We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect loaction, excellent food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YMCA International House and Programme Centre
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect loaction, excellent food”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place is a really good bargain! Basic but spacious, clean rooms. The most surprising was the really nice dinnerbuffet. Different choices every day, with lots of tasty salads and both veg and non-veg. Breakfast was good too, both indian and continental options.

The location is good both for sightseeing in Mumbai and for trains out of town. There is some noise from the street, but not more than you would expect from staying in the middle of a city.

Pleasant and helpful staff. I would definately stay here again, and will recommend it to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmy11, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We thank you for taking time to review our facilities, and appreciate the feed back on our cuisine, which will be shared with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
5
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The exterior outside of room was under repair and the ventilator in the bathroom was sealed with plywood.

On check-in, it took 5 calls to get the towels and an ash tray.

The restaurant had problem with giving cold milk (without charging) in the buffet breakfast included in room tariff

Good things were cleanliness and location.

Room Tip: Just check there are no repairs going outside the room and that the bathroom ventilator is not seale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SanjeevNirwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmy11, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will certainly make sure that the requests you have made will be attended to in time. Since we have a buffet breakfast , we do keep hot milk at the counter specially ,since cereals like cornflakes and porridge are on the menu, but there is no extra charge for cold milk when a request is made.
Ever since renovation of the exteriors was in progress , the ventilators in the toilets, had plywood temporary sealing to ensure privacy during the external work in progress. Currently all this work has been completed and we assure you that the rooms are back to its normal condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here a few days on business. The accommodations were sparse but the linens and rooms were clean. If you are looking for a very basic room to stay in this is it. The paint is peeling and you can tell the building has been there a very long time. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant on site is good to very good. Room rates include Breakfast tea/coffee and dinner which is a bargain for the price of the room. Someone unaccustomed to travel in Urban India may be in for a shock considering the area this building is in. Let's just say that not too many will want to go for an evening walk in the neighborhood of the building. It's a little tricky to find the place our Taxis had a hard time locating it. But there were several helpful people around to ask.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpleman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmy11, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your feedback helps us to improve at every stage. For your kind information, we have been consistently painting our rooms at intervals,but due to external seepage of water , the dampness caused peeling of even of freshly painted rooms. At this stage we have now changed the external pipelines , to address this problem. We hope your next stay will be to your satisfaction. With reference to getting the location of International House, you could ask for Mumbai Central Railway station, and the Maratha Mandir Cinema House. YMCA Road is a few minutes away, and you are at your destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The property has been renovated since my last visit and was still being renovated. The rooms are basic, small but with added flooring and cupboards. The toilets are too small, however. The buffet breakfast has improved a lot and is much superior than what is offered at YMCA Delhi. Noise from traffic could be a problem.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on the left side of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cancerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our facilities a second time. We appreciate your comments and hope to continue improving in the days ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here many many times in the past 6 years. The organisation is quiet professional and still very friendly. Every staff has a welcome smile on his or face. Break fast and Dinner is quiet good and so is the room service. The place is quiet near to the Mumbai central Railway station and for short trips you get lot of taxis just outside the guest house.

Book early for a smooth checkin....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TejIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our facilities. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff , and will be a source of encouragement for us to continue to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

YMCA Mumbai is really a good family place to stay. Whenever I go to Mumbai, I stay there with my family. Rooms are too clean and service is too good. Breakfast and dinner are complimentary with the room. Nice homely food and service is also very good. Management of the YMCA is very customer friendly. Location is very much near main Mumbai central but you will not find road noise and disturbances. Taxi is available from the door step. Worth staying in YMCA Mumbai.

Room Tip: Can take rooms which are not facing the main road. But all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avijitroy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our services. Since you have stayed here some time ago, you will be happy to note that we have been renovating different areas of International House; in particular the kitchen and dining have been given an absolutely new look with new equipment and ambience, to make your dining a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great favourite with budget travellers. Rooms are clean. They even provide buffet breakfast and dinner.
I booked by calling and I've mistaken this as the one located in Kala Ghoda. So it's better if you could get a room in central branch.
Book well in advance as the rooms are much in demand.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent M, Manager at YMCA International House and Programme Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We thank you for reviewing our facilities. The clarification about the two YMCA accomodation facilities is very helpful, as the YMCA International House is situated at Mumbai Central, the hub of the Bombay YMCA, The YMCA Central Branch is actually located at Colaba, and is a branch of the Bombay YMCA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#84 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
627 reviews
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,741 reviews
The Taj Mahal Palace
#3 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident, Nariman Point
#10 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,973 reviews
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,303 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#31 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA International House and Programme Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA International House and Programme Centre

Property: YMCA International House and Programme Centre
Address: YMCA Road | Near Maratha Mandir, Mumbai (Bombay) 400008, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 557 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA International House and Programme Centre provides accommodation and also serves as a Programme Centre. The services provided are a/c and non a/c rooms with a Modified American plan, which includes early morning tea/coffee, breakfast and dinner after the check in time 1200 hrs. Our cuisine caters to a variety of tastes comprising of Indian, Continental, Chinese and Oriental. The other facilities are flat screen TV, the Internet (WiFi provided complimentarily), seminar facilities at the 5 conference rooms and a quiet room to meditate. The programs currently offered are basketball, skating and badminton coaching. A one-year diploma course in Hotel and Catering Management with In-house training / practical and lectures included. A very recent feature is the sponsorship for cancer affected children for their post-operative care at the St Jude's Care Centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing