We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, a shame reception does not perform”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Ranked #74 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ebeltoft, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, a shame reception does not perform”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

+10 out of 10 for allmost everything: Housekeeping, restaurants, bar etc. but reception does not perform. What ever they promis, it will most likely not be done. a shame for a good hotel. Tried other Novotel hotels severell times before, but avoid Novotel Mumbai, its not worth the trouble !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmfGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear mmfGZ,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

We thank you for your valuable feedback! It is very unfortunate that the front office experience at our hotel did not reflect the quality you expected from us and I am really concerned that we did not live up to your expectation.
You are our valued guest and your feedback is important to us and at Novotel we always consider that the comments are a source of opportunity and improvement which enable us to elevate our product and services to the next level, reaching our full potential.
The shortfalls that you experienced have been taken up very seriously with the team and we will also revisit certain processes with more focus on training so that our associates can reach their potential to deliver various guest services and satisfaction.
It is our constant endeavor to provide a consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret to have let you down on this occasion and sincerely apologize for the same.
I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.

On a positive note, we are happy that you were satisfied with the services offered by housekeeping and food & beverage.

We look forward to another opportunity to regain your confidence in our product and services and hope to see you with us soon; assuring the best of services, delivered to you.

Warm Regards,
Amrita Gujral-Sachdev
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    659
    340
    172
    154
See reviews for
468
408
126
635
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Room size and cleanliness were fine. Hotel not helpful in providing adapters, extra shampoos and amenities. Hotel wanted to charge for use of adapter. Although wi-fi free, it was for one devise per person. Not enough in today's world. Additional connections would have been at 400 rupees per hour! Spa was okay, however, they ran out of oil for their signature massage. In room TVs were limited to a volume of 12. This considerate for the next room, however noise/music level outside much higher than this so couldn't hear the television. Executive lounge staff excellent. Friends and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTsGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear BTsGinger,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

Thank you for staying with us.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Thank you for appreciating our staff.

We look forward to see you again at Novotel Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was a little worried about the hotel after reading some of the reviews but found it quite pleasant. At first I wasn't impressed but after spending time here I was very satisfied. We need to remember that we are in Mumbai filled with many, many people. This is a safe haven in the midst of chaos. Arriving at hotel was not the best experience but we are in Mumbai! The pool is wonderful, turning the lounge chair to face the beach which Looks out on the Arabian sea is great. Listening to the sounds of the surf... If you ask the security guard to open the gate on the right as you look towards the sea takes you right to the sand for a wonderful walk. Was able to enjoy a walk each evening and also in the morning. As always we need to keep a positive attitude and look for the best in our current surroundings.
Food, which is very important to me was good. My favorite was a Chicken Ceasar salad served with three delicious condiments to go with the bread. The condiments were sun dried tomatoes, pesto and a lime cilantro dip-wonderful. The black coffee was the best I have had in India and I have been here for 4 months.
Not all service was great but there are some that are exceptional people which make up for others.
I would definitely recommend the Novotel at Juhu beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueB110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear SueB110,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a lovely review!
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your entire stay at Novotel Mumbai.

It is good to know that you relished the food at our restaurants and were satisfied with the service provided.

We look forward to welcome you again at Novotel Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently stayed at your Hotel to be exact last May.I have stayed there several times before and love the ambiance.I have also brought a group there.
The food was excellent,service good and the front desk courteous.
On the downside,the view from my room was disgusting.I was looking at a slum which was dirty and not a good sight.Pls get it cleaned up
On the road to the hotel needs to be paved.I dont see why a five star hotel cant improve its
value.

Room Tip: Higher Floors and a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald dee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Ronald dee d,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

Thank you for providing your precious feedback.
It is good to know that you were satisfied with the food & services offered at Novotel Mumbai.
We have lodged several complaints with the local governing authorities to clean up the water tank. Since this is a privately owned property no direct action can be taken by the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again at Novotel Mumbai.

Warm regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice location - bang on the beach! The high tide actually washes the boundary walls. Fairly clean beach next to the boundary wall. Closer to the airport - budget 40minutes.
Good rooms. The sea view ones have a premium attached, though the normal rooms also have a oblique sea view - which is failry good for the rooms closer to the beach side, though the other view is pretty bad with accumulated water and filth beign visible - which can be curtained off with a blind. Had read some bad reviews about service and airconditioning, still chose the hotel owing to the location. The aircon problem was present as mentioned in the review I had read - too cold for comfort. Called the technician, who bypassed the actuator, which led to the dis-comfort later. The thermostat just does not work!
Laid back guest services - takes a fairly long time to respond and post reminders.
A number of restaurants within the hotel. Plenty within walking distance including the fabulous Mahesh Lunch Room for sea food. Staff at the conference venue were outright discourteous!

Room Tip: The sea view ones have a premium attached, though the normal rooms also have a oblique sea view - wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear RSV2011,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

Thank you for staying with us and providing an elaborate feedback. Your feedback is extremely precious and we appreciate the time you have dedicated in writing the same.

We are happy to know that you were pleased with the sea-view and the dining options available at the hotel.
However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused because of the faulty air-conditioning system.
We have made a note of your comments and have taken internal measures to assure you that you will have to face no such inconvenience on your next visit to Novotel Mumbai.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Warm regards,
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In Mumbai,
You are spoilt for choices when it comes to resturants that offer great cuisine, but you have verly littleoptions when it comes to ambiance . the concrete jungle of Mumbai with spatio contraints has very little to offer, For Mumbaikars an outing is much more than change of food, one seeks an ambiance, a sense of openess which Mumbai lacks. Hotel Novotel is one such exception, despite being in heart of the city, it is far from the maddening crowd. there are four to 5 resturants , most of them opening into the sea.
This Saturday we went to their Italian joint. the food was decent, one can get better Italian food,but the view was breath takingly beautiful, It gives you a choice to go alfresco , your table over looking a pool and in front of you there is a vast expanse of see. At night , you can just take your drink, faf around overlooking the sea, the star studded sky and the coconut glades offer you a great view. On a saturday night, as a family you should go to this place for an early dinner, lest the serenity of the place gets disrupted by young teenager crowd coming for booze and fun. yet if you want a gala evening, You can opt to stay late.

Room Tip: had visited the resturants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarika_c_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMumbai, Director of Sales at Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste from Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach!

Thank you for visiting us. It is very pleasing to know that you had a wonderful time dining at Olio.

The magnificent view of Juhu Beach certainly adds a lot to the overall dining experience at Novotel Mumbai.

Thanking you once again for providing such a lovely feedback.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Amrita Gujral Sachdev
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
#75 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
741 reviews
Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
JW Marriott Mumbai Juhu
#18 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,301 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#88 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#24 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,799 reviews
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#71 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
831 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach

Property: Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Address: Balraj Sahani Marg | Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#41 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#51 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#67 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Through a consistent top quality offer, Novotel contributes to the well-being of business and leisure travelers alike: spacious rooms with flexible features adapted to both work and relaxation, a balanced choice of food and beverages available around the clock, meeting rooms, friendly, attentive staff, children's play areas, fitness centers and places to relax. With a gorgeous view of the Arabian Sea and located in the cultural capital of Mumbai, next to the business hub, the hotel's location is idyllic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing