We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Ranked #75 of 440 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
North West UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The whole hotel is tired. Fabric needs a bit of a revamp in many areas and so does the overall attitude and approach to guests. Individual staff, in many cases, pleasant and apparently genuinely so. Others go through the motions which clearly have been the subject of a staff training exercise of greeting people but they do it in the manner of robots and I suspect the shortsighted ones probably also greet the trolleys and vacuum cleaners which seem to inhabit the corridors on a permanent basis in the same way.

Rooms, including those on the executive floor where I stayed, have seen better days. The towels are thin and worn, the shower kept reverting from the ceiling shower to the handheld because the mechanism was, wait for it, tired. Furniture had stains on it, yes they had been cleaned but they were still there.

Food is distinctly average to poor. The Chinese restaurant is okay, but expensive and wine, at Rs.800 a glass is stratospherically expensive given the cost of living in India. The Italian restaurant provided an excellent starter and then probably the worst pasta salmon dish I have ever eaten; spaghetti which had been cooked to a mush and then reheated to a volcanic temperature, with some warm cream and a very little bit of Salmon poured over it. I commented on it the staff but it still appeared on the bill despite my having eaten very little of it.

You can get away with tired fabric to a property like this, which is clearly very popular with families and locals, if you provide genuine and appropriate service and value to go around the core offering which is starting to fade a little bit. This isn't happening here. The core offering is fading a little bit and so the company is trying to make money around it by cutting corners and by overcharging for ancillaries.

Accor should pay attention to this property, it could be a gem but at the moment if I see it on a travel itinerary again I will cancel and I will advise the rest of my company to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeekendTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Mumbai J, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during your recent visit to Mumbai and providing a feedback with us.

We value your opinion and thank you for sharing it with us. Your review about the food has been noted and we thank you for your feedback. We always value the opportunities, which enable us to enhance the quality of our products and services.
Additionally, we are in the process of renovating our property and have taken a note of your suggestion.

On a positive note, we are happy to know that you enjoyed like our idyllic location, starters served at Olio-Italian Dining and service extended by our staff.

I hope you return and give us an opportunity to show you the refurbished and much more beautiful version of our hotel and convey that your experiences are not our usual standard and we give high priority to guests’ comfort and satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev,
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    634
    321
    163
    138
See reviews for
430
392
122
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
319 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Sapam The Oriental Restaurant Serving oriental cuisine at Novotel Juhu. The menu is fairly extensive with choice of dumplings & Sui Mai in chicken, fish, prawn or vegetables. Had the ginger chicken which was delicious followed by the Kung Pao Chicken with the Sweet/Sour Seabass for mains with fried rice. Topped up with date pancake & sizzling brownie. The date pancake was great, lightly sweet. The one point deduction is for the sizzling brownie which was "over sizzled". The food, the service is great. It does not have an extensive wine list (or maybe I didn't see it). Overall, good stuff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savio_pinto12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at the Novotel for 2nights with friends.. Nice hotel rooms were very average. Expect more from the Accor hotels. Didn't see the Novotel class how you would find else where. Otherwise location is good. Staff is great and GDV is something you don't want to miss out on

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiteshranglani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Novotel is my 5 year old daughters favourite place for a lazy sunday or any celebration. we used the banquets awhile ago and the experience was beyond what anyone of us expected. Superb food, courteous staff, and an out of the world Birthday Cake. Novotel has surely improved a lot since the past one year and has made sure old patrons keep coming there time and again. Cheers to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smturakhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Mumbai J, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

We thank you for patronizing our hotel and for taking out time to share your experience with us.

Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed our facilities, menu options, the birthday cake and service extended by our banquet team.

We are delighted to hear that we met with all your expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach.

Warm regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

It’s an old property and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom was leaking and flush was not working properly. The towels provided were yellowish and torn. Cleanliness of the hallway and rooms was not upto the mark as expected from a star category hotel. Even the service staff and front desk executive have an attitude problem. They should be given a lesson in customer management services. The only saving grace is location which right opposite the beach. The food at the Square all day restaurant was good. But again, the service needs to be improved. Overall it was not a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niraj_n007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Mumbai J, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

We sincerely thank you for your feedback.

At the outset, please accept our sincerest apology, for your recent experience with us.
We are concerned to hear that you were inconvenienced by the service delivered to you and faced the challenge with bathroom fittings. Please be assured, that I have personally shared your experience with the training team and the concerned departments.

We are in the process of renovating our property and have taken a note of your suggestion.

On a positive note, we thank you for giving credit to the breakfast buffet served at The Square- Pan Indian All Day Dining and our pleasant location.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again, so we can convey to you that bad your experiences are not our usual standard and that we give high priority to cleanliness and guest satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for a night just for a change. We selected a standard city view room but the Room wasnt ready on check in till 3.45 pm. Finally got a free upgrade to the standard ocean view room on the 7th floor where all the premium rooms are there. Got the room at 4.30 pm so we told them that we would check out by 4.00 pm the next day to which they were okay. Check In took some time about 10 mins or so. Since the room wasnt ready we were told that we could wait in the premium lounge on the 7th floor which was exclusively for their premium guests. The premium lounge serves b'fast, hit-tea etc etc for guests. The view from the room was just superb we had a great view of the arabian sea from our room. The views from all the even no rooms from 2nd floor and above have a great view for eg. 212, 314,516,712... Our room no was 710. Mostly all rooms do have a partial / good view of the ocean but the ones above have a unrestricted view. Breakfast was included which was good wide and also had jain options like idli, dosas, breads, juices, fruits, etc etc so no problem at all. The hotel can get a bit chaotic at times and may not seem to be like a 4 star hotel. They have nice loungers in their sea facing lounge gadda da vida where you can have a relaxing time with a drink in the evening. The setting is just perfect. For food you have various restaurents like The square where the breakfast is served and which is a 24 hr dinning restaurent. They have an italian restauent by the name of Olio which is just amazing, They also have a chinese restaurent by the name of Sampan which we didnt try and their very famous sea facing lounge gadda da vida. They also have an Indian restaurent serving Punjabi food by the name of Bageecha. It dosent serve al-carte menu on saturday and sunday it only has fixed menus on saturay and sunday. The location of the hotel is just ahead of JW marriot and Tulip Star hotel on the same side. From airport during peak hours it may take you half an hour and during non peak hours it may take you 15-20 mins depending on traffic. Service was not bad but had to make repeated calls for everything right from the remote control batteries to the payment receipt which we never got even after checkout. Otherwise we didnt have any problems. Overall a pleasent stay for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirendraPethad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel Mumbai J, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

We appreciate the time you have dedicated in providing this encouraging feedback and recommending our hotel.

We are concerned to hear that you faced a challenge with undue delays. I have highlighted your comment to the concerned department.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay. It gives us much joy in knowing that you liked the idyllic location of our hotel, which is just a stroll away from the beach and promises spectacular views of the Arabian Sea from most of the rooms and restaurants, the service extended by our staff and the food served in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach again!

Warm Regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
#70 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#19 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#81 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#89 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Sahara Star Hotel
#24 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#21 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach

Property: Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Address: Balraj Sahani Marg | Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#41 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#51 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#67 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through a consistent top quality offer, Novotel contributes to the well-being of business and leisure travelers alike: spacious rooms with flexible features adapted to both work and relaxation, a balanced choice of food and beverages available around the clock, meeting rooms, friendly, attentive staff, children's play areas, fitness centers and places to relax. With a gorgeous view of the Arabian Sea and located in the cultural capital of Mumbai, next to the business hub, the hotel's location is idyllic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing