We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not go there! (This is my secret favorite place)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanheri Caves

Kanheri Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Private Trip to Sanjay Gandhi National Park from Mumbai Including the...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Do not go there! (This is my secret favorite place)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I took me four years of frequent travel and a lot of experiences traveling in India to accidentally end up he. When an Indian friend mentioned that I should check out the "caves" I had mental pictures of a hole in the ground filled with trash in my mind...I was stunned when I arrived at this holy, fantastic place! This is the Indian version of Petra and I always feel like Indiana Jones when I spend a day exploring the caves, temples and hills. Ancient and mystic atmosphere that invites to meditate and dream of long gone worlds...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    418
    104
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Takes a half day minimum-North Mumbai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The caves are old Buddist temples carved into the mountains. It is a nice way to get out of the city and see some greenery and lots of munkeys up close. They have a lion and tiger safari. But don't get your hopes up its cheep so do it anyway but really just a drive by zoo with one lion and two tigers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must Visit Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

You will be amazed that for once, among the many ancient caves in Maximum Mumbai, this one is not used like a free public toilet.

You will be amazed by the mind blowing rain water harvesting system that keeps the tank full around the year and which was made more than 2 thousand years ago. The BMC officers must go visit and learn from what their forefathers 50 generations back did and stop supplying water to Mumbai homes as miserly as if its a thing of luxury and not neccesity

You will be amazed by the tranquility of the place, the calls of the birds, the opportunity to go on treks and hikes and rapple down the historic hills.

And all this within city limits of an urban capital of an Indian city and amazingly still in working conditions. Go see it before they change their mind

Helpful?
2 Thank Ecomantra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pero, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A park and archeological area in view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The caves are located within the Mumbai city limits and about 20 kms north of the airport within the Sanjay Gandhi Nat'l Park. Definitely worth a visit. When you climb on top of the basalt dome of the higher caves, you can see miles and miles of greenery around you and also some of Mumbai's high-rises shimmering in the haze. There's also a "safari" option that will take you into a fenced-in area where some sleepy white tigers and lions lounge around and pay you no attention.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oasis near a crowded city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a guide for this visit and a car! It's a long walk in from the gate. The caves are fascinating and create a setting for great imagination of 1000 saffron-robed monks staying there during the monsoon!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank halejacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanheri Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Kanheri Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing