We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #107 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The is a very nice hotel in a great location. It's a 3 minute walk from a main rail station (Churchgate) along a main road so it's felt safe day or night. It looks quite luxurious both on the outside and inside. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and presentable. I cannot fault the hotel really. Also, with the unique revolving restaurant tower, it's very easy to spot from far away so it's easy to find your way back home when walking. The taxi drivers also know it well so you should make it back easily even if you have trouble communicating with the taxi driver otherwise. On the negative side, I would say that I wasn't told in advance that the revolving restaurant was closed for renovation which would have been nice to know. Since I was travelling alone, it wasn't a huge deal to me but had I wanted to have a romantic dinner with my wife, I would have been much more annoyed. The 2nd negative was that the hot water didn't away cooperate which I do agree with other reviews on this point, however, it only happened once during my stay. I noticed comments about damp made by other reviewers, however, there was none that I could see or smell while I was there but maybe I was lucky. Great hotel in general. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Ask for a room on the back of the hotel so the noise from the road is minimi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 419 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, and is very convenient to get around Mumbai. As others have said, there seems to be a problem with damp, but not so you can see. We split our stay, three nights and then another three after a two night stay at a hill station . The first three nights our room was one of those that were supposed to be renovated, ( no carpet). But interior was old. The second room was just lovely, wooden floor, and modern bathroom and cleaner!
Overall a good hotel, they staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is expensive because of its prime location...it is located 1/2 a mile from marine drive...i stayed for 3 days and over all experience was good....the breakfast is complementary though they has less options....

Room Tip: The location is great....half a mile from marine drive...can go to gate of India
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapas00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The first thing you notice about this hotel is the smell...a combination of dampness and air freshener. The exterior of the buidling leaves a lot to be desired although it seems like they are renovating it.
The rooms are OK although the carpet in my room was stained and the hot water was sometimes hot and sometimes not. The food was very average, luckily there is a very nice Italian restaurant across the road.
I will look elsewhere when I next go to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed for 5 days in this hotel and over all experience was good. Just come out of Hotel and you can feel pleasure of Marine Drive, evening you can go for dinner and shopping at Colaba where you can find long list of popular restaurants. Staff is good and hotel is very neat and clean, rooms are good and spacious. All in all good hotel to stay in Heart of Mumbai.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dipendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited Mumbai 18-20 Aug 2012, with wife and 2.5 years old daughter. Wanted to explore South Mumbai, hence preferred hotel there, especially considering daughters nap timings. Read reviews about this hotel, some good, some OK, thought of trying it out.

Booked tickets online and got a 20% discount (No Refund), and I personally found the deal a real good bargain considering the location, hospitality and sevice offered.

Check-In was smooth. Had buffet in one of their restaurants, food and variety was good. In one of the reviews, the reviewer mentioned about poor crockery etc.fortunately didnt come across anything like that. Maybe they are following these review comments and improvising!

The breakfast had good variety, but there is a scope for improvement there, especially for South Indian menu, it didnt taste that great.

The service offered was quick and excellent. Had carried daughter specific food, which was cooked well as per wife's instructions through out our stay.

Rooms were cozy and comfortable. Unfortunately the revolving restaurant on roof top is non-operational. Wished could capture Queens Necklace from up there. Hope its up and running during our next visit there.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Old world charm is great for a hotel that provides it. Old world charm in no way means worn out carpets, basic linen and ultra shoddy breakfast in hideous crockery. This hotel is way below acceptable standards.

The plus is the location but the rooms have no view; the bathrooms seem that they were made in1980 and then kept that way. Infact the staff also is overtly intrusive.

I had booked a double room but was still put into a room with single accommodation. When I asked for a change it was reluctantly made. Infact it got a lil more embarrassing when my colleague who was staying nearby came visiting. I was called and asked to submit his photo id since the assumption the reception made was that he was staying over!!!

The bell boy infact was the only member of the staff that was responsive and courteous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archanavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajaz K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing to stay with us at The Ambassador, on your recent visit to Mumbai.

While I am glad that you found hotel convenient, I am equally disappointed to know that you were not completely happy with your stay.

We are actually working on our Coffee shop area presentation also with the crockery so hopefully in your next visit, you will find the atmosphere more lively.

Regarding the visitor we have a policy of taking the ID irrespective of whether he is staying for 1 min or 1 night its only for the security of the guest.

I am really grateful for your comments as it helps us to improve our services.

I am really sorry to know that you expected more from us and we were unable to deliver. I really regret not asking you in details on your stay at departure.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Vikram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#75 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#110 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#120 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Marine Drive
InterContinental Marine Drive
#45 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#9 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Green South Hotel
Sea Green South Hotel
#181 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Veer Nariman Road | Marine Drive Churchgate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $114 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador, iconic hotel is located on Marine Drive, Just 2-minute walk from Churchgate Railway Station and 1.5 km from Nariman Point, The Ambassador Mumbai offers rooms with shower facilities and bathtub. You can choose from Deluxe, Executive or Suite Rooms at Ambassador Mumbai, comes with air conditioning, LED TV and a writing desk. A tea/coffee maker, minibar facilities are provided. 24 hours Room service is available. Ambassador Mumbai’s Flavors coffee shop is open 24 hours and serves buffet breakfast. The Society offers fine dining of local and continental delights. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre and a tour desk. Currency exchange services are also available. The hotel also provides free parking. Located on Veer Nariman Road, Marine Drive Churchgate Mumbai. The Ambassador is 26 km away from Chathrapati Sivaji International Airport. Churchgate is a great choice for travelers interested in architecture, history and sightseeing. We speak your language! Ambassador Group Of Hotels - The Boutique Art Hotels in India Mumbai - Chennai - Aurangabad ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing