated in heart of the city and very much near to the sea. Offers huge and spacious rooms, courteous staff is eager to serve you. The buffet breakfast is full of variety and will fill you for the hectic day. I got discount on buffet luncheon because of some offer. Buffet luncheon and dinner had variety and great taste. Gym is sufficiently equipped so that you don't miss necessary workout. Surprisingly, hotel does not have any swimming pool. I heard that it had a revolving restaurant and bar on the top floors offering you panoramic 360 degrees view of the city and sea, which is not in operation now.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms will offer you great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChawreVakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early August 2013. The café and in room dining were excellent for a range of dining tastes. The concierge was great in advising on some touring and city sites. Being just off Marine Drive it was good for walks to shops, museums and historic precinct. There was an upmarket pizza joint across the way for western food.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been staying this hotel regularly for last few years. This hotel is excellently located, bang on the marine drive. The room rates are not that high if you take into account the location. I stayed in the last week of August '13.

First the good points: Location is good, rooms are quite decent, toilet is good, upkeep is good, staff is polite though you don't need them much, toiletries replenished regularly, bedsheets and towel very clean, room size is good but not large.

Now some negatives: the property has become old, the card inserting light switch gives problem - had to change a room only because the switch just wont work. The light control panel next to the bed is very - very old and the writing and symbols are all worn out and erased, so you cant make out what is what. Some of them will not respond when pressed. This badly needs to be replaced in all rooms, saying from my past experiences too. They still have the old TV sets and not moved to LCD TVs. The layout of the rooms are quite confusing, and some fellow kept ringing my door bell and banging my door in the mid-night only to say sorry since he had lost the orientation and trying my room instead of his (he was drunk too). They have not changed the menu for the breakfast in the last 10 years that I have been going there.
There are enough eating places near by, Pizza by the bay, Shiv Sagar, a chinese restaurant, and some more. I would recommend any stay here. There is a cheaper hotel next door but quite sub-standard. Over all it does not let you down.

Room Tip: Try taking front facing rooms. The back facing rooms have apartments very close by, so you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not_on_a_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on 25th august,2013.It was really a good 4 star hotel.it's location is Excellent as just near to marine drive. But it's breakfast is not upto the mark as below average.it was not properly continental.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Overall experience was nice and there were no issues as such. The fitness center lacks equipment and should have some more space. Did not try the in room dining as the food was over priced I guess. Breakfast was nice and the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed in this hotel in April2013. its a small but good hotel. location is very good and its near Sea. rates are also quite ok and if want to stay near Nariman Point at a reasonable price and at good location, then its a better choice. quality of food is ok but not great, staff is very co-operative and there is no logistic issue.

added advantage is you can find so many good restaurants near the hotel like Shiv Sagar and all

Room Tip: all rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajivmangla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#70 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#105 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#122 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#42 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Veer Nariman Road | Marine Drive Churchgate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador, iconic hotel is located on Marine Drive, Just 2-minute walk from Churchgate Railway Station and 1.5 km from Nariman Point, The Ambassador Mumbai offers rooms with shower facilities and bathtub. You can choose from Deluxe, Executive or Suite Rooms at Ambassador Mumbai, comes with air conditioning, LED TV and a writing desk. A tea/coffee maker, minibar facilities are provided. 24 hours Room service is available. Ambassador Mumbai’s Flavors coffee shop is open 24 hours and serves buffet breakfast. The Society offers fine dining of local and continental delights. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre and a tour desk. Currency exchange services are also available. The hotel also provides free parking. Located on Veer Nariman Road, Marine Drive Churchgate Mumbai. The Ambassador is 26 km away from Chathrapati Sivaji International Airport. Churchgate is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, history and sightseeing. We speak your language! Ambassador Group Of Hotels - The Boutique Art Hotels in India Mumbai - Chennai - Aurangabad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing