We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falafel's in Colaba”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Falafel's Veg Hummus House
Ranked #3,449 of 14,536 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cuisines: Lebanese
Restaurant details
Vermont
Level Contributor
580 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 738 helpful votes
“Falafel's in Colaba”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We ate at Falafel's in Colaba when we wanted a very quick meal at an early hour.

The place was quite empty, but they were in the midst of filling a large take-out order for a waiting family. The family saw our impatience with the lack of attention we were receiving from any of the several members of the prep staff behind the counter. The family let us make our order and have it filled before the staff finished preparing their order. We were most appreciative for their thoughtfulness.

Even so, our food was slow to arrive, but it was cooked to order and very hot. The falafel was quite good, but the pita was too tough. The hummus was not memorable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hfot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Nice place for a quick bite :)”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Healthy and yummy , i always like there olympian Pita Pocket, Its a quick bite place, for take away or a small have it there counter.
Also they have a home delivery till 12pm so it rocks to help with late night cravings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vratika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not for a guy”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

not for a guy who really knows what falafel looks like and tastes like

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good ingredients but bad preparation”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

First of all, let me state that I did not visit the one at Hill Road but the one in Colaba, near Gateway of India.

The restaurant looked pretty clean (very unlikely in Mumbai - Sarcastic only!) and hygienic so I was quite impressed when I entered and then things went downhill from there.

I ordered the pita pocket with a diet pepsi and the moment I started eating, I was all over the place. I hated the sandwich and it was most pathetically made sandwich I had ever eaten. It was filled with so much pickle, hot sauce and unwanted stuff that I screamed at myself why did I come to this restaurant.

The staff was very unprofessional - they prepared the entire sandwich in front of me but never asked what I wanted. They were putting all the stuff they had in their racks so fast that I thought they were confident of their preparation but people just love whatever they prepare - honestly, it was the crappiest sandwich I have eaten in a while. I regret not going to Mocha and eating some good sandwiches there.

I left half of my food and when I went to the manager and ask him to check customer's preferences from next time. I paid the bill and left out with a swear that I am not visiting this place again!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashmdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, nice for a taste of the familiar!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

A good place to go if you need a change from indian food. The food was tasty, quick and good value. This is a fast-food joint and the atmosphere and ambiance reflect this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Catstravels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falafel's Veg Hummus House also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Navi Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay)
 

Been to Falafel's Veg Hummus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing