We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap backpacker hotel in Colaba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Hotel Mumbai
Ranked #228 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed April 7, 2010

If you're looking for a cheap alternative in Colaba, this is a pretty good choice. But if you're looking for a cosy, clean place with room service - look elsewhere!

We stayed there for five nights in March - in a room without windows and with shared toilet and shower. The room wasn't pretty or super clean, but it was good enough for the price (Rs 1200 for an AC room). The hotel was popular among backpackers and almost every night people were sitting on the shared balcony drinking and smoking.

Our room had a fridge and a tv, the bed was ok but a bit hard. Breakfast not included, they have no restaurant but you can buy chai and drinks from them.

The location is great, just behind the Taj (we went there for breakfast one time, very nice!) and 50 metres from Colaba Causeway with quite a few nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mkhjfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 71 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2010

In most cities, this wouldn't be a hotel to be all that enthusiastic about, but because it's in Colaba in Mumbai where most hotels are easily over 1,000 rps per night (for one person), this lands up being a great option. The rooms are clean enough, it can get noisy outside (just depends on the night), but it's generally a quiet street. Since it's right behind the Taj Mahal Hotel, there are lots of guards milling around 24/7 who make the street feel safer.

The staff are really helpful and friendly.

Rate: 550-750 rps per night for 1 person, shared bathroom
Address: [--]
Phone #: [--]

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed there 3 nights in April and the hotel has the best possible location just behind the Taj Hotel and near the Gate of India.
We have done a telephone reservation but at the arrival they acted like we have never called (they were fully booked!). So we had to find other accomodation for one night and arrived back the next day. So dont count on reservation (the only problem we had with hotel)!
It costed around 800Rupees what is very cheap for Mumbai (location and quality of accomodation).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MovisPrivateTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Highly recommended for a few nights due to it's central location and friendly staff (esp. Raju, Das and Ramesh. I have stayed at the Carlton many times since the early 1990's. It's a basic place, totally unflash and no achitectual charm, but if all you need is clean sheets, running water and friendly staff then the Carlton is ideal. Several times I have used it just as a base for spending a week in Mumbai, sitting on the balcony with my laptop, being waited on with glasses of chai and dosai parcels from the street below. It's perfect for single guests as you never feel isolated there. I can't think of a more central guesthouse for the bars/restaurants of Colaba (Cafe Mondegar's is just staggering distance away). bear in mind it is not that quiet and some rooms do not have windows, but that is par for the course in downtown Mumbai. All the cab drivers know it. Get a pre-paid chit to Colaba from the taxi window as you exit arrivals at the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank THATSGOTTABEOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

We have traveled to Mumbai 7 times in the last 10 years. Every time we arrive there, we can't wait to take the prepaid taxi from the airport at 1 a.m. to arrive safely at the Carlton Hotel, which is behind the Taj Hotel in Colaba. The taxi can't drop you off at the front door because it's a one way street. Don't worry. It's only about a half of a block to get to their entrance. You walk up one flight of stairs, knock on the door, and an attendant will promptly wake up and welcome you.

The personnel are wonderful, kind, caring, and always willing to assist you with your needs. We give them our passports, put our backpacks in our extremely clean room, and head out for a cold beer at Leopold's just before they close for the night.

The shared bathrooms are always clean, the showers always work, and there's a wonderful balcony that you can relax and watch the world go by down below on the bustling street.

We have stayed there several nights and have met many travelers from around the world. Some with lots of money, some with very little. It always makes it interesting. We feel very safe at the Carlton.

Raju, one of the hardest workers at the hotel, is always available to assist you with train, plane, bus tickets, etc. and doesn't expect much compensation. As always, these people, most with families to support, work for a pittance. Do what you chose, but we often leave him a couple bucks. After all, we do truly do have more money than they do.

We have been organizing an informal trip with some students that we teach here at a private school in the US, and would not hesitate to bring our precious students to the Carlton.

Please give them a chance. It's not necessary to stay in their aircon rooms. The fans are adequate, the TV has cable access, and the sheets and pillows are always clean, and changed every day, if you desire.

We have only raving reviews of this hotel. My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and the Carlton holds a special place in our hearts. The people, the cleanliness, the balcony, where the hotel staff will bring you fresh vegetarian curry, a bottle of Old Monk rum, or the latest India Times newspaper. All you have to do is ask.

If you have any questions, please email me at merrioberlin@gmail.com and I'd be happy to answer them.

Namaste,

Merri and Michael

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MerriOberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Stephane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank שני י
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#302 of 489 in Mumbai
315 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 489 in Mumbai
460 reviews
Ibis Navi Mumbai Hotel
#2 of 40 in Navi Mumbai
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
The Oberoi, Mumbai
#1 of 489 in Mumbai
2,425 reviews
Hotel Yogi Executive
#5 of 40 in Navi Mumbai
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Mumbai

Address: Florence House 1st Floor 12th Marry Weather Road, Mumbai 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $77 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carlton Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing