We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely atmosphere, Value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bamboo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamboo House
Ranked #248 of 370 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Navsari (gujrat)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely atmosphere, Value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights.... the place feels just like home. Tariffs are reasonable! home cooked meals available so one doesn't need to go hunting for restaurants. Rooms are clean, staff is courteous. The owner and her son are extremely helpful. Definitely coming back and will also recommend it to my friends who visit Mumbai regularly!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    3
    0
    15
See reviews for
7
1
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was one of the most terrible experiences of my life. I never felt so cheated.

I had booked a room and had paid the 30% of the money in advance all of Rs 30,000 (total planned stay for 40 days). The day I landed I was put up in a flat in another building close to the one I had finalised. The building was terrible and the flat was really shady. Since, it was around 1 am in the night, I didn't say anything and had to stay. This was one of those nights where I had paid Rs 3000 per night to stay in a Kholi.

Next day I asked for the room that I had booked and they said somebody is staying there. I had no choice but to vacate and come later. Later also they did not provide me a room. When I went and discussed, Ms Arora started shouting, the son though seemed reasonable was under the pressure of his Mom to not agree to anything.

She offered me to stay at the same horrible place to which I said no. When I asked for returning the money - she blatantly said 'No'. I was surprised but hung around. To this she said that I can go and there is no room for discussion. This was in July, 2011.

Till date I haven't got any money and neither does she want to discuss.

She and her son both claim that they cater to corporates and have repeat clients. Not sure who are these corporates and repeat clients. I am actually going ahead and filing a complaint in the consumer forum

All I can say is - if you read this post please don't go and stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RahulAgrawal_IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

The guy claims he caters to 'corporates'. Now if you are the kind of corporate who enjoys water clogged bathrooms, rusty water from taps then this is the right place for you. And the corporate should also be the kind who likes surprises. How about the Service guys opening YOUR room in the dead of the night with their set of keys?! And you thought only corporates are demanding? try this.. the service guys don't get up on sundays till 8. So if you are the kind who loves to get that morning cuppa, just forget this place. The best is yet to come. The 'cherry topping' as we put it. We were asked to vacate the room by 9am,(check in - check out 12pm) the same room for which we paid till 12 pm just because 'our rigid host' who cant provide any flexibility in check in timings has 'his other guests' waiting!!
Rating?? ARE WE ALLOWED TO GIVE NEGATIVE RATING !??

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Access is thro' Living room. It is occupied by cook & attendants taking privacy of the guests to the back seat. Choice of food is limited, a trap to fleece money. A 30 ml tea costs Rs.20. Breakfast per dish containing 4 slices of fried bread and omelet with 30ml tea costs Rs.100. Room service is deplorable having no key to the allotted room. When guests are out, bathroom is used by the attendants. Laundry service is pathetic. On washing, one cloth got discolored & given worn out look rendering unfit to further use. Airport dropping at early morning cost Rs.400, even if it is within 3 km distance with no traffic on road. Beware of it guys!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Rooms were clean, furnished, spacious & had all the basic amenities. The landlady was warm hearted, & referred me as 'Beta'. Market is at a walkable distance, & Airport & Andheri Station are closeby. Overall a nice homely experience, just that they charged me 100Rs for 2 parathas, a bit exorbitantly priced :) lolx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AmitScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Was in Mumbai for a week with my three friends. Rooms were clean, good breakfast. Lady-owner and her son were very helpful and attentive. Staff was polite. For those who would like to have money saved, good-clean rooms, convinient location- Bamboo house is the right choice. I had nice time and pleasure staying there, for sure coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belarus_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Bamboo House is located in Shere Punja Society in Andheri-East in Mumai, and is approximately 2 km from the international airport, 2.5 km from domestic airport but hotel is not easy to locate.We were returning from shirdi and had to take a flight from mumbai ,so we decided to stay in Mumbai for a day and booked bamboo house just because of its reasonable tariff.But it was a big mistake. There was no staff to welcome .Toilets were too dirty .Rooms were good.We could not have our morning tea as pantry opened at 8 o” clock.The staff was not cooperative at all. Not a good stay AT ALL.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Delhi6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
11.1 mi away
Ibis Navi Mumbai Hotel
Ibis Navi Mumbai Hotel
#1 of 29 in Navi Mumbai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,533 reviews
14.1 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#204 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#22 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House

Property: Bamboo House
Address: Shere Punjab Society 186 Bamboo House Joyti Niwas | Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400093, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo House 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide our guest all the facilities that of a luxury hotel, at affordable rates without compromising on quality and service a convenient and smart alternative to 3-4 star hotel suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing